RG2E Featured Author Nina Croft on Mixing Up Genres

Happy Tuesday, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

Please help me Welcome the Wonderful Nina Croft to The RG2E!

She’s taking us on a superfab fun adventure Mixing Up Genres! Take it away, Nina…

Hi, I’m Nina Croft. This is my first time here at RG2E (I hope there will be lots more) so a little about me. I’m English, though I now live on an almond farm in the mountains of southern Spain where I read, write and occasionally pick almonds.

I write romance, but all different kinds, paranormal, sci-fi, contemporary… So today, I thought I’d write a little about this and hopefully get some feedback on what readers think about authors who mix up their genres.

Most novels fall into certain main categories, such as romance, thrillers, science fiction. And then there are the cross genre novels that have elements of two or more of those categories. Crossing genres isn’t a new idea; it’s been around forever and has resulted in a long list of recognized sub-genres: paranormal romance, romantic suspense, historical time travel…

As a writer, I’ve always believed that you should write the sort of things you love to read, but that doesn’t narrow the field much for me. I read just about everything. If it’s fiction—I’ll try it. Therefore it’s hardly unexpected that I have a tendency to mix up the genres in my own stories.

So far I’ve written paranormal romance, science fiction, fantasy, a thriller and most recently contemporary category romance. But I also have a tendency to mix up my genres within a single story, and one of my favourite stories to write was a mixture of science fiction, paranormal and romance.

But in traditional publishing, writing in different genres hasn’t been encouraged. Similarly, with getting too creative with crossing your genres. It’s too difficult to market; bookstores don’t know where to shelve the books. (And this is one of the reasons why I think self-publishing is a great option—it allows you a freedom to explore and experiment that you might not get with other methods of publishing).

Another aspect of writing in different genres is it makes it difficult to develop your author brand. Readers don’t know what to expect of you. They get annoyed when they pick up what they think is a contemporary romance and then find out it’s taking place in space. Some authors solve the problem by using different pen names for the different genres they write (such as Nora Roberts and J.D. Robb.) But I think this is changing. Readers are now more willing to experiment with different things. Also with ebooks, it’s easy to try a sample so you know what you’re getting.

So as a reader, how do you select which books to read? Do you pick by author, by genre, or by something else entirely. And If you enjoyed a contemporary romance by an author would you consider reading a paranormal by them even though it wasn’t your usual type of read?

The book I’m introducing you to today is a paranormal romance novella, called Bound to Night, and I’ll be ebook gifting five copies. 

On Amazon

Price: $1.99

Waking up after a brutal werewolf attack, telepath Tasha Grant finds herself a prisoner of The Facility, an illegal organization carrying out research into the paranormal. She dreams of freedom and going home, but after eight long years, she believes it will never happen.

Her life changes with the arrival of Jack, a vampire, and the latest unwilling guest of The Facility. Tasha finds herself drawn to Jack, and passion flares between them, but Jack refuses to let her into his mind, and Tasha can’t help wondering – does he care, or is she just food to the vampire?

Jack is fighting his attraction for the young werewolf—he has a job to do, and good reasons for keeping his distance. But when they escape together, he knows he must help Tasha find her way home.

But as the past unravels, and they uncover the secrets behind Tasha’s attack, her chances of going home appear remoter than ever.

About Nina:

Nina Croft grew up in the north of England. After training as an accountant, she spent four years working as a volunteer in Zambia, which left her with a love of the sun and a dislike of 9-5 work. She then spent a number of years mixing travel (whenever possible) with work (whenever necessary) but has now settled down to a life of writing and picking almonds on a remote farm in the mountains of southern Spain.

Nina writes all types of romance often mixed with elements of the paranormal and science fiction.

Connect with Nina here:

Website

Twitter

Facebook

****************************

I’m with you, Nina, in that Mixing Up Genres keeps our writing fresh and treats our readers to all kinds of fantastic journeys!!!  I read across all genres, and I write in multiple genres too! My fave thing to do is mix it up even more with cross-genre blends.

Cheers to you, Welcome again to The RG2E, and thanks for treating us to Ebook Gifts and a fabulous peek into your story worlds!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

19 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Nina Croft on Mixing Up Genres

  1. Nice post. I select books to read based on the blurb and author. If I liked an author’s books, I don’t mind if the books are of a different genre.

    I’d like to read Bound to night.

  2. I choose books based on the blurb, on the title, and on the reviews. If it interests me and the reviews look promising then it’s in…in my shopping cart and on my reading list that is. Having an author that you’ve previously enjoyed is a bonus and gives you that extra confidence that yes…this author knows how to keep me turning the pages. In those cases the blurb and the author name is usually enough… In some cases it doesn’t really matter what the book is. If the author has really wowed me I’m definitely going to sign up for the next ride no matter what the destination.

    I also enjoy the mixed genres…there’s usually something in them for every reader.

    I’d love to win a copy of Bound to Night for my Kindle.

  3. I totally agree about the fact that self-publishing gives us the freedom to write different genres. It’s one thing I mainly like about it. Also the length of work, too. I either choose books by genre (usually category romance), what I like writing about (magical realism and adventure) or by author I have read before and like, and author I know I like their writing.

    • Hi jadwriter, glad you like category romance – my first came out this year and I really enjoyed writing it (I love writing most things – I might have mentioned that!)

  4. Hi Nina! Great post. As a reader, I love authors who can write across different genres or who can mash up genres and create something unique. Its the voice more than anything that pulls me in. The character development. Those two things trump everything else for me. If I love your voice and your characters, chances I will come along for the ride wherever you take me is pretty high.

    As a writer, I think you have to try writing in different genres to find where you are most comfortable and where your voice is the strongest. Perhaps its a contemporary voice with a paranormal edge, or a Sci-Fi Paranormal Space Opera. Until you write it, you have no idea how you feel about it, or how it fits you, nor do you know the same for your readership.

    (Don’t enter me to win, I just bought the book 😉 )

    • Thanks Moira!
      And I agree totally – unless you try different things you don’t get to find out what you’re best at and – just as important – what you enjoy writing the most!

  5. Great post! I read just about everything. When choosing book to read, my first choice is always by something that one of my favorite authors wrote. I will also choose books by the blurb and title. I will read people reviews of stories, but I like to get information about the author and story if they are new to me and then make my own decision. I have found some mixed genres that I have loved reading, so I don’t mind an author mixing the genres together or writing different genres then what they usually write. i would love to win a copy of Bound to Night, for Amazon Kindle.

  6. I’m one to buy anything by a particular author…regardless of what genre they write. I used to mainly read category but branched out when several of my favorite authors crossed lines. Great post!

  7. I might be odd man out, but I don’t often read genres outside of my favorites. When that does happen–and it has–it’s because a favorite author has written outside the genre I like. For example, I’ve read medieval romance because Elizabeth Lowell wrote a few of them. So…if I like an author, I can very easily be swayed to pick up a new genre. Otherwise, I don’t often visit those sections in the store. 🙂

    • I’d probably be the same in bookstores, Bethanne, but unfortunately I haven’t been in one in years (not through choice I just live in a really remote place). It’s much easier to jump around the store when you shop online!

  8. Personally, if I like an author, I will try another genre from them, because I think it really comes down to storytelling no matter what kind.
    And I’ve really seen a lot of authors dabble in various genres now so I think it’s not shocking to readers anymore.

  9. I read and enjoy almost any genre but if it’s labeled paranormal romance I will jump on that one first. If I like that book I will definitely try others by that author no matter the genre. I am definitely not a one genre person. I would love a copy of Bound to Night for my Kindle.

Leave a Reply

