RG2E Reader2Author Interview with Bestselling Author Theresa Ragan and Superfab Reader Emmy Jordan

Happy Mother’s Day, All You RG2E “Mom” Peeps!

And Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!!!

To celebrate Mother’s Day, today’s RG2E Ebook of The Day (EOTD) is Theresa Ragan’s Having My Baby.

On Amazon

Theresa Ragan is a Kindle Bestselling Author of Romantic comedy, Time Travel romance and Romantic suspense. After working as a waitress, a legal secretary, and even delivering singing telegrams, she wrote every day for 19 years without an offer from a traditional publishing house. But the new digital world has changed everything. Readers love Theresa’s books! She has now sold more than 250,000 novels in her first year of being an independent author and she recently signed her first publishing agreement with Amazon’s Thomas & Mercer imprint.

Our reader today is Emmy Jordan, a hotel receptionist from a rural community in Southern Ohio. Raised in a family of seven children, Emmy is devoted to her ADHD and SPD challenged son. Although she likes hiking, camping and taking long walks, reading is one of her favorite pastimes as it helps dealing with daily stress.

We hear you on that one, Emmy!

Alicia to Theresa and Emmy: When did you first become an avid reader?

Emmy: I first started reading actively in junior high; I would always read Jane Austen and the Bronte’s sisters. That led me to start reading Thomas Hardy and Elizabeth Gaskell. I started reading all the time to help release stress built up during the day. I find it relaxing. I encourage my five year old to read and I love to read to him. He loves The Ugly Duckling and Goodnight Moon.

Theresa: I love Goodnight Moon! In sixth grade I read Where the Red Fern Grows. When I finished that book I cried for weeks. I always loved to read, but I didn’t become an avid reader until I was an adult, after I read Jude Deveraux’s A Knight in Shining Armor at the age of 33. That book sparked a fire within me to read everything I could get my hands on. I loved the escapism the story provided and, of course, what I love about reading romance is the guaranteed happily ever after.

Alicia: So Jude Deveraux’s A Knight in Shining Armor was the book that made you want to write?

Theresa: Yes! The minute I read THE END, I knew what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. It was instantaneous.

Alicia to Emmy: What genres are your favorites? Any you absolutely would never read?

Emmy: I would consider my favorite genre to be Regency Romance. I’m just drawn to that time frame. Other favorites would be Modern Romance and Young Adult. Book types I would never read are Vampires, Werewolves and Paranormal. They just don’t interest me.

Alicia: I am totally addicted to Regency Romance.

Theresa: I love the Regency period too, and vampires and werewolves aren’t my thing either. I’m not sure why. I did read the Twilight series and enjoyed it…although the last book creeped me out a little bit.  Emmy, are you open to reading in a genre outside your comfort zone? If so, what would make you try something different?

Emmy: Yes, I would read a story outside of my comfort zone. I find that a friend’s recommendation is the best way to find out if I’ll enjoy it and possibility like it. A friend recommended a book recently: Delirium by Lauren Oliver, and, although I don’t quite get into Dystopian books, I picked it up anyway.

Alicia to Theresa: Do you read across genres, or stick to mainly one?

Theresa: I read everything, fiction and non-fiction, although the majority of books I read are romantic suspense, contemporary romance, some historical, and thrillers. I love the guaranteed happily ever after in romance novels. And the best romance novels make me forget that the happy ending is guaranteed.

Alicia: Where do you read? How often? Is there a time of day that is ‘reading’ time?

Emmy: I read all the time, as much as I can. I love to read while at home or during drives to different places. The time of day I would consider as my ‘reading’ time is right before I go to bed.

Theresa: I read while I wait for doctors and dentists appointments, on trips and for at least an hour every night before bed. If I’m reading a book I can’t put down, then I read until the book is finished to the detriment of all else.

Alicia to Theresa: Do you have an author you currently read that inspires your writing?

Theresa: Lisa Gardner and Susan Elizabeth Phillips inspire me. I love everything about their writing and their storytelling abilities. The characters in their books come alive for me and the great dialogue and pacing keeps me turning the pages.

Alicia: Susan Elizabeth Phillips is a favorite of mine too.

Theresa: I look forward to reading every new book of hers and then I savor every word. Definitely pure pleasure.

Emmy to Theresa: Where do you draw your inspiration from for your writing?

Theresa: From my husband, my four sisters and their families, and from my four kids who range in ages of 19 to 31. I have inspiration all around me: Love, break-ups, and plenty of drama right at my fingertips.

Theresa to Emmy: Have you ever thought about writing a book of your own?

Emmy: Actually the thought has crossed my mind.

