One Author’s Journey By RG2E Featured Author Alison Pensy/Adrianna Blakeley

Welcome to The RG2E, Featured Author Alison Pensy!

Take it away, Alison…

Thank you, D.D. for having me as one of your Featured Authors.  It’s great to be here.

A Summer Down Under is my first attempt at writing romance.  So, I’m still biting my nails a bit.  My usual genre is young adult urban fantasy, written under my real name Alison Pensy.

Although, this is my 4th published novel, it is, in fact, the very 1st book I wrote.  It was written in 2006 before e-readers were popular, and being self-pubbed was the height of distaste.  I never intended to try and go the traditional route back then because it was a book I just needed to get out of my head and share with a few friends.

I had embarked on the adventure of a lifetime, backpacking around Australia three days after my twentieth birthday, and ever since then I had wanted to write a book about it.  But, I didn’t want to write a memoir.  Who would want to read a book about some girl’s trip around Oz?  I put it on the back burner, where it simmered for a long time.

Fast forward 17 years and I had a light bulb moment.  What if I wrote the book as a romance and used my adventures as a back drop?  I um’d and ahh’d about it for a while until a friend encouraged me to just do it.  Okay, threatened to hit me over the head with a 2 by 4 if I didn’t shut up about it and just write the thing.

Once I started writing, it only took me a month to finish the first draft.  Back then, I knew nothing about writing, self-publishing, beta-readers, editing, getting a good cover designer, etc etc.  I printed a few books using Lulu.com and sold a few copies to friends.  Everyone seemed to enjoy it but that was as far as it got and I ended up taking it down (thankfully).  The writing itch didn’t go away though, and a few years later I was writing the first in a series that is turning out to be much more successful than I could have ever imagined.

With the success of my young adult series, I wondered if I would have some cross-over readers who may also enjoy a good romance.  I decided to dig out that 1st book and give it a good going over.  I cringed when I re-read it for the first time.  The fact that I had actually let other people read it made me shudder.  By now, I had an editor, beta-readers and a great cover designer.  The book got a thorough re-write and a new title.  I also decided that I should publish it under a pen name.  I have a lot of young readers and I worry that they may download it just because my name is on it.  Adrianna Blakeley, romance author was born.

I will go on record as stating that ALL the romancey, relationship stuff that goes on in the story is pure fiction.  If I had met a handsome Jackeroo who swept me off my feet, I would be in Australia right now and not the US.  The adventures my main character gets up to, though, did happen to me in one form or another.  Yes, I really am that clumsy.  I admit that some things were exaggerated upon, but I can get away with that sort of stuff, I’m an author.

Book blurb:

Sam, a clumsy, self-conscious young woman, sets off on a journey backpacking around Australia. Some would say she was ‘running away’. Sam would tell you she wanted to ‘find’ herself.  Whatever the reason for her travels, the very last thing she wants to ‘find’ is love, especially after her only other disastrous experience with it.

When money runs low, Sam finds a job working as a Jillaroo (Aussie cowgirl) on a sheep station in the Australian outback. Little does she know that the station owner’s son just happens to be the gorgeous guy she sat next to on the plane over from England. The very same guy who tried to sweep her off her feet during her stopover in Bali.

If that wasn’t enough to deal with, she has her suspicions that the sheep have launched a secret vendetta against her. Not to mention the spiders, the snakes, and the shearers…Oh my!

A heart-warming romantic comedy that will have you wondering if this is what would have happened if Bridget Jones had met The Man from Snowy River instead.

About the Author:

Adrianna Blakeley is the pen name Alison Pensy uses to write her adult romance novels.  As the bestselling author of the young adult Custodian series, she decided to do this because she didn’t want to confuse her younger readers or get into trouble with their parents.

Alison was born and raised in England.  She grew up near the medieval city of Norwich, which is where much of the inspiration for her young adult books comes from.

A trip to Australia in her early twenties is what inspired her debut romance novel.

Alison moved to the States in 2001, where she eventually settled near a small town in mid Missouri with her hubby and menagerie of animals.  She also runs her own tax and accounting business and started writing when she became so fed up with the real world, she decided to create her own.

Please feel free to ask me questions in the comments section, I love chatting with readers.

Alison

http://www.alisonpensy.com/index.html

http://www.alisonpensy.com/contact-me.html

https://twitter.com/alisonpensy

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Alison-Pensy-Adrianna-Blakeley/178598423279?ref=ts

Available at these e-book retailers priced at $2.99:
Kindle 
Smashwords 

Kobo
Nook 

**********************************************

Who all would like an Ebook Gift Copy of A Summer Down Under?  Let us know below, and you just might win one from Alison Pensy. 🙂

Thanks bunches for being our guest, Alison, and for Ebook gifting all of our superfab RG2E readers.

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

20 thoughts on “One Author’s Journey By RG2E Featured Author Alison Pensy/Adrianna Blakeley

    • Hi Diane. I’m so glad I did it when I had the chance. It was an amazing adventure that I still lives with me today. There aren’t many days that go by when some memory or another pops up and makes me smile.

    • Hi Becky. Yes, I do have plans to write another adult story. I actually have the 1st chapter, of a concept that popped into my head a short while ago, sitting on my computer…waiting. But at the moment I am in the process of writing the 4th book in my young adult series. If I don’t get it out soon, I think I may get lynched :-).

  1. Good Morning,
    I am so glad you did not give up!
    I would love to read “A Summer Down Under” for Kindle please.
    Best Wished for continued success.
    Thank you.

    • Thanks Barbara. I’m so glad I didn’t give up either. At first, my dream was to just write this book, I never in a million years thought I would be writing my 5th novel. But when the bug bites, you’ve just got to run with it :-). This is a very exciting time to be an author and I am having a lot of fun with it.

  2. I love finding new-to-me authors and books. I am a bit envious that you have had that much travel under your belt, so I will live vicariously LOL I’d love to read this on my kindle.

  3. Hi! Thanks for sharing with us! This sounds like something id love to read! Thanks for the chance to read! Id love a copy for kindle please if i get one. 🙂 Thank you so much!!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

