RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean Answers “So, How Long Does It Take?”

Happy Sunday, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

Today, we’ve got the A-mazing Cate Dean , who will answer one of the questions authors are asked most…

*******************

Have you ever wanted to ask a favorite author how long it took to write that book? Was it easy, or did they struggle through the entire thing? As someone who has been writing since I was – okay, younger, I can give you my viewpoint.

I am a fast writer. Because I tend to visualize the entire story in my head before I even start putting anything on paper, there are times when I can barely type fast enough to keep up. I have read entire sections during editing and don’t even remember writing them.

Rest For The Wicked was like that – a lightning strike. I couldn’t type fast enough, and I literally felt like I was reading the story for the first time when I went back to edit. From the outline to finished draft it took a month to write. A long, frantic month.

On Amazon , B&N Nook and Smashwords

I have always written fast – for me, there is no other way. I tried the “agonizing over every sentence as I wrote it” route, and it was disastrous. I got writer’s block every time I sat down, and completely stressed by the whole process.

Now I pummel my critic into submission, lock her in a closet, and let the words just fly out of my head and on to the page. Having an outline makes this an easy process – I have a rough path to follow, know where I am headed, and what I need to have in place to get there.

And yes, it’s different for every single one of us. Ask five writers, get five distinct, completely individual answers.

This writing gig can be a wild ride, and sometimes an exhausting one, but I get to do what I love – write stories that I hope you all will enjoy reading.

And now is your chance to ask me a question – about anything. :) I look forward to finding out what you want to know about the mysterious, magical process of creating a book.

Until next time – read on.

cheers,

~Cate

*********************

Who all would like an Ebook Gift Copy of Rest For The Wicked? Let us know below, and you just might win one!!!

Here’s the scoop on the book:

Claire Wiche is an ordinary woman, running her Wicca shop, The Wiche’s Broom, in an ordinary California beach town.

But Claire wasn’t always ordinary, and she isn’t quite human. She hides a secret, and a past she thought she had put behind her.

A past that is about to explode into her present.

When it does, and everyone she loves is in danger, Claire must face up to her past – and become what she left behind in order to save them.

Other books by Cate Dean:

When Walls Can Talk – A Fantasy Novella
Last Chance Jack – A Fantasy Short Story

Look for Book 2 of The Claire Wiche Chronicles, A Gathering of Angels, coming in July 2012.

****************

Thanks Bunches, Cate! What great fun!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

37 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean Answers “So, How Long Does It Take?”

  1. I would love a copy of Rest For The Wicked for Amazon Kindle. Cate Dean is a new author to me and this story sound very interesting to me. Thanks.

  2. I can’t believe Cate wrote the first draft in a month. That is fast. I would love Rest for the Wicked for my Kindle, please, as I like Cate’s writing.

  3. Looks a great read! Thanks for the info on a new author foe me! I would love a copy,ePub version pleasse

    Theresa

  4. Hi D.D.,
    thank you so much for having me here today – the post was great fun to write, and I love having the chance to share some of my process with your readers. You Rock!
    ~Cate

  5. Cate, you know I’m a fan! I’ve already got my copy and now the trick is to find time for reading all the awesome books waiting on my Nook. I’ve had a few books I’ve been able to write like you do, then others require the outline or I get totally stuck. I prefer the quick ones. *grin*

    • Hi Stacey! I prefer the quick ones – and I would NEVER be able to write that fast without an outline. I used to write without one, and it would take months. Now I won’t even start until that outline is on paper. Returning the love – Lost in Italy is one of my favorites – and I’m diving in for a reread. Thanks for stopping by!
      ~Cate

  6. Wow! A month? That’s some fast writing. I wish I could do that. I’ve struggled with finding what works best for me. Editing as I wrote didn’t work. I never got anywhere. Just writing with no editing made me doubt I was writing anything worth keeping. So now I allow one BRIEF pass over for the work I did the day before. It helps me see I haven’t written a bunch of crap (for the most part) plus puts me back in the mood for where I left off. I’m faster than ever before but I doubt I’ll ever make it to a month.

    BTW…Rest for the Wicked is a great read. Don’t miss out!

    • Hi Rhonda! I struggled for years to find and refine the method I have now. I know you’ll reach your own personal writing nirvana. And *hugs* for the comment on Rest For The Wicked – you are such a doll! I look forward to reading your book. Thanks for stopping by!
      ~Cate

  7. I’m very impressed! A month! Can a person be inspired and depressed at the same time? No? I’ll stick with inspired, then ;->
    My inner editor keeps beating up my outer writer, and taking his place, but now that I know he can be controlled, I’m gonna try again. Thanks!
    I’d love to have Rest for the Wicked for my Kindle!

    • Hi Gregory! I was shocked, myself. And it took longer than I will ever admit to finally beat my editor into submission. ;-) Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy it!
      ~Cate

  8. Cate, turning off that internal editor is one of the hardest things to do, but wow, I’m amazed how fast those words come out when you can do it. I’ve already got your book in my TBR pile and am looking forward to reading it!

    • Hi Sheila -it’s like a gift from the muse gods, isn’t it? I did have some rough days, where I just stared at the screen, positive I was writing drivel. But the good days made up for those – in spades. Thanks for taking the time to stop by!
      ~Cate

Leave a Reply

