RG2E Featured Author Dana Delamar talks “A New Kind of Mafia”

Happy Tuesday, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

Here’s a peek inside “A New Kind of Mafia” with RG2E Featured Author Dana Delamar.

Take it away, Dana…

Thanks for having me on the RG2E today, DeeDee!

Hi everyone, I’m Dana Delamar, and I write gritty, steamy romantic suspense. It took me a while to choose my genre; I tried writing contemporary romance first but soon realized that I wanted to meld my love of suspense and romance, so that led me to romantic suspense. However, I didn’t want to write a typical police procedural. I wanted to do something different. And I wanted a different sort of hero–someone who lives by his own rules, but who also tries to do the right thing in the end, even if his definition of the right thing doesn’t quite fit society’s expectations.

After picking Italy (my favorite country outside the U.S.) for my setting, the choice of a Mafia don as my hero came pretty quickly. Once that decision was made, I immediately started researching the Mafia, which is when I learned about a group I’d never heard of: the Calabrian Mafia (aka the ‘Ndrangheta, or “The Honored Society”), which is considered today to be the most powerful Mafia in Italy, possibly even the world.

These guys aren’t the Sicilian Mafia that we’re all familiar with from “The Godfather.” The ‘Ndrangheta (pronounced en DRANG eh tah) maintain a very low profile and extreme secrecy. And they do it by recruiting almost exclusively from within their blood families. Who’d be willing to rat on their own flesh and blood? No one, that’s who.

This decision to keep it all in the family has worked very, very well for the ‘Ndrangheta. Within the last decade or so, they’ve quickly risen to power and are estimated (as of 2007) to control roughly 3% of Italy’s GDP, or somewhere in the neighborhood of 44 billion euros.

Very bad boys with incredible wealth and power, who live in their own secret society? How could I pass that challenge up? And thus my current series, “Blood and Honor,” was born.

Book 1 of “Blood and Honor” is Revenge.

Here’s what it’s about:

A woman on the run. A damaged Mafia don. A rival bent on revenge…

Kate Andretti is married to the Mob–but doesn’t know it. When her husband uproots them to Italy, Kate leaves everything she knows behind. Alone in a foreign land, she finds herself locked in a battle for her life against a husband and a family who will “silence” her if she will not do as they wish. When her husband tries to kill her, she accepts the protection offered by a wealthy businessman with Mafia ties. He’s not a mobster, he claims. Or is he?

Enrico Lucchesi never wanted to be a Mafia don, and now he’s caught in the middle of a blood feud with the Andretti family. His decision to help Kate brings the feud between the families to a boil. When Enrico is betrayed by someone in his own family, the two of them must sort out enemies from friends–and rely on each other or die alone. The only problem? Enrico cannot reveal his identity to Kate, or she’ll bolt from his protection, and he’ll be duty-bound to kill her to safeguard his family’s secret.

Attacks from without and within push them both to the breaking point, and soon Enrico is forced to choose between protecting the only world he knows and saving the woman he loves.

Revenge received 5 stars and “Top Pick” status from TheRomanceReviews.com. Here’s what they had to say: “This story truly exceeded my expectations. Revenge is action packed, and when the pace picks up, it does not slow down…. Pick up this book today.”

120,000 words (approximately 300 pages)

Other books in the series: Retribution (Blood and Honor, #2)

Where can you buy RevengeAmazon (Kindle)Amazon (print)Amazon UK (Kindle)Amazon UK (print)AppleAREBarnes & NobleDieselKoboOmniLitSmashwordsSony 

*** Regularly $4.99, now on sale for .99 at most retailers***

Genres: Romantic suspense, mystery/thriller

Tags: romance, organized crime, mafia romance, romantic suspense, thriller, Italy, crime drama

About the Author

Dana Delamar is the author of the “Blood and Honor” romantic suspense series, which is set in Italy among the Calabrian Mafia. An avid traveler who loves to learn about different peoples and cultures, Dana often sets her books in exotic locales. She grew up in the Midwest and Pacific Northwest, and today makes Seattle her home. She’s an omnivorous reader with overflowing bookshelves, a passionate love of “Supernatural,” “Firefly,” “True Blood,” “Mad Men,” and a zillion other TV shows. Where she finds the time to sleep is a mystery.

I love hearing from readers! You can connect with me at:

DanaDelamar.com    Twitter     Facebook     Goodreads    Pinterest 

I’m giving away 15 ebooks of Revenge to RG2e readers! To win one, comment below and indicate which retailer you’d like to receive your gift from.

Two lucky winners will also receive a swag pack from me that contains “Blood and Honor” romance trading cards, postcards for the ebooks, and bookmarks!

*******************************

Terrific scoop here, Dana! I’m downloading this one right now!!!  Thanks bunches for treating our RG2E Peeps! U rock!!!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

23 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Dana Delamar talks “A New Kind of Mafia”

  1. Hi Dana! I enjoyed reading your post. Romantic Suspense is my favorite genre and Revenge sounds like a really good story. I would love the chance to read it for Amazon Kindle. Thanks for chance of winning a copy.

  2. Great interview…
    The book sounds like an awesome read. Kindle is the reader i have.
    Thanks for the chance of getting a good book…

    caiidynsmommie(at)gmail(dot)com

  3. Hi Dana, I enjoyed your post! I have read both, Revenge and just finished Retribution! I loved them both and could not put them down! I would highly recommend them to anyone! I am anxiously awaiting the next in the series:) Not only are both books great love stories but so action packed I turned page after page because I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen next! Hope everyone has a safe and Happy Halloween!

  4. Dana, I’d love a copy for my Kindle. My email is: Jbruno999@aol.com.

    I specialize in true crime non-fiction. I grew up and lived in Manhattan’s Little Italy for 48 years where there are more Mafioso per square inch than any place in the world, including Sicily.Now Little Italy is all Chinese, and the head of the Mafia is Dum Luck.:) Only kidding!!!

  5. Hi! This sounds so good! Love it! I cant wait to read more. Id love to have a kindle copy please if i win one. Thank you so much!! You all have a fantastic day! If your in the path of Sandy, stay safe! Ya all are in my thoughts.
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Hi Shadow! I’ve got family on the east coast, so I’ve been glued to CNN all day. Fortunately, my family is still doing okay, but man, the destruction! I can’t believe what’s happened to the Jersey shore.

      Thanks for stopping by and entering to win! 🙂

Leave a Reply

