Reader2Author…A Brand New RG2E Adventure!!!

Reader2Author…A Brand New RG2E Adventure

By Alicia Street, RG2E Contributor

When Americans are polled on their favorite hobbies, you know what usually comes out on top?

You guessed it.

Reading.

Of course everybody reads for school, work, research or just to figure out how to install the latest whatever-it-is they just bought. But when it comes to reading for ourselves, it is usually fiction we choose.

Being lucky enough to have older siblings and parents who loved books, I was one of those strange kids who started reading before I hit kindergarten. Growing up, I found as many friends in the pages of novels as I did among my neighbors and schoolmates. So, of course I am now a total fiction addict who goes into withdrawals if I get stuck waiting in a dentist’s office without a book or my e-reader.

I used to worry that this was escapism or at the very least, guilty pleasure. But those of you who share my obsession can relax. According to a couple recent studies, reading fiction not only helps you develop better social skills, but it can make you superior at interacting in business situations. (So, go ahead and load up your Kindle, Nook, Sony, Kobo or iPad with a vengeance!)

So, yeah, I think readers are special. And I think the act of a reader and author sharing a fictional world that is created solely out of words is a magical thing. After all, you’re living through situations together that are often more intimate and dramatic than those you’ve shared with people in your day-to-day life.

Next Sunday, here on The RG2E, the sister site to The WG2E – The Writer’s Guide to Epublishing – I will be introducing my Reader2Author Interviews. They’re interviews that focus on the reader. Each author chooses one of their readers to participate with them and asks them questions. The reader also gets to question the author. And I get to question both of them. 🙂

I’ve already got a great starting line-up with a diverse mix of bestselling and newer authors:

Scott Nicholson

Joan Reeves

Ruth Harris

Chicki Brown

Bailey Bristol

and our own dynamic sweetie pie, D.D. Scott

If you’re interested in being considered for one of these superfab reader gigs, stop by my blog and leave me a comment with your contact info.

And while giveaways on most sites are at the author’s expense, RG2E has the superfab practice of generously gifting ebooks to readers. With each interview, the author featured will have their ebook gifted by RG2E that day.

In addition to the Reader2Author Interviews, the WG2E Street Team will be offering features and events on the RG2E site every Sunday. So be sure to stop in and check out what’s going on. 

In the meantime, please leave us a comment below telling us about your reading addictions, er, we mean habits. And anything you might like to ask authors as one of our superfab readers…

The Best of Reader2Author Wishes — Alicia Street

 

P.S.  Note From D. D. Scott:  As a special treat today too…how ’bout if we just extend yesterday’s Super Saturday Selection?!  That’s right…take a look at all our Genre-Specific Pages here on The RG2E! You’ve got over 50 Ebooks to choose from now.  Let us know which Ebook you’d like and for which Ereader, and you just might win it today!!!

 

8 thoughts on “Reader2Author…A Brand New RG2E Adventure!!!

  1. Growing up and until about 3 to 4 years ago, I used to read anywhere from 4 to 7 books in a week. I also used to be reading 2 or 3 books at one time. Unfortunately since moving 3 to 4 years ago, I haven’t had a lot of time to read. I’m lucky now if I even get one book read in a week. I work a lot of 10 and 12 hour days, so not much time for reading, but I still squeeze it in.

  2. P.S. Note From D. D. Scott: As a special treat today too…how ’bout if we just extend yesterday’s Super Saturday Selection?! That’s right…take a look at all our Genre-Specific Pages here on The RG2E! You’ve got over 50 Ebooks to choose from now. Let us know which Ebook you’d like and for which Ereader, and you just might win it today!!!

  3. Glad I am not the only addict around. I had to hunt to find matching covers for my Kindle and Nook so my husband did not find out I have both of the ereaders–like he doesn’t have more than 1 drill, right? Since getting my ereaders, I have met the greatest authors, they are all so nice. My friends now call me an author “groupie.” I am actually pretty proud of that title! 🙂

    If there is still time, would love to win Base Spirits for my Kindle–looks spooky!

  4. Hello All,
    My Mother an avid reader instilled upon us the wonder or reading.
    The adventures we could have. The places we could go, excising our minds and imaginations. What a wonderful gift words and reading!
    Very seldom will you any of us without a book or ereader.

    Second Meeting of the Sisters (Giggles and Margaritas) Book Club
    First meeting we discussed Bootscootin and Cozy Cash Mystery box set.

    We had so much fun during our first get together!
    We decided to keep the fun going.
    Current selection – High Heel Mysteries by Gemma Halliday.

    I was hosting the Giggles and Margaritas this week.
    I wanted to something FUN and special.
    I pulled out all the stops!

    We had a Dinner Party.
    We enjoyed recipes from Literary Chocolate by Rhonda Plumhoff
    Inspired by High Heels Mysteries:
    Under Cover Chicken Mole Enchiladas
    Designer Caramel Machiatto Brownies
    Served with Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream, because Maddie would insist!
    Of course Margaritas were involved.

    We added two additional members this week, my nieces.
    While they had not read the books, they enjoyed the fun and discussions of the books. They will participate going forward.

    We have decided on Fearless in High Heels as the next book.
    We want to see Maddie through the next adventure.

    We are on the edge of our seats waiting for Carats and Coconuts.
    I have a menu planned for that get together as well!

Leave a Reply

