A Day in the Life of RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean…Describing “Hell”…and a FREE Ebook too!

Happy Weekend, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

Here’s a really fun peek into A Day in the Life of an Author, featuring the superfab Cate Dean.

Take it away, Cate…

“So, I was refining my description of Hell the other day—” 

Wouldn’t your head whip around if you heard that in your local coffee shop? Welcome to a day in my life.

I write about the paranormal, the supernatural – the unreal. And I love every minute of it. Imagine going to an old Victorian graveyard in the middle of the night, to find out what it feels like to be there. Or stepping inside a haunted castle, wondering if the resident spirit is going to make an appearance. Here come the goose bumps . . .

I grew up loving the spooky, the unusual, the otherworldly, so it’s no surprise to me that’s what I ended up being inspired by, and what I love to write about. I have scared myself silly more than I care to admit, and I’ve had the pleasure of doing it in some incredible, far flung places.

Like a windswept, deserted necropolis overlooking a 1,000 year old cathedral in Glasgow. Or an evocative castle ruin on the North East coast of England, where the wind whistling along the stones sounds like the voices of the past, whispering their story. How about an ancient stone circle, bathed in dawn light, where the energy lines are so powerful they can be felt under your feet? That’s my kind of research.

I’m an “on the ground” writer – I have to see it, experience it, walk in the steps of my characters. Maybe not all the way to Hell, but I do like to get as close as possible to what they would actually experience. And in the process I’ve bumped up against my fair share of the unexplained. Good, spooky fun – and all in a day’s work. J

I infused plenty of paranormal in Rest For The Wicked, and you can now get it FREE here:

She’s running from her past. And running out of time.

Claire Wiche is an ordinary woman, running her Wicca shop, The Wiche’s Broom, in an ordinary California beach town. But Claire wasn’t always ordinary, and she isn’t quite human. She hides a secret, and a past she thought she had put behind her.

A past that is about to explode into her present.

When it does, and everyone she loves is in danger, Claire must face up to her past – and become what she left behind in order to save them.

A Gathering of Angels – The Claire Wiche Chronicles Book 2 is now available on Amazon!

Other books by Cate Dean:

When Walls Can Talk – A Fantasy Novella
Last Chance Jack – A Fantasy Short Story

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/152399

Kobo: http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Rest-For-The-Wicked/book-JaUem4tLlEqk8Zew4AGM0w/page1.html?s=HfI0_86cTkCpGrkCTkn3Eg&r=2

I am also gifting 8 bookmarks, made specifically for this book, to people who comment on my post. Just leave your thoughts and your email, and you will be entered for a chance to win. These are exclusive, can’t-get-anywhere-else bookmarks.

So let me know what you thought, go grab a free copy of Rest For The Wicked – and thanks for stopping by.

Until next time – read on.

Cheers,

~Cate

About Cate:

Cate Dean has been writing since she could hold a pen in her hand and put more than two words together on paper. She grew up losing herself in the wilds of fantasy worlds, and has had some of her own adventures while tromping through the UK, and a few other parts of the world. A lover of all things supernatural, she infuses that love into her stories, giving them a unique edge. When she’s not writing, she loves cooking, scaring herself silly in the local cemeteries, and reading pretty much anything she can get her hands on.

Connect with Cate here:

website: http://catedeanwrites.com

Facebook page: http://facebook.com/catedeanwrites.com

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/catedeanwrites.com

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5694181.Cate_Dean

Amazon Author Central:  http://amazon.com/author/catedean

************************

Very cool scoop, Cate! I can sooo relate to your coffee shop drama. Been there. Done that…several times! LOL! Now, my DH (Darling Husband) just looks at the horrified people who overhear me and says “no worries…she’s an author.” 🙂

Thanks sooo much for sharing with us, for the FREE Ebook and a shot at your fabulous bookmarks too!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

15 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean…Describing “Hell”…and a FREE Ebook too!

  1. Cate, I like how you research to write your stories. I’ve been to a few graveyards, but they weren’t scary to me at nighttime. There was a couple places that I wanted to go that was haunted but couldn’t find anyone to go with me at the time I was there. I went to Smashwords and got a copy of Rest For The Wicked. I am looking forward to reading it. I would love a chance to win some of your bookmarks for this book. Thanks for the chance!
    beckyqward@gmail.com

    • Hi Becky,
      thanks for taking the time to download – hope you enjoy it! The experiences I’ve had at ggraveyards – the really spooky, make your skin crawl ones, always happened during the day. Thanks for stopping by today, and I’ve got you in the drawing for the bookmarks. 🙂
      ~Cate

  2. Very cool post, Cate! I’ve had some spooky encounters myself and I think the heads whipping around is one of the fun parts of being a writer. Imagine over-hearing me and a friend plotting out a murder and ways to dispose of bodies. LOL I loved both of the first two books in the Claire Wiche series and am eagerly awaiting the next. 🙂

  3. Hi Cate, loving the blurb and looking forward to reading Rest for the Wicked!
    I’ve been a paranormal fan forever, and I love reading different people’s takes on it.
    My mother once haunted a graveyard, sitting out of sight up a tree in the middle of the night. She’d recently acted the part of a witch in a play and when a lone person cycled past, she let out her best cackle! Bet that person has forever believed in ghosts!
    Would love one of your bookmarks, thanks for the chance.
    🙂

    • Hi Deborah,
      thanks for stopping by – I hope you enjoy my take on the paranormal. I grew up loving it. Your mom sounds like a kick, and someone I’m sure I’d have a blast talking to! I’ve got you entered for the drawing. 🙂
      ~Cate

  4. I am reading this now, Y’All, and it’s over the moon terrific!!! Well done, Cate! I’ll be sure and leave a sparkling review for you when I’m finished! Just wonderful, my friend!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

