RG2E Featured Author L.C. Giroux Shares How a Personal Ad Led to Romance and Her Romance Writing Career

Happy Sunday, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

Here’s fun-tastic scoop from RG2E Featured Author L.C. Giroux on How a Personal Ad Led to Romance and Her Romance Writing Career! 🙂

Take it away, L.C…

I want to thank D.D. for having me here.

I am a romance writer. I didn’t start out a romance writer (does anyone?), but I know the moment I became one and it wasn’t with my first book. See, I met my husband through a personal ad. Tomorrow happens to be our 18th anniversary so I would definitely consider that piece a success. I put in a free eight line ad describing myself like a bottle of wine “1964 vintage, French/Italian blend, perfect for enjoying with cool jazz, rich food or a good book…” you get the idea. We were married within nine months, and no, I wasn’t pregnant.

As a writer, I sometimes get grief for the speed with which some of my characters meet and marry. In my latest story All In, Current and Gianna meet and marry within days -hey! It happens in Vegas! She may have been drunk but he wasn’t. When I get a review that says ‘stuff like that doesn’t happen in real life’, I just smile and say you never know. If a romance writer can’t believe in love at first sight and love everlasting, we are in big trouble. I know they are real because I live them everyday.

Does that mean there aren’t problems? Heck no! This is a romance novel, people! Of course there are problems. But what are a couple of goons that would like Gianna dead compared to a hot cowboy and the magic of a fairy godfather hair dresser (His words, not mine!). The truth is the goons are easy to deal with compared to the fears and insecurities of the hero and heroine. But isn’t that always the way? A damsel in distress may be a romance novel trope but we cause just as much trouble for ourselves in our own lives. But again, what are they to a romantic?

Now my guys are all romantics, though they try their damnedest to hide it. If your guy could use some ideas, or maybe you could, stop by my website and check out a little list I made up. It is perfect for printing and leaving on his pillow. Go ahead and circle a few things you like. It is like ordering Chinese takeout without the greasy fingers! You can get it here:

http://bit.ly/PZJPMk

You can also stop by the blog and even use the contact me page to sign up for my newsletter. I gift bunches of books, so if you would like a little steamy romance in your life definitely sign up I promise not to spam you.

If you need a little extra incentive to believe in the power of love, go ahead, leave a comment below! I’ll be e-gifting copies of All In (Lovers and Other Strangers Book Five) to everyone that does.

L.C. Giroux is an Amazon Bestselling author in the US and the UK. She writes steamy contemporary romance because she doesn’t need a vampire to see the magic in the every day. Her previous career was writing laboratory protocols. Romance is much more fun. She is also a founding member of WG2E’s Beach Book Blast.

You can find out more about her at http://www.lcgiroux.com

Facebook: http://on.fb.me/Pacuzc

Twitter: http://twitter.com/LCGiroux

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/lcgiroux/

Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/QCVyTB

*************************

A Personal Ad…who’d a thunk it?! 🙂 Thanks sooo much for the terrific scoop, L.C., and for treating all of us to your wonderful book!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

15 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author L.C. Giroux Shares How a Personal Ad Led to Romance and Her Romance Writing Career

  1. As a hairstylist I’ve heard many relationship issues through the years, so I would love to see how you were able to work that into All In by reading it on my kindle.

    Happy Anniversary!

  2. “Stuff like that doesn’t happen in real life?”

    What old shoelaces are those reviewers smoking?

    First off – who in the hell wants to read about “real life”? You can’t even find that sort of thing on reality television.

    You write love stories, right?

    So, when I want a love story, I want something that sounds like a song sung by an angel drunk on tequila and life. I want to hear about the rooster who fell in love with the weather vane. I want to hear a mariachi band strumming out Don Quixote sonnets in the key of “Aw Gee”.

    I want escape, dammit!

    I want to hear about reality – I can read the newspaper.

    I want to read a love story – then I want reality – I want to hear someone’s wildest dream – spun upon flaming words torn from the heart of a dying god.

    Re-freaking-ality?

    Pah-leeze, get real!!!

    Great entry, L.C.

  3. I’m living proof of love at first sight. My parents met in May 1948. Dad asked Mom to marry on August 8th. She declined, saying it was too soon. He waited a couple of weeks and asked again. They married September 22…1948. Yesterday was the 64th anniversary of that event. Together they had eleven children and spent almost 40 years together before cancer took Dad away.

    That’s real life…to me. Couples who wait for years, setting wedding dates years in advance confuse me. Why the long wait? Are they unsure? Procrastinators? Or are they hoping someone will change their minds?

    We live in a twisted world where what was slow is now fast (cars, computers) and what was once fast is now slow. One hundred years ago, couples met and married within months (sometimes weeks) not years or decades.

  4. Great post, L.C. I love the story of you and your husband’s meeting. What a cute ad! I’m with Steve. I read to escape. Besides – who says there’s no such thing as love at first sight? I already have this book. It’s waiting for me in the Cloud and I can’t wait to read it. 🙂

  5. I’d like to believe love at first sight really does happen and that love really can last a lifetime!. Somehow the accumulated experiences of the past 56 years of my life have proven themselves to be a determined instructor intent on making sure I understand that love at first sight or love to last a lifetime will not ever happen for me. The #2 divorce was a very effective 2×4 to the head!

    I really want to believe that someday I will meet a wonderful man of character and that we will share a true love (first sight would be nice!) to last our forever.

    If your book can help me keep that hope alive or give me tips on how or where to start looking, I would love to read it. My wonderful grown kids (“biological and step”) were generous enough to give me a Kindle for Christmas. I am truly blessed!

    Jan

  6. This sounds so good! I love romance books just for the fact that it has romance. lol I love the chemistry between the characters and the plot. So good! Id love a copy of this for kindle please? Thank you so much!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. I’m living proof of love at first sight. I fell in love with my husband 30 years ago! However, we went our separate ways and reconnected 6 years ago! We’ve been married now for 3 years! I would love a copy of All In for my Kindle! Enjoyed your story and good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