Alicia to Emmy: How did you discover the first Theresa Ragan book you read? How did it affect you?

Emmy: I first discovered Theresa’s books while searching through the recommendations on Amazon. The title drew my interest, then I read the reviews and had to read it. Taming Mad Max made me cry and laugh and I ended up loving it.

Alicia to Emmy: What kind of heroine or hero do you usually like to read about? One that you will go back to again and again?

Emmy: My kind of hero/ heroine would be someone who is strong but also sensitive and can be caring and respectable without realizing it.

Alicia: Which one of Theresa’s characters is most compelling to you? Any that you don’t like?

Emmy: A character that I didn’t like? No. I actually liked all the characters. The one that held my attention the most would have been Jill (Having My Baby). I just loved the way she was determined to have a child and went through with following her dreams of becoming a mother.

Alicia to Theresa: Is there a character you’ve created that is your personal favorite?

Theresa: The first book I ever wrote was Return of the Rose, a medieval time travel set in 1420 England. Derek Vanguard, Lord of Braddock Hall, is my favorite character. I have a feeling he will always be my favorite hero. I spent five years with Derek and I have a major crush on him. He is one hundred percent alpha male and yet he has the kindest heart in the entire world. He is a confused soul who has never had a reason to trust anyone until he meets Morgan Hayes from the twentieth century.

Alicia: Is there a particular character you get the most compliments or complaints about?

Theresa: I get, by far, the most compliments about Lizzy Gardner and her two young assistants (her team.) Abducted and Dead Weight by TR Ragan are the first two books in my thriller series. Thanks to Lizzy, Hayley and Jessica, I’ve had four editors approach me, expressing interest in buying the series. I recently sold the Lizzy Gardner series to Thomas & Mercer and signed my very first Publishing Agreement on March 27, 2012.

Alicia: Congrats!

Theresa to Emmy: Do you find yourself thinking of certain characters as if they were real people days or weeks after you finished the book?

Emmy: Yes, I will find myself drawn to a character(s) for days after reading a book. I will also find myself going back to certain points of a book just to capture the feel of the characters over and over after I read it completely.

Emmy to Theresa: Have you ever modeled a character after yourself?

Theresa: Ha! No. At least not on purpose, but I do think there is a little bit of me in every one of my characters. When I first began writing 19 years ago, I noticed that a lot of my stories had a character or two who had abandonment issues. My dad left my mom AND his five daughters when I was 9 years old. My mom hired a detective to try and find him, but that took years and my mom had never worked before. I was paying my own dentist bills by cleaning the neighbors’ houses and we ate a lot of beans back then. I had to get a work permit at the age of 14 so I could leave high school to go waitress three days a week. Dad is now back in our lives and he has a lot of health issues. Thanks to my older sisters, I have made peace with him. I am glad I have had the chance to learn true forgiveness. All of these kinds of life lessons show up in my books and also help to shape my characters.

Alicia to Emmy: What is the reason you continue to read Theresa’s books?

Emmy: The combination of humor and tearful emotions. I like the writing style too.

Emmy to Theresa: Out of the collection of books you’ve penned, which has been your absolute favorite?

Theresa: My favorite book to write was Finding Kate Huntley because at the time I was really challenging myself to write something different. My heroine, Kate, is tough. Probably a little too tough, but I like that about her. To survive in Haiti where she grows up, she has to have her guard up at all times. I also loved writing the plane crash scene because the hero is forced to fly the plane and he has no idea what he’s doing; Jack Coffey, the rookie FBI agent is not nearly as tough as Kate which was an interesting twist for an author like me who likes alpha males; and I also enjoyed writing a super fast paced story.

The book I’ve read the most is Return of the Rose and the book I couldn’t wait to read the moment I finished writing it was Abducted because I am super attached to the characters. Of course I love Taming Mad Max and Having My Baby, too. I like big crazy chaotic families like mine. I have a third contemporary romance that I can’t wait to revise and then release titled Here Comes the Bride! This family is crazy fun, too.

Theresa to Emmy: What is your all-time favorite book and why?

Emmy: Ah, that is a tough one for me. I seem to have a lot of favorites I like to read over and over. But if I had to choose I would say my all time favorite book would have to be Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. A reason why I like it is it’s sweet, cute and romantic and the characters are very relatable. I found myself back in high school with a crush on the hero of the book. I can read that story over constantly and still can’t get enough of it.

Emmy to Theresa: What do you do to prevent writers block?

