RG2E Featured Author Lily Silver – aka Dark Lily – talks Halloween and Middle-Age Goth

Happy Halloween, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

We’ve got a Halloween treat for you today with RG2E Featured Author Lily Silver, who’s also known as Dark Lily.

Lily’s Favorite Quote:

“I believe–I know that ghosts have wandered the earth. Be with me always–take any form–drive me mad. Only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you! Oh, God! It is unutterable! I cannot live without my life! I cannot live without my soul! [Lily’s note: his ‘life & soul’ being Cathy!]” Heathcliff, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.

Take it away, Dark Lily…

I love Halloween.  To me, it’s the most wonderful time of the year. It’s the one time when the real me can emerge without the raised eyebrows and gaping stares. Why, you may ask would this be? Well, dear reader, I’m sort of a middle aged Goth. My license plate says DRKLILY. That’s Dark Lily phonetically. I get a lot of questions on that, with people seeing everything in the letters from Drunk Lily to Dr. Klily. I look at it this way, it works like an ink block; people see what they want to. Most get it, Dark Lily. But every so often someone tells me how much they love my ‘drunk lily’ vanity plate and I have to shake my head and wonder about them.

As a child, my TV heroines were Morticia Addams and Lily Munster.

I thought these ladies were so elegant in their long black hair and flowing gowns. I loved the Gothic feel of those shows, the dark atmosphere coupled with the extreme campiness.  I secretly wished I could have lived in that world growing up. When Anne Rice’s novel, Interview with the Vampire was first released I devoured it at the tender age sixteen (more than a few decades before the Twilight craze) and I fell in love with Louis, the tortured, angst ridden vampire protagonist. I since went on to discover Mr. Rochester of Jane Eyre fame and Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights, although I have some problems with Heathcliff’s innate cruelty, I still could not forget his dark devotion to Cathy in life and death. [see quote at top]

My Gothic Romance: When I wrote the novel of my heart, Dark Hero, several years ago, I had a lot to live up to when it came to tortured heroes who were devoted to their ladies. Dark Hero is a Gothic Romance. Imagine a kinder, gentler Heathcliff falls in love with The Ghost Whisperer. The hero is tortured, angst ridden and tends to like to hide behind masks–both literal and metaphorical–as he uses false identities to insulate himself from the world. As a scientist and a former pirate, he uses both his wit and his physical strength to win the battle.

Dark Hero is also a historical romance, so I can get away with the swashbuckling pirate who dissects corpses for scientific research (a little Dr. Frankenstein thrown in). The Heroine has inherited the gift of the seer. She can see and speak with the dead. The females in her family were powerful in the magical arts, but she’s trying to ignore that unconventional inherited quirk and just be ‘normal’ like everyone else. These quirks give her trouble with the hero, as he’s a stickler for logic and reason. I placed the pair in a neglected manor house with plenty of ghosts–one who is becoming increasingly violent toward the heroine. So Dark Hero is also a paranormal romance as there is a strong supernatural element in play. The key to the heroine’s release from the haunting and the evil stalking her is within herself, but she’s afraid to tap into her dark side and use the magical powers within her and set herself free–kind of like the rest of us.

Did I mention that I love Halloween? It’s the time of year to celebrate the dark side of life. Television features all those great horror flicks from the past decades and newer ones to tempt our palate. I can put fake tombstones and ghosts up on the front lawn, hang plastic pirate skeletons from the porch. I can play a CD of creepy organ music as I dress in black and quietly sip a Bat Bite out of a silver chalice and hand out goodies to the kids brave enough to dress up as their favorite fantasy character for one day out of the year!

Me, I’ll be dressed as Dark Lily, distant cousin of Morticia Addams, of course.

I write historical romance, and so I really want to know what touches reader’s hearts when it comes to a romance hero. It’s your turn! What do you like in a romance hero? What don’t you like? I’d like to know either way, as a writer I want to create heroes that are swoon worthy and satisfying for the reader. Share it with me and be entered in to win a copy of Dark Hero, A Gothic Romance. I’m giving away ten of them in e-book form as a super Halloween Treat.

Dark Hero is the first in the Reluctant Heroes series. Book Two, Bright Scoundrel, will be released in December of 2012, and Book Three, Gallant Rogue will be released in 2013.

Thanks to the wonderful and fun folks at RG2E for letting me share my dark side with you on Halloween. Happy Haunting every one: may all your supernatural encounters be pleasant!

Links for DARK HERO ($2.99):

Amazon: http://amzn.to/Vq6W4e

Nook: 
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dark-hero-a-gothic-romance-lily-silver/1113027240?ean=2940014522441

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/148132

Sony: 
http://ebookstore.sony.com/ebook/lily-silver/dark-hero/_/R-400000000000000683950

Connect with Lily here:

Website:  http://lilysilver.webs.com/

Blogs: http://romancinghistorylove.blogspot.com/

 http://strictlygothic.blogspot.com/

Facebook:  Lily Silver, Author

Twitter:  Lily Silver @timeless_lovers

***********************************

What a wonderful Halloween post and superfab treats too, Lily! Thanks sooo very much for sharin’ the luuuvvv here at The RG2E!

The Best of RG2E Ereading and Halloween Wishes —

D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

 

12 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Lily Silver – aka Dark Lily – talks Halloween and Middle-Age Goth

  1. Great post! I like to my romance hero to have a complicated personality, but to also be handsome, caring, brave, daring, creative and intelligent. Dark Hero sounds like a very good read.

    • Hi Becky, thanks for stopping in to share your ideas. You’re idea of a hero is yummy, complicated, but still caring and intelligent gets me every time.
      Happy Hauntings with the Ghoul of your dreams.

  2. LOVE that picture of you in the cemetery, Lily! I like a romance hero who is strong when he needs to be, but tender at just the right moments. (I’ve already got your book, so don’t enter me in the drawing)

    Happy Halloween!

    • Hi Natalie! Thanks for visiting. yes, my photography class self portrait from college a few years back. Photoshop does wonders, as I put my nickname on the tombstone digitally. Have wonderfully creepy Halloween.

  3. Great post, Lily! And great pic at the cemetery. I like alpha heroes – strong and smart, yet with a good heart and gentle when he needs to be. Dark hero sounds like a great read! I love paranormal.

Leave a Reply

