For the Love of Reading with RG2E Special Guest, Author Sheila Seabrook

Happy Sunday, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

And Welcome to The RG2E, Special Guest, Author Sheila Seabrook!!!

I inherited my love of reading from my dad. He died in late 2009, but my favorite memory is of him sitting on his chair, the sun shining down on his head, a book in his hands.

When my mom told me he could read and watch TV at the same time, my first thought was, “Doesn’t everyone?”

Needless to say, I grew up addicted to books. By grade two, I had discovered the old flashlight-under-the- covers trick so I could extend my reading hours without my parents’ knowledge. In the years to come, I would read cereal boxes, the label on soup cans, the Sears catalogue, the TV guide from the weekly newspaper, magazines—whatever was handy and had words on it would do.

If you’re hanging out here at the RG2E site, you can probably relate to my reading habit. We all have our preferences, but in a pinch, anything will do.

My dad read romance, westerns, mysteries, and thrillers. He kept his paperbacks in a box in the garage and would’ve been horrified if he knew I was “borrowing” them. You see, in the days before sex scenes in books became the norm, my dad had some pretty racy books in his box. Shhhh, don’t tell my mom. It’s a little secret I share with my dad, even though he never knew I knew his secret.

When my dad was in his 70’s, he decided to share his favorite books with me, so I shared mine with him. I’d fallen in love with romantic thrillers and romantic comedies, and was certain he’d love these genres, too.

But he didn’t. They were too racy for him and contained too many F-bomb words. The novels he gave me weren’t my reading type either and eventually I returned them to him unread. Shortly before his death, he gave me a book to read which he raved about. That book remains on my keeper shelf unread, but whenever I look at it, I remember my dad. We may not have enjoyed the same reading material, but our shared love of books united us as it unites readers worldwide.

When I started writing, I wrote romance novels which always included a sex scene or two. My mom edited my manuscripts, but my dad refused to read them. I guess the thought of reading sexual material from his daughter’s imagination was too horrific to even think about.

My dad would have loved the ebook revolution and the wide selection of books now available.  And he would have loved to see my stories epublished. As I release my latest book today, I imagine he’s watching over me, grinning with pride…and trying to explain the computer age to my grandma.

On Amazon

Price: $2.99

One year ago, thirty authors gathered together and began the Bandit Creek Books series (http://www.banditcreekbooks.com). There are mysteries and romances, horrors and thrillers, romance and romantic comedy. Something for everyone…or at least that’s our motto.

Here’s a little blurb from my Bandit Creek novella WEDDING FEVER:

* * *

Bandit Creek’s star reporter is about to have her life turned upside down!

Liz Templeton lives a quiet life with her mother, her mother’s best friend, her boss, and–oh yeah–the ghost of her teenage daughter. When her ex-husband returns to town to hunt for the legendary Lost Lake treasure, she doesn’t count on the pair of matchmaking mothers who are planning her wedding or her daughter’s obsession with the man who might be her dad.

Liz has one chance to stop her family from driving her insane…and falling head over heels in love with her ex isn’t part of the plan.

* * *

So if you want to laugh a little and cry a little, check out my book. Today—July 15, 2012—the Bandit Creek authors are hosting a Facebook release party for WEDDING FEVER. Pop on by. Say hello. And if you decide to join us for the fun, I’m giving away three (3) free copies of the book.

Oh, and if you ever talk to any relatives who have moved over to the other side, please ask them to pass on a message to my dad. “Hey Dad, it’s safe to read WEDDING FEVER because there isn’t a single hint of sex within the pages!”

So let’s discuss books. Did you inherit your love of reading from a family member or did your love of reading come from some other source? And what is your favorite genre to read in?

Thanks for stopping by today!

Connect with me at:

Website Link: http://www.sheilaseabrook.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/sheilaseabrook

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SheilaSeabrookAuthor

Email: sheila@sheilaseabrook.com

********************************

Thanks sooo much, Sheila, for being our RG2E Guest Author today! I’m thrilled to help our RG2E Peeps get to know you and your terrific books!!!

Who all would like an Ebook Gift Copy of Sheila’s latest release? Not only can you enter to win at her Facebook Party, we’ll also give away several copies! Just let us know below, and you might win one from The RG2E!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

41 thoughts on “For the Love of Reading with RG2E Special Guest, Author Sheila Seabrook

  1. My love of reading began in primary school, where we used to have a group and read books. I particularly remembering reading Janet and John books. I don’t think I got the habit from a family member, only from school. I like reading mystery, suspence, romance and children’s books with magic, adventure and mystery in.

