RG2E Featured Author Christy Hayes talks Building the Foundation for an Ebook Series

TGIF, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

Have you ever wondered how the Foundation of an Ebook Series is Built?

Here’s RG2E Featured Author Christy Hayes to tell you about her process. Take it away, Christy…

I’m currently working hard to complete my romantic women’s fiction work in progress titled Mending the Line. MTL is book one in my three book Golden Outfitter series and I hope to have it on sale by the end of the year.

I’ve never written a series before and I’m having a lot of fun plotting out things in advance and planting seeds of conflict that will be resolved in books two and three. This is uncharted territory for me as I’m not a plotter and keeping track of the threads has been a real challenge. For the first time ever, I’ve bought a whiteboard and am using it as a visual aid for details I’m going to need to reference through each book.

Why am I telling you this? The book I’m giving away today, Shoe Strings, is the foundation of the series. Shoe Strings is the dual love story of Jesse and Angelita and Kerry Ann and Bryce.

Here’s a short synopsis:

After being hounded by her estranged father just as her boutique shoe business is taking off, Atlanta’s Angelita Barros heads for the mountains of North Carolina where she couldn’t be a bigger fish out of water. The cabin she rents is perfect, but one look at the owner’s son and Angelita’s in lust big time. She finds resisting the charming Jesse Bloodworth as difficult as maneuvering small town life in her custom made stilettos. Jesse has spent years rebuilding his relationship with his teenaged son and ex-wife after running out on them eleven years ago. But his dad’s not so quick to forgive and forget. The water under the bridge becomes mighty choppy when beautiful Angelita walks into their lives. Jesse’s ex, Kerri Ann, is a far cry from where she thought she’d be in life. Even before she got pregnant with Ty, things between her and Jesse had faltered, and there was only one person to blame: Bryce Jenson. Kerri Ann never expected her long-ago crush to settle back into Sequoyah Falls to practice law. Hell, no one did. Bryce had his reasons for returning home and Kerri Ann was at the very top. They seem destined to remain just friends, until Angelita comes to town and stirs everything up. As Angelita and Jesse embark on a relationship, her father’s demands become threats and she’s forced back to Atlanta. Jesse’s attempt to save her uncovers more of her past than he bargained for. Will Angelita’s prince charming come to her rescue or does Jesse’s love come with Shoe Strings attached?

Jesse and Kerry Ann are the parents of Ty Bloodworth, the main character in Mending the Line. In Shoe Strings, Ty is only a teenager. In Mending the Line, he’s all grown up and searching for love in south central Colorado.

SHOE STRINGS is available here ($2.99):

Amazon

B&N Nook

Kobo

Smashwords

South central Colorado? That’s the setting of my free book, Dodge the Bullet. One of the sons in DTB is also featured in both books one and two of this series. I’m having so much fun incorporating characters from my older books into the new series. I get to revisit the families from Shoe Strings and Dodge the Bullet while creating new love stories in the process.

As a reader, I love series books. I’m a rabid Nora Roberts fan and I can’t wait for the last in her latest series to be available for purchase. I’m not sure why I never tried writing a series before, but now that I have, I may never write a stand-alone again! I hope you enjoy Shoe Strings and look forward to reading more in the upcoming Mending the Line.

About Christy:

My husband and I live outside Atlanta, Georgia, with our two children and two dogs.  I have a journalism degree from the University of Georgia (Go Dawgs!) and I’m a member of Atlanta Writers Club, the Romance Writers of America, Georgia Romance Writers and the Women’s Fiction Chapter of Romance Writers of America.  I’ve been writing seriously since 2004 and made the decision to indie publish in 2011.
Many people have helped me along my path to publication including my wonderful critique partners Laura Butler, Susan Sands, Tracy Solheim, Kate Bowman and Lourdes Esquilin.  I’ve had valuable input from professional editors Lisa Hazard (hazardediting.blogspot.com), Cassie Robertson, Susan Snowden, and Peter Gelfan.  My author photo was taken by my friend and talented photographer Jane Dowd (janedowdphotography.com).  My website was designed and is maintained by Lisa Bailey (www.lionstarcreativegroup.com).

Connect with Christy here:

Website: http://www.christyhayes.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/@SeaHayes

****************************

Interesting scoop, Christy, and wow does your series sound terrific!!! Thanks Bunches for sharing with us!!!

Now then, RG2E Peeps, let us know below if you’d like an Ebook Gift Copy of SHOE STRINGS, and you just might win one from Christy! Also, be sure to download her FREE Ebook, DODGE THE BULLET!!!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

11 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Christy Hayes talks Building the Foundation for an Ebook Series

  1. I love reading series. I would love to have a copy of “Shoe Strings” for Amazon Kindle. I have downloaded “Dodge the Bullet” already. Thanks!

  2. I always get hooked in series:) Nora Roberts is one of my of favorites as well, I love her books! Shoe String sounds like a great read, I would love a copy for my nook please!

  3. I would love a copy of Shoe Strings for Kindle. I’m definitely a series junkie and can’t wait to start another one.

  4. I like writing series, too. I think it stems from reading series when I was a child, and liked the continuation of characters and their lives. I love Nora Roberts, too.

  5. Great post.
    I enjoy reading book series,. It is fun to follow the story and see what everyone is up to.
    I have enjoyed many of your books to date.
    I would love to havve a copy of Shoe Strings for Kindle please.
    Thank you so much.

  6. I would love a copy of your e book Shoe Strings for my kindle fire. I must confess I am a series junkie as well. Wonderful post.

  7. This sounds great! Like others, i love series. Definitely have some reading to do! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! If your still giving out copies, id love a kindle copy please. Thank you!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