Theresa: I think of Nora Roberts. In a way, I don’t believe in writers block because if you sit down and start writing, even nonsensical scribbling, it will come to you eventually. It’s easy to get distracted by the Internet and Facebook and Twitter. I don’t know Nora, but to write that many wonderful books, I imagine that she is focused when she sits down in front of her computer. That’s what I do too. I must write 1,000 words before I can do anything else. Then I must write 1,000 more. Of course, some days the words flow magically from my fingers. I love those days.

Alicia to Emmy: What prompts you as a reader to contact an author?

Emmy: I would say it is how much I enjoyed one of their stories.

Alicia to Theresa: What was the most an unusual response you’ve gotten from a reader?

Theresa: The most unusual response was from a reader who sounded a little concerned about where I got my idea for Abducted, my first thriller. I think that book worried her a little.

Alicia to Emmy: Is there something you’d like to say to most authors? Something you wish they’d understand better about readers?

Emmy: Right at the moment I couldn’t say. I just like when authors make stories enjoyable that would keep someone wishing that the story would never end. I do love stories with a happy ending though, and it’s discouraging to me to read something that is heartbreaking at the end. When an author writes a story their characters are looked up to as heroes, aspirations, and in the end emotions determine if the ‘happily ever after’ is more than just the last statement finishing the story.

Alicia to Theresa: What was the most satisfying response you’ve gotten from a reader?

Theresa: A few responses that stick in my mind are the ones from readers who tell me that my book(s) have made them want to read again after years of not reading at all.
But every single email I have received from a fan/reader has been amazingly satisfying. After 19 years of writing without much feedback, there is nothing that compares to hearing from a satisfied reader.

Connect with Theresa Ragan:

Website
Facebook
Twitter

$3.99

“Mr. Baylor,” the officer said, “have you ever met either of these women?”

Derrick’s mind was numb, but somehow he managed to say, “No. Never.”

“You’re making the ladies nervous, and truthfully, you’ve got me wondering too–what is your business with this woman?”

Derrick pried his gaze from the woman’s stomach and raised his eyes to hers. “She’s having my baby.”

~~~

Growing up, Jill Garrison never daydreamed about having the perfect wedding. Instead, she dreamt about having a baby. Boy or girl, it didn’t matter. Unfortunately, her fiancé can’t have children. Determined to realize her lifelong dream of having a baby, Jill spends years searching for a company (CryoCorp) that provides high quality donor sperm. Everything is right in Jill’s world until her wedding day when her fiancé leaves her at the altar to be humiliated before friends and family. She doesn’t waste any time moving from New York City to California to start over. And she keeps her appointment with Cryocorp. She may never have the wedding or the husband, but nothing is going to stop her from having a baby. She’s tired of everyone telling her what to do. The baby she’s carrying is hers and hers alone. Nobody can take that away from her.

Or can they?

***************************************************************************

(D. D. here…)

Thanks bunches to Alicia Street, Theresa and Emmy for this superfab RG2E Reader2Author Interview!!!

So who all would luuuvvv a Kindle Gift Copy of HAVING MY BABY?!

Also, be sure to Enter to Win our next Kindle Fire Giveaway! Enter Here:

http://bit.ly/A9RACx

The Best of RG2E Reader2Author Interview Wishes — Alicia Street, RG2E Contributor, and D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

Alicia Street is the author of Kiss Me, Dancer, Snow Dance and Aphrodisiac. Alicia is proud to be a part of the WG2E and RG2E family.

21 thoughts on “RG2E Reader2Author Interview with Bestselling Author Theresa Ragan and Superfab Reader Emmy Jordan

  1. Pingback: Happy Mother’s Day « Alicia Street Roy Street

  2. Hi, Theresa. This is a wonderful interview, and what a fabulous idea to bring writers and readers together. Max was my first Theresa Ragan book and I loved it. I have Finding Kate in my TBR stack, and would love to add Having My Baby.

    Happy mother’s day.

    • Hi there from Sam the Intern! We’re glad you loved the interview and are glad to have you at RG2E!! Which E-reader would you like Having My Baby for? I’ll be glad to send that out as soon as I hear from you 🙂

  3. Alicia you did it again!
    I love these interviews. I look forward to the next one.
    i would love to read Theresa’s book on Kindle please.

  4. Great job to you all and a special congrats to Alicia for interviewing two at a time. That’s not done everyday. It was inspiring! 🙂

  5. Thank you, Alicia, for interviewing me and allowing me to be on your wonderful site! Thanks also for giving me the chance to chat with you AND FABULOUS reader, Emmy Jordan. What fun! More thanks to all of you who took the time to stop by and leave a comment. What fun!

  6. I loved the interview! I would love to have a copy of Theresa Ragan’s Having My Baby for Amazon Kindle. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