    • Hi Julie … on my first day of grade one (we didn’t have kindergarden), I ended up in the grade 2 class. It wasn’t until the spelling test that they realized they had me in the wrong grade. Fortunately, the embarrassment it didn’t scar me, they put me into the right class, and taught me how to read. Thanks for sharing your love of reading. :)

  2. What a lovely post. I’m pretty sure I inherited my reading skills from my dad. He was always reading something. Favorite genres are romance, historical romance,regency,time travel,romantic suspence,mystery and a little paranormal.

    • Thank you, Divavixenqueen. There are so many genres of reading material out there today, we’re so fortunate to love reading. Whatever the mood we’re in, we can find something to read. Thanks for stopping by today. :)

  3. I would love a copy of Sheila’s latest release for Amazon Kindle. I got my love of reading from my mother. I love reading romances, paranormal, mysteries, suspense thrillers and psychological thriller books, to name a few genres. I have a wide variety of genres that I like to read in.

    • Hi Becky … I hope you win a copy of Wedding Fever! My mom read mostly literary fiction, but she encouraged us kids to read anything and everything. In fact, even when we were small and money was tight, Mom always found money for our books and I will always be thankful to her for that.

  4. My Mom and I share my Amazon account so you can see where I got the reading bug. But my Dad was always reading too in his later years. My uncle had a huge library and would give me books all the time. He was a huge sci-fi fan and thus began my sci-fi addiction. These days though I like to throw quite a bit of romance and paranormal romance in the mix too though.

    • Hi Christy. My dad didn’t read sci-fi or horror. Nor would he watch sci-fi or horror movies. I, OTOH, love sci-fi and wish I had the imagination to write it. :) Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Oh, we everyone knows just want you need, even when you think you don’t. I’d love a copy for my kindle please.

  6. I love this story, I too borrowed books from my dad’s secret stash!
    I haven’t thought about that in a long time.
    Fathers and Daughters have such a special connection, I was tearing up reading your story.
    Maybe our fathers can enjoy a little laugh together, shaking their heads at our use of their “Stash”
    I would love a copy of your book for Kindle please.

    • Barbara, I though my dad was the only one who had a secret stash. LOL! Yes, we do have a special connection with our Dads and I miss mine all of the time. I hope the two of them meet “up there”. :) Hope you win a copy of Wedding Fever and thanks for stopping by today!

  7. I LOVED this, Sheila. Your making this about your Dad and you, and your shared love of reading, touched my heart, and it didn’t feel at all like a “book release promo”. So, it is the best kind of book promo possible, in my opinion. Great job. I hope your book is a tremendous success. And I’ll tell Mom to tell your Dad he should read your new book. I’m sure he’s very proud of you.

    • I love my family, DDlarsen, and am always talking about them. :) I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. It touches my heart that I’ve reached out and touched someone else. And thank you so much for passing the message on to your mom. My dad loves to meet new people. Thanks for stopping by today!

  8. DD, thanks so much for having me on your site today and for gifting people with copies of Wedding Fever. I’m always thrilled to share stories about my dad. Just last night, my husband was saying how much he misses him. My dad loved to tease people and he took special delight in goading my husband over his political views. It was years before my husband recognized the glint in my dad’s eyes and realized he’d been got. :)

  9. I picked up my love of reading from my mom, Sheila. It’s the best legacy! Don’t enter me in the drawing for WEDDING FEVER, as I’ve already bought a copy. Can’t wait to read it!

  10. A lot of people in my family are big readers, but probably the biggest reader I’ve ever known was my paternal grandmother. She read so much, and from a huge variety of fiction and non-fiction. I do wish that she hadn’t passed away before my first book was published. I think she’d have liked reading, and I know she would have had opinions about my work. :)

    All of my writer friends are big readers, but only a few of my non-writer friends are. I suppose everyone has their preferences.

  11. Great post and tribute to your dad, Sheila! I can so relate to reading anything handy – cereal boxes included. :-) Your book sounds like a great read and I can’t wait to get into it. I bought a copy first thing this morning. I got my reading addiction from my mom. My dad doesn’t really enjoy reading (I can’t imagine!) but he’s told me several times he’s looking forward to reading mine. :-)

    Good luck with your release and much success!

