An RG2E Reader2Author Interview with Award-Winning Authors Alicia and Roy Street and Their Superfab Reader Kyle Neal Dykman

Happy Sunday, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

We’re treatin’ ya to another RG2E Reader2Author Interview…this time with Award-Winning Authors Alicia and Roy Street!!!

Take it away, Alicia and Roy…

Hello, everybody! Here’s another Reader2Author Interview. And I get to open my big mouth a lot on this one because I’m on both sides of the Q&A aisle!

My hubby Roy Street and I are today’s featured authors. We collaborate on humorous mysteries and romantic comedies and are celebrating the release of Touch Me and Tango, book #2 in our Dance ‘n’ Luv romcom series. We’ve also been traditionally published in print and won a Daphne du Maurier Award for one of our mysteries.

On Amazon , B&N Nook and Smashwords

Price: $2.99

On Amazon

Price: $2.99

Joining us in a three-way conversation is one of our very fave readers, Kyle Neal Dykman.

Alicia: Tell us about yourself, Kyle.

Kyle: I’ve pretty much been a stay at home mom since my son was born and am now a stay at home mom with a kid away at college!

Alicia: Hey, more time to read, right? I know you use an E-reader.

Kyle: I have had a Sony Reader since 2006 and love the convenience of always having dozens of books with me. If I could only choose one thing to grab in a fire, it would be my Reader!

Alicia: When did you first fall in love with reading?

Kyle: As a child. I don’t know what got me started, I just remember being in elementary school and looking forward to library day each week.

Alicia: Me, too. I recall coming home from the library with piles of books in my arms. I still have to have about three going at once.

Roy: I’m dyslexic, so I hated reading as a child. But I loved stories. And that’s the essence of any novel. I’m still a slow reader, especially compared to Alicia who gobbles books like candy.

Alicia: How about your husband or son, Kyle? Do they read?

Kyle: My husband is not a reader, other than magazines.  My son, who is now 22, went through periods of being a reader, and he still enjoys an occasional book, but I wouldn’t consider him a reader.

Alicia: Where do you read? And how often? Is there a time of day that is usually ‘reading’ time?

Kyle: I read every day. Usually not during the day when I am home, but I read in bed every night. I always have a book in my purse and read at the doctor’s office, while getting my oil changed, car washed — anywhere I have to sit for a few or a lot of minutes.  I read on road trips when hubby is driving. I also like to go to restaurants by myself so I can read while I eat. Before I had my E-reader I had to carry at least two books with me at all times, just in case I finished one while I was out.

Alicia: I’m the same. And in front of my placemat at the table I keep a little stand that can hold either a book or my E-reader.

Roy: Well, my favorite place is on the toilet where I spend a great deal of time.

Alicia: Uh-oh. Better change the subject before he goes potty-mouth on us. My choice of book genres is pretty broad. I guess romance is at the top, along with fantasy and suspense. But I also love the classics as well as bios, history, mythology and science. What are your favorites, Kyle?

Kyle: My favorite genres have changed over the years. After the Little House books in elementary school, I read Harlequin Romances starting at age 12 (they were very tame back then). For many years it was Stephen King and Dean Koontz almost exclusively, but I have switched to romantic comedy and romantic suspense over the past few years. I love reading many authors; such as Nora Roberts, Jill Shalvis, Janet Evanovich, Susan Mallery, Karen Rose, Erin McCarthy, Gemma Halliday, of course, Alicia and Roy Street.

Roy: Definitely Stephen King. And Anita Shreve, Janet Evanovich and Davis Grubb. Also, humor books—Woody Allen and Chelsea Handler.

Kyle: Is there an author who inspires your writing?

Alicia: Every good author makes me want to write. In romance novels I love Mary Balogh and Susan Elizabeth Phillips. But there are so many authors to learn from. Every time I read Charles Dickens I am amazed at how incredible he was for his time. He understood the psychological makeup of characters before the field of psychology existed.

Roy: When it comes to descriptive passages, no one beats Davis Grubb. His literary thriller classic, The Night Of The Hunter, still rates at the very top of my list. He has been my role model for years when I’m sitting at the keyboard searching for the right words.

Roy: What kind of heroine or hero do you usually enjoy reading about?

Kyle: I love a heroine who is strong, intelligent, and funny. I guess I like the same kind of hero. I also have a soft spot for the heroine and/or hero who is somewhat “broken” from not getting the love they should have when they were young, and therefore don’t expect anyone will love them.

