RG2E Peeps, Would You Like to be a Beta Reader? RG2E Featured Author Fabio Bueno will give you The Scoop!

Happy Sunday, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

Have you ever thought about being a Beta Reader? Not sure what that is?

RG2E Featured Author Fabio Bueno will tell you all about it!

Take it away, Fabio…

The importance of beta-readers

As an author, I rely heavily on beta-readers. If you are unfamiliar with the term, here is one definition: a person who reads a draft of a book with the intent of offering suggestions that might improve the next draft. The beta works as a very informal editor.

As editors, they might help you with the big-picture (plot, character arcs, theme), the small-picture (grammar and spelling), and everything in-between (characterization, plot holes, dialogue, continuity errors, factual errors).

Beta-readers can save lives

Character’s lives, that is : )

If you are a writer, I urge you to have beta-readers. They will tell you where you strayed. If you went too far, or not far enough. If your tone is uneven. If the character you killed should be spared. If your villain is not mean enough. If you used “nauseous” when you meant “nauseated.” If the kayak kiosk on Green Lake Park is closed in October (it is).

I am a writer. How can I get beta-readers?

Just ask! Good candidates are day-job colleagues, friends, neighbors, and their family. You could choose people with writing experience or readers close to your target demographic. Some writers seek an eclectic team with diverse points of view: a teen, an adult, a fan of the genre, and a non-fan. Usually they will spot different areas of improvement. Social media is a great place to find them, too (see below).

Make sure you find willing beta-readers. Your beta-reader should have time to read your work. Most people are too busy and just cannot fit a careful reading of a book into their schedules. The ideal beta is one you trust. People you know will tell you the truth, no matter what, and that will offer constructive criticism.

I am an avid reader. How can I become a beta-reader?

More and more writers are looking for betas. Your writer friends will consider your request to be one. You can find authors online: on twitter, on Facebook, and on their author websites. Ask them. Some websites, like the World Literary Café (http://www.worldliterarycafe.com/forum/125 ), connect authors and readers.

How does it work?

It depends on the stage of the novel. Maybe it is a draft close to the final one, and the writer just wants a detailed grammar check. If it is one of the early drafts, the writer may be trying a few new ideas and needs feedback on some subplots. The writer must set guidelines explaining what she expects from the betas.

Some betas like to make annotations as they read, while others prefer to read all at once (to get the flow of the novel) and then come back for an in-depth analysis. A few betas jot down only the emotions the writing stirs on them (“this made me feel very angry with the character,” or “this didn’t work for me”). Other betas are much more technical and detail-oriented.

Is it worth it?

I strongly believe so! My generous beta-readers helped me fine-tune my novels. There is no doubt those works are better because of these wonderful friends. Betas get the books earlier, the gratitude of the writer, and, sometimes, a mention in the acknowledgments page of the published version : )

I hope you find this information useful. Happy (beta-) reading and writing!

(Thanks for having me over at RG2E, Deedee!)

Bio:

Fabio Bueno writes Young Adult/Urban Fantasy/Paranormal novels. He resides in the Pacific Northwest with his wife and kids. When not writing or reading, he geeks out with family and friends, solidifies his reputation as the world’s slowest runner, and acts very snobbish about movies.

Price: $2.99

Witches inhabit our world, organized in covens and hiding behind a shroud of secrecy–the Veil.

Skye’s London coven sends her to Seattle’s Greenwood High to find the Singularity, an unusually gifted witch who may break the Veil and trigger a dangerous new era of witch-hunting. Things get complicated when Skye meets a charming new classmate, Drake. Skye’s job becomes even trickier when she clashes with Jane, an intimidating rival witch.

Drake falls for the mysterious Skye, but odd accidents, potion mix-ups, and the occasional brush with death kind of get in the way of romance. Once he discovers Skye is a witch, he goes to war for her, even though his only weapons are a nice set of abs and a sharp sense of humor.

Fighting off wicked Jane and the other dark forces hell-bent on seizing the Singularity’s immense power, Skye and Drake will risk everything to save the covens.

Going on a date has never been harder.

  • On Amazon (readers can also download a free sample for kindle and free kindle apps)
  • On Goodreads (free sample available in .epub format for most other e-readers)

Connect with Fabio here:

*****************************************

So, how many of you fabulous RG2E Peeps are Beta Readers? If not, would you consider becoming one?