    • Hi Rhonda … do you remember the panic of running out of something to read? In the days before ereaders, every time we went away, I’d pack books and magazines, then in the hotel rooms, I’d read their brochures and promo material. Lol! I hope you enjoy the book and thanks so much for all of your support. You’re awesome! :)

  12. I thouroughly enjoyed reading Sheila’s post about her dad. I inherited my love for reading from my mom. I still remember the first “adult” book I read. (I’m now almost 57 years old). . It was one of my mom’s, a mystery called “April’s Grave”. I have since come to enjoy almost any genre of books, but mysteries will always be my favorites.
    I would really like a copy of “Wedding Fever” for Kindle if possible.

    • Hi Kathy … my oldest son inherited his love of reading from my dad and me, but my youngest son reads only technical books just like his dad. I find it so interesting to learn about where or how people discovered their joy of reading and what their reading choices are. I hope you win a copy of Wedding Fever! Thanks for stopping by today. :)

  13. What a lovely tribute to your father Sheila! My father died twelve years ago and I still miss him. He loved to read too. I think he’d be pretty proud of me to know that I am writing now. I can’t wait to read Wedding Fever on my new Kindle. I can only hope to win a free copy! Congratulations on the launch of your new book Sheila! :)

    • Dads … do we ever stop missing them? I think not but st least we have all of our wonderful memories. Hope you entered at the Facebook release party, too, Karen, and thanks for stopping by. :)

  14. Hey, Shelia, this is very cute about you and your Dad, even though he didn’t know you knew. :) My dad is just finally reading my books (hasn’t read books for at least 50 yrs) and he has no problem commenting about the sex scenes when I really would much rather he didn’t. I was very shy growing up and books were my escape. Into other worlds and they kept me from having to interact as much in the real world when I was reading. I’ve come a long way since then!

    Congratulations on the release! I’m off to get my copy.

  15. What a beautiful post! Thanks, Sheila! My mom and I both love to read, and I remember her leading me into a bookstore before every Christmas and telling me to find some books she could buy me. She bought me anything and everything! I went through different phases, but she never said no to a book I picked up. Sometimes, though, she did have to limit me to a certain number of books, as in “Can you cut that pile down to 10 books?” Now we sometimes trade paper books we enjoy. But with the ereader (I have one and she does not) it’s more of a one-way trade lately!

    • Tamara, you have to convince your mom to get an Ereader. I’m working on my mom and since she has macular eye disease, it would be nice for her to increase the size of the print or get the unit to read the book to her. Someday. :) Thanks for stopping by.

  16. Sheila, both my parents were readers, so it came naturally. My other read the more popular genres, romances and romantic mysteries, mostly. My dad read non-fiction and the classics; I ended up reading more of the things he read than my mother’s books. I write creative non-fiction and historical fiction, but I also indulge in a wide variety of genres when I read: romances, time travel, historical, cereal boxes . . .

    I remember travelling with a bag of books in addition to my luggage. I love having the convenience of a Kindle when I travel now.

    I’d love to win a copy of Wedding Fever.

  17. Hi! Wonderful post! I did inherit my love of books from my grandmother and mom. They always tried to get me to read but i was never interested. Then one summer, i got grounded and i wasnt allowed to do anything. My mom had a huge box of books and i went through it, found several that peaked my interest, and off i went into the literature world! I fell in love! And as weird as this sounds, im soo glad i got grounded. lol I ended up turning half my room into a library and even after my grounding sentence was up, my parents couldnt pry me from my room. lol I always read. My mom and i found that we liked the same books and most of the same authors. So it was fun trading books and being able to talk to someone about them. :) Oh, how i adore them! lol Thanks for sharing you book with us! Sounds awesome! Congrats to you too!

  18. Love the post Sheila. My mom was the reader in my family. But my Dad caught up, and I surpassed them both, my brother tied me. I like you will read anything put in front of me. I love all kinds of books, and look forward to finding many, many good authors in this ebook age… even if I don’t have an ereader. If you want to torture me… take away the printed word….I wouldn’t last a week.
    I would love to read your new book I hope I can win one. I have a kindle cloud on my computer.

    Pamela Jo

    • I totally agree with you, Pamela Jo. Take away my books and I’d be lost. I hope you win a copy of the book, too, and whether it’s on an ereader or your computer, the experience is still the same. :) happy reading!

Leave a Reply

