RG2E Featured Author Katrina Parker Williams talks Writing Historical Fiction

Happy Tuesday, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

Please help me Welcome Back to The RG2E, Featured Author Katrina Parker Williams (aka K.P. Williams), who’s taking us behind the scenes of Writing Historical Fiction.

Take it away, Katrina…

Thanks D. D. for allowing me to be here again.  I am truly enjoying it.

When writing historical fiction, one thing I must pay close attention to is the facts.  Even though my works are fiction, they are loosely based on historical events, so I must make sure the events are historically accurate.  For instance, if I am writing about slavery during the mid 1800’s, I must realize that cars were not invented during that time period, so having a character driving around in a car would not be historically accurate.  Again, even though my work is fiction, and I can do pretty much what I want to do, if I want my stories to ring true, I must be true to history.

Another issue that arises when writing about history is dialogue.  I write stories set in the Deep South, so when using dialogue, especially during the early periods of our American history, I must ensure the dialogue sounds believable.  For example, my characters in my stories live in the Deep South during the mid-to-late 1800’s.  They speak in a southern dialect, so when writing dialogue, I must make sure to reflect this fact in order for the story to be believable.

To bring history to life, I have to transport myself to the time period in which I want to write.  I have to envision what life must have been like for my characters.  A great deal of research is required in order for me to “walk in my characters’ shoes.”  I have to know my characters, what their lives were like during that time period, their motivations, their beliefs, customs, and rituals.  I must understand them thoroughly in order for their stories to come to life.  Once I have gathered as much research as I can, I can begin writing a story that will bring history to life.

My short story Missus Buck (A Short Story) is a piece of historical fiction about an elderly woman, advanced in years, who fosters a spirit of hostility toward her daughter-in-law because she believes her to be a commoner. Their family descending from German aristocracy, Missus Buck believes her son has married beneath him when he weds Missus Julie, who feels the sting of her disapproval even from the first day she met her. Missus Buck shows no mercy towards Missus Julie’s slaves and squares off with Missus Julie’s favored slave, the feisty Rubeline.

Price: 99 Cents

Read an Excerpt Below:

Ms. Brandenburg, “Missus Buck” as the house servants called her, was a force just as vigorous as Mr. Buck, and when the house servants got word that she’d be making a visit that required more than an overnight stay, they’d plead with Missus Julie to send them to her brother’s home in the neighboring city while Missus Buck visited.  Sometimes she’d grant their requests if it were a short visit, but if Missus Buck lengthened her stay, Missus Julie would need them to be present especially since Missus Buck often liked to entertain on her visits, requiring the house servants to be there to prepare elaborate dinner parties given in her honor.

As Missus Buck advanced in years, she seemed to foster a spirit of hostility toward her daughter-in-law because she believed her a commoner.  Their family descending from German aristocracy, Missus Buck believed her son married beneath him when he wedded Missus Julie, who felt the sting of her disapproval from the first day she met her.  To avoid the woman as much as possible, Missus Julie made it a point to travel with her husband on any occasion when his mother would make her regular visits to their home.

On a previous visit Missus Buck precipitated the scorn of the house servants, particularly Rubeline, who had been with Missus Julie since she was a young girl.  Missus Buck forced Massa Norris to sell two of his slaves whose only fault was being subjected to the whim of his mother.

She would often tell her son about the house servants’ languor whenever she would request some deed to be done.  They would often do it, but never to her satisfaction.  When Missus Buck requested that her guest bed be made to her very specifications and the house servant failed to accomplish the task as she had directed, she demanded that Massa Norris sell her.  When the house boy, Rubeline’s son, spilled the contents of her chamber pot one morning, she insisted he sell him.  Massa Norris obeyed his mother’s request, citing that he expected his slaves to perform any task assigned to the highest expectations.  The following week they were sold.

Rubeline pleaded with Massa Norris not to sell her son, but he’d hear none of it.  She beseeched the assistance of Missus Julie who was also unsuccessful.  For many nights after the sale of her son, Rubeline sought solace in the lengthy conversations with Missus Julie who tried desperately to comfort the heartbroken Rubeline.  Nothing Missus Julie could say could console her.   Missus Julie could feel the distance in Rubeline’s stare.  She could also see the rage the lay in Rubeline’s eyes.

“Rubeline, I’m sorry,” she said, knowing her words were falling on deaf ears.

Rubeline looked up at her, staring at her with cold eyes and secretly vowing retaliation on Missus Buck although she never informed Missus Julie of her sinister desires.  She would wait for the opportune moment, but it was sure to come.

**********

What would you like to see happen to Missus Buck? Let us know below, and you just might win an Ebook Gift Copy of her story…

Thank you for stopping by today!

Connect with me at:

Katrina Parker Williams’ Books on Amazon  —  http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&rh=n%3A283155%2Ck%3Akatrina%20parker%20williams&page=1

Website Link — http://katrinaparkerwilliams.wordpress.com/

Twitter  —  https://twitter.com/kparkerwilliams

Facebook  —  https://www.facebook.com/smwpk

Email: stepartdesigns @ hotmail . com

Katrina Parker Williams

*******************************

I luuuvvv these kinds of Behind the Scenes Peeks, Katrina, and thanks sooo much for sharing your story world with us and for treating RG2E Peeps to Ebook Gift Copies! U rock!

The Best of The RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

 

18 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Katrina Parker Williams talks Writing Historical Fiction

  1. Pingback: Writing Historical Fiction on RG2E « The Musings of Katrina Parker Williams

  2. Great post! I enjoyed reading the excerpt and would love to see what happens to Missus Buck.
    I would love a copy of Missus Buck for Amazon Kindle.

  3. Welcome back!
    Oh those mothers in law.
    Being from a Southern family, I love stories based in the south.
    I can’t wait to read Missus Buck on my Kindle.

  4. I would love to see how the slaves get Missus Buck. I’m sure it will be a good one. Looking forward to reading this on my Kindle.

    • Hi Karleene, it is not too late to enter. I am waiting on the email addresses of all who commented, and I will be sending free copies of Missus Buck to everyone. I will be glad to send you a free copy of Slave Auction. Thanks for checking out my works.

  5. I have gifted free copies of Missus Buck to all who have commented on my blog post here. Please check your junk mail folder as the free gift copies may go there first. Click on the Amazon links to claim your free ebook. For those wanting the PDF files, I have sent those to your email as an attachment–please also check your junk mail folder.

Leave a Reply