And thank bunches to you, Fabio, for sharing the world of Beta Readers with us! 🙂

In the meantime, Fabio will treat 5 of you to an Ebook Gift Copy of WICKED SENSE, so let him know below if you’d like to win one!!!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

19 thoughts on “RG2E Peeps, Would You Like to be a Beta Reader? RG2E Featured Author Fabio Bueno will give you The Scoop!

  1. Nice post. Being a beta reader is a great way to be introduced to an author that you’ve never read before and you might actually like and read again.(Unless of course, you hated the book)
    I’d love to win a copy of Wicked Sense, it looks really good.Thanks.

  2. I’m not a beta reader and not sure if I want to be one. It would be hard for me to get something read fast and back in a timely fashion, but it would be nice way to find new authors and try something new. I would love to win a copy of Wicked Sense. Thanks.

    • Hi, Becky! The beta-reader and the writer should be able to work something out. A beta-reader of mine took over two months to read it, but when he was done, I got great pointers. Definitely worth the wait 🙂

  3. I am not a beta reader but would consider becoming one because I enjoy reading! Being a beta reader was sommething I didn’t know a lot about but am very interested! I would love a copy of Wicked Sense for my nook please! Enjoy your Sunday!

  4. I have thought about being a beta reader. I know I am always finding the mistakes in a book when I read.
    I would love to read a copy of Wicked Sense on my Kindle.

  5. Great interview guys!

    I use my critique partners to help pick up glaring plot or character development holes. I have an editor who rejigs sentence structure or comments on scene development and then a copy-editor. Then I upload the work to two different devices, a Kindle and a Kobo and read it there. It’s amazing what the human eye misses but picks up on a device. I’ve recently got an iPad too. I do all this to see what my reader experience will be like regarding formatting etc., because the reading experience on each device is different. All this before the work goes out to a Beta. I have five and what I want from them is a general overview, eg., are the characters memorable, was the pace fast/slow, was there a part that sounded confusing along with an overall feel.

    This is just my opinion of course, but I don’t think a Beta should find typos/editing/language issues. A good Beta should also be a voracious reader. One of mine reads five romances a week and more during the winter months. I found one working in a discount book store in my town and she’s seriously awesome.

    I already have Wicked Sense! Good Job, Fabio.

    • First of all, thanks for reading Wicked Sense, CC!
      I also recommend that beta-readers comment on the big picture, but a couple of mine were very good at grammar and couldn’t pass the opportunity to correct spelling and typos. My books usually go to beta-readers before they go to editors, so I’m not concerned about line editing/copy editing at that point.
      Thanks for the insights, CC 🙂

  6. Fabio is right … beta readers are invaluable! I have discovered that it’s important to get a couple (few) who haven’t read your before and aren’t related to you or one of your closest friends. Why? Well, the family/friend thing is obvious. Unless you can trust them to be brutally honest, they’ll tell you they love it. I let my grandmother and mother read an early copy of one of my novels and they gushed and gushed about how ‘perfect’ it was. Riiight! But I did adore the love. For the ‘blind’ beta reader, this is important because my close circle of critique partners know me and my writing too well. They are wonderful for so many aspects in the process but in beta-reading, they can make assumptions on what I meant because they know me well enough and know the story to infer meaning. A person who has never read your writing will have a totally subjective opinion.

    Also, no need to put my name in for a copy of Wicked Sense because I jumped on getting Fabio’s novel when it was first released and happily own my own copy on my kindle. Woo!! 🙂

    • You raise a significant point, Ginger. Crit partners usually know you and your writing, but beta-readers would assume nothing about your story and give you that fresh perspective. IMHO, beta-reader feedback resembles the reactions the general public more accurately. And thanks for getting Wicked Sense!

  7. I would like to be a Beta Reader. I read a lot and I mean a lot!!! To read to help an Author would be a nice way to go.

    If you have any more of your book available , I would like to read it in Kindle form.

  8. Great post, Fabio! I love my beta readers. I tell them all to be honest and not worry about hurting my feelings. I just need to know what’s working and what’s not, so I can make it the best it can be. I give them leeway to comment on whatever they feel like – whether it’s the big picture stuff, plot, pace, or the small grammatical things I’ve over-looked. I try to get those who are writers as well as those who are just readers. I also try to get someone who is involved in a profession mentioned in my books to make sure I have all the facts correct. No need to put me in for the giveaway. I already have a copy of Wicked Sense. 🙂

    • Hi, Rhonda! Yes, I ask beta-readers to focus on a few areas, but they invariably end up commenting on everything–which is great 🙂
      Thank you for stopping by and for reading Wicked Sense!

Leave a Reply

