RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean tells us What Happened When She Turned Real People into Characters and How It Changed Her Book

Happy Weekend, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

Here’s a fascinating look at what happened when RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean turned real people into characters and how it changed her book.

Take it away, Cate…

For A Gathering of Angels I held a contest – win a spot as a character in my book. I had two winners, and with a storyline already in my head, I had to incorporate them into it – and make it look like they had always been a part of the story.

Was it a challenge? Absolutely. I wanted them to be themselves, but not. So to start, I sent each of the winners a list of questions, asking them more about themselves, and if they wanted certain aspects in the book: their real first name, hair color, height. I also asked for some quirks, wanting to flesh out the characters.

Adding those two people as characters changed the story, and more than a little. It added a depth, and an emotional edge to parts of it I didn’t have before, and that made the story richer. I also loved getting to know these people, and infusing bits of them, putting them on the page so they would see themselves, even if no one else did. And my book is better for having them join it.

If you read the book, you don’t know until the author’s notes at the end that two of the characters you just met were added because of a contest. And I have received feedback that ALL of the characters were well developed – which puts a big smile on my face, and tells me I did what I set out to do. I gave two people a wonderful, unique experience, and enriched my story with unexpected characters.

Would I do it again? In a heartbeat. So keep an eye out – I plan on having another “be a character” contest, very soon. And I can’t wait to meet the people who will – well, people book 4 of The Claire Wiche Chronicles. 🙂

Thanks for hanging out with me today – and if you leave a comment, you could be one of 10 people to win an Ebook Gift Copy of A Gathering of Angels.

Good luck, and until next time – read on.

cheers,

~Cate

A Gathering of Angels – The Claire Wiche Chronicles Book 2 – is now available on Amazon , Barnes & Noble Nook, Kobo and Smashwords.

Price: $3.99

Other books by Cate Dean:

Rest for the Wicked – The Claire Wiche Chronicles Book 1

When Walls Can Talk – A Fantasy Novella

Last Chance Jack – A Fantasy Short Story

About Cate:

Cate Dean has been writing since she could hold a pen in her hand and put more than two words together on paper. She grew up losing herself in the wilds of fantasy worlds, and has had some of her own adventures while tromping through the UK, and a few other parts of the world. A lover of all things supernatural, she infuses that love into her stories, giving them a unique edge. When she’s not writing, she loves cooking, scaring herself silly in the local cemeteries, and reading pretty much anything she can get her hands on.

Connect with Cate here:

website: http://catedeanwrites.com

Facebook page: http://facebook.com/catedeanwrites.com

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/catedeanwrites.com

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5694181.Cate_Dean

Amazon Author Central:  http://amazon.com/author/catedean

***********************************

This is awesome, Cate! Thanks sooo much for sharing and treating our readers too!!!

Btw, I’m reading Book One, REST FOR THE WICKED now, and can’t put it down! What a fabulous story world you’ve created!!! 🙂

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

23 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean tells us What Happened When She Turned Real People into Characters and How It Changed Her Book

  1. Oh, i like the sound of this one! Sounds great!! You have my attention. Id loved to read this. Thanks for sharing! (I so love this site!) Im adding this to my wishlist. 🙂 Thank you! If im a winner, may i have it in kindle please? Thank you!! You all have a fantastic day!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. That’s a wonderful idea. I can’t wait to read this on my kindle, and to see how you fit the contest winners into the storyline.

    purpleunicorn19ATyahoo.com

  3. Great post! It will be interesting to see how you created the contest winners characters in the story line. I like reading how authors create their characters for their stories. Thanks for sharing this with us!
    beckyqward@gmail.com

    • Hi Rhonda! I stole – er, borrowed it from another author. 🙂 It was such a great experience, so I’m doing it again! Glad you enjoyed the first two books – won’t have to wait long for number 3, since it’s coming out around Halloween. 🙂 Thanks for coming by!
      ~Cate

  4. That’s such a great way to add rich characterisation 🙂
    I find it quite easy to write complex main characters but I know that some of my minor ones could do with some quirks to add layers.
    I might try your approach!
    Would love a Kindle copy to go with Rest for the Wicked…

  5. It was a blast! **waves** Hi, I’m Theresa, as in the person, and the character. Being a HUGE fan of Cate, I couldn’t resist the chance to be a part of her book. The only thing I asked was that in the book, she’d let me meet the man who stole my heart, which she totally delivered on! *Screaming girl fan* Anyway, I can’t wait for the next book to be released. The cover is AMAZING. 😀

  6. Pingback: RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean on “How a Character Can Change Everything” | The Reader's Guide to Epublishing

Leave a Reply