Alicia: Is it important that you be able to identify with the heroine?

Kyle: I will be 55 in a couple of weeks so most heroines could be my daughter. I guess I judge just how good a book is if it can make me forget how old I am so that I completely identify with the heroine.

Alicia: How did you first discover our books?

Kyle: When you look at books on Amazon and the Sony Store they give you books that are similar, so I think it had to be on one of those sites where I first saw your Saylor Oz books.

Roy: What is the reason you keep reading our books?

Kyle: They are written so well that I get caught up in the story and don’t want to put them down. The characters are written so well that I can see them in my mind and they are like real people.

Alicia and Roy: <blush>

Kyle: How do you guys write as a team? What if you have different ideas of where the story should go?

Roy: We have a system we call “the marines and the village maker.” I’m good with first drafts. Alicia is good at structure and detail. Although, there are times we reverse roles. When we disagree on plot points, we take out the white boards and have a sit-down.

Alicia: Obnoxious as it sounds, we seldom argue when we write. We save that for day-to-day stuff. 🙂

Roy: Which of our fictional characters did you like best? Any you don’t like?

Kyle: I liked all of the characters in all of the books of yours that I’ve read, but I have to confess, I loved Saylor Oz, and would love to read more about her adventures. She is more a fantasy character for me, whereas Casey Richardson is more of a real character (I love her, too). Do you have a favorite?

Roy: Absolutely. Saylor Oz is my baby. But of course we have to find something compelling in each of our characters.

Alicia: I kind of have a crush on Parker Richardson in the Dance ‘n’ Luv Series right now. I always love my current protagonists best.

Roy: Kyle, what prompts you to contact an author?

Kyle: I think having email and website make it much easier to approach an author.  I have never actually written a letter to an author back in the stone age of regular mail.  If I really enjoy a book I will let an author know, but I have to tell you I can count on the fingers of one hand the authors I have actually contacted, even though there are many I enjoy. You and Roy were just so approachable, and contact on Facebook was so easy.

Alicia: Is there anything you’d like to say to authors in general?

Kyle: I guess the only thing I would say to an author would be to always try to include an epilogue.  I always like to see, even briefly, what happens to the couple down the road.

Alicia: Me, too. So I can picture the characters going on with their lives forever.

Connect with Alicia & Roy Street:

http://aliciastreet-roystreet.com/

http://www.facebook.com/AliciaAndRoyStreet.authors

http://twitter.com/AliciaStreet1

http://twitter.com/RoyStreet4

********************************************

Great stuff! And thanks bunches to all three of you – Alicia, Roy and Kyle!

Now then…who all would like an Ebook Gift Copy of either Book One or Two in Alicia and Roy’s Dance ‘n’ Luv Series? Let us know below, and you just might win one!!!

In the meantime, be sure to Enter to Win a Kindle Touch from The RG2E too! We’re givin’ away two of them this month!!! Enter here:

http://bit.ly/Oqgzja

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

21 thoughts on “An RG2E Reader2Author Interview with Award-Winning Authors Alicia and Roy Street and Their Superfab Reader Kyle Neal Dykman

  1. Great interview. I always love getting to know authors. I already have book 1 on my Kindle so I would like to have Touch Me And Tango. I’ll definitely have to move them up on my tbr list.

  2. Hey Alicia, Roy and Kyle, what a wonderful interview! I particularly liked the last answer suggesting to always write an epilogue. I never thought how important it was. Book One sounds lovely, thanks and congrats on the new release!

  3. Great interview, I love that you interviewed yourselves.
    I pictured you changing hats and chairs!
    I would love a Kindle copy of Touch Me and Tango please.

  4. Loved the interview! I would like an ebook copy of one of the books… except I already have ’em all and have loved them all! And I’ll love them all again the next time I pick them up.

  5. I read Kiss Me, Dancer (Dance ‘n’ Luv Series #1) and enjoyed it. I would love an opportunity to read Touch Me and Tango. Thanks for the interview!

  6. I really liked this interview. It is nice to “meet” both Roy and Alicia. Alicia, I see that you have three books going at once. I see a lot of people that post and say the same thing. For a while now, I have had an audiobook for in the car on the way to work and a book to actually read for other times. Recently, I decided that I would try reading a different book in bed at night. For that I think I want romances.

    Congratulations of the new release of “Touch Me and Tango”. I would appreciate a Kindly copy. I already have “Kiss Me Dancer” and will move it up to the top of my nighttime book list.

Leave a Reply

