RG2E Featured Author Liz Matis on How an Event in Real Life Can Inspire a Scene in a Book

Happy Thursday, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

Here’s a superfab fun peek into How an Event in Real Life Can Inspire a Scene in a Book…with RG2E Featured Author Liz Matis.

Take it away, Liz…

Thanks D.D. for having me here today!

I am a mild manner accountant by day and romance writer by night. Married 27 years I believe in happy ever after!

This is my second time here at RG2E and I thought I talk about how an event in real life can ignite an idea for a scene in a book.

For instance I was writing Going For It around the time of the Super Bowl 2012. When the NY Giants beat the New England Patriots (YAY!) fans harassed one of the wives of the Patriots. This was none other than supermodel Giselle Bundchen married to the quarterback Tom Brady. She defended him by saying “My husband can not (expletive) throw the ball and catch ball the ball at the same time. I can’t believe they dropped the ball so many times.”

Uh-oh.

Don’t get me wrong I LOVE the fact that she defended her husband. However she did it at the expense of Tom Brady’s teammates.

Ouch.

I couldn’t help but think that my heroine in Going For It, supermodel Hannah Hahn would’ve handled the situation with – well – more pizzazz. So here is the scene I wrote with Hannah’s response only it’s to a reporter rather than a fan…

Excerpt

The man smiled as if he were about to score a scoop. “Some say Miller’s MVP award was a fluke and he’s not worth the twenty million he’s getting next year.”

“Oh, I’ll leave you experts to speculate on that.” Oh how she wanted to defend Jake but in this case Hannah wisely chose to play dumb. This guy was a snake and from the look on Samantha’s face she wanted to skin him alive. She wasn’t the only one, but though Hannah knew zip about football, she knew how to play the media game.

“So it doesn’t bother you if the media rakes him over the coals or if the fans boo him.”

“Honey, I’m not with him for his skills on the football field.” Hannah threw him off with her sweetest of smiles.

******

I think Hannah handled that expertly – of course that’s why fiction is so much fun. You can give your heroine the best lines. Don’t you often think of something later that you should have said instead of the lame remark you actually made?

Leave a comment to enter to win 1 of 3 Ebook Gift Copies of Going For It and a set of my romance trading cards. 

Going For It: 

Price: $2.99

Pro football player Jake Miller’s game plan for winning back supermodel Hannah Hahn is play action in the bedroom. But when he sees beyond the swimsuits and lingerie and she sees beyond his accolades and stats feelings of love blindside them both changing the rules of the game.

The paparazzi love the beauty and the beast couple but the tabloid rumors turn ugly and test the fragile trust between them. Will their celebrity egos block the way to true love?

Connect with Liz here:

Going For It – Ebook http://amzn.com/B008EP37B2
Love By Design – Ebook and Print http://amzn.com/B005U83XYW
Playing For Keeps – Ebook and Print  http://amzn.com/B0063KJIGI

***********************

Go, Liz and Hannah, Go! Excellent comeback!!! Thanks bunches for chatting with us and for treating our RG2E Peeps to Ebook Gift Copies and your superfab Romance Trading Cards too!!!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

12 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Liz Matis on How an Event in Real Life Can Inspire a Scene in a Book

  1. I always think of something I could of or should of said after it’s too late.

    I cannot wait to read Going For It on my kindle. I loved reading “Love by Design.” I have to write my review yet, but it will be a good one.

  2. Awesome comeback, Liz–um, I mean, Hannah. 🙂 As for true life events sparking the idea for a book. Yeah, I might know something about that. It makes it fun for us writers and also gives us great reader trivia bits later. Going For It is already sitting on my List, waiting patiently for me to work my way down.

  3. I’m always thinking of something later that I should have said instead of the lame remark that I actually made. I’m also good for doing the saying my mom always told me to – I put my foot in my mouth. Then I always wonder why I said what I said. Going for it sounds like a great story. I would love a copy for Amazon. Thanks.

  4. Yes! Awesome comeback! This book sounds really good. Keep them coming! Hope to read it soon – added it to my TBR list 😀

Leave a Reply

