RG2E Featured Author Janet Wellington talks Cats and Italy

Happy Sunday, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

Who loves Cats…and Italy too?! RG2E Featured Author Janet Wellington does, and here’s the scoop…

Take it away, Janet…

*****************************

It’s so great to be here today–I’m just home from a trip to Matera, Italy … the second oldest continually inhabited city in the world…

Janet Wellington in Matera, Italy

…where I joined authors Mary Leo and Nina Bruhns on a panel at the Women’s Fiction Festival.  We spoke on the topic “From Legacy to Indie” — our personal journeys from print publishing to the exciting world of ebooks!

So, yes, I have been published in print with major publishers in the past but have happily detoured off that bumpy road and am now traveling the amazing and winding road of ebooks! It’s been a quite a learning process for me because I chose the DIY way, which I talked about at the workshop in Italy–I designed my own cover and did my own formatting and put up the ebook at Amazon. All my hard work has paid off and my first ebook was launched in September (with several others in the works!).

You can read more about HOMECOMING at the end of this post and leave a comment in order to be in the drawing to win one of 10 Kindle copies…but I wanted to take this space to share with you a magical side trip I had when I was in Italy….

In HOMECOMING, a reunion romance set in a small Wisconsin town, there are 9 cats featured–all with just as much personality as the main characters, thank you very much…

Okay, I’ll admit it…I’m a cat nut enthusiast…I’m a sucker for any email, YouTube video, greeting card–you name it!  If there’s a cat in it, I’m there!!  I’ve always had cats (an early memory is, dare I say it, dressing kittens in my doll’s clothes!). Currently, two very persnickety, once-feral and now rescued cats own me (one’s in my lap as I write this, which is typical when I’m typing away at the keyboard as I become his captive pet-slave).

So, as I was researching for my trip to Italy I began seeing references to the many feral cats in Rome, where I would be spending my last four days before coming home…and then I discovered the Torre Argentina Cat Sanctuary, a no-kill shelter in Rome for homeless cats.

The sanctuary is located at the site of Largo di Torre Argentina, an excavated historical site of ruins of four Roman temples and the remains of Pompey’s Theatre, located in the ancient Campus Martius.

A glimpse of the ruins near the cat sanctuary in Rome

Below is a short YouTube video on the cat sanctuary “where 200-plus cats are cared for by dedicated volunteers. The Cat Sanctuary is located a few minutes from the Colosseum, the Pantheon and the Roman Forum.”

Needless to say, I walked around the ruins taking photos of the wandering cats and spent some quality time in the gift shop, dropping a few Euros there for the sake of the cats. I also visited the “special needs” area inside the shelter where a couple was considering adoption.

Inside the “special needs” area of the cat sanctuary

From their website:

As you know Torre Argentina is a unique experiment, in a country which does not allow killing animals in shelters: our work in spreading the knowledge and conviction that by spaying and neutering we could help reduce the number of strays and go towards the goal of every cat born is a cat with a home and a family.

I have to admit when people ask me to name a favorite part of my amazing trip to Italy, I always always always talk about finding the cat sanctuary in Rome.

Here are some photos I took of cats among the ruins….enjoy and I hope you’ll take a peek at Torre Argentina Roman Cat Sanctuary for more information and lend some support if you can so they can continue to do the work they do.

AND If you’re in the mood for more cats, I hope you’ll take a look at my debut ebook, HOMECOMING:

Cory Wells-Richards left her cheating husband behind and headed straight back to tiny Faythe, Wisconsin, eager to create a new future for herself. First order of business, keep her promise to a dear friend and finish the renovation on the Victorian for dearly departed Tillie and find homes for her nine cats. How tough could that be? But when Tillie’s great-nephew shows up to help, it’s all she can do not to fall right back into his arms. She’s been down that heartbreak road with him before, and coming off her recent divorce she’s determined to guard her heart, no matter how sexy he looks with a hammer in his hand and his shirt off.

Jake is caught between a rock and a hard place. Well, between his party-hearty, successful big city life in Chicago and the sleepy hometown he was glad to see in his rear-view mirror at the tender age of 18. He plans to fulfill his promise to Tillie and help restore her house to get it ready to sell, then return to his comfortable life in Chicago. But how is he supposed to get any work done with pretty little Cory around doing her best to drive him crazy? Being in Faythe rekindles all those long forgotten memories, some bad and some good–including his desire for Cory, the one girl he couldn’t have.

As the sexual tension between Cory and Jake heightens and their emotional connection strengthens, will they let down their barriers long enough to find true love, or will the pain of the past keep them apart forever?

Published by Grantitude Press, where every book includes a donation (10% of royalties) by the author to a designated charity. For HOMECOMING, the designated charity is Halo Pet Foundation, sponsor of FreeKibbleKat. Halo Pet Foundation helps feed shelter cats–go to their site, play a trivia game and help feed cats at many shelters throughout the country! 

You can read the  first chapter  of HOMECOMING on my website (www.janetwellington.com/) and see if you’d like to buy it (or try to win one by commenting on this blog post!).  Each of my books is set up to support a designated charity with 10% of my royalties being given–HOMECOMING’s designated charity is FreeKibbleKat, where playing a fun trivia game results in free kibble for cats!

From the site: “Right or wrong, you win! Click on an answer, and every day you do, we’ll provide 10 pieces of kibble to Animal Shelters to help feed their hungry cats. Play Meow Trivia every day – the more you play, the more kibble for the cats!”

Janet Wellington (www.janetwellington.com/), lives in Oregon with her husband, her 88-years-young mother, and two persnickety rescued cats. She’s a longtime member of Romance Writers of America and was first print-published in 1998. Now she’s happily joined the world of indie publishing with her first ebook, with many more in the works. Besides writing, Janet teaches writing classes online, speaks at writing conferences (most recently at the Women’s Fiction Festival in Matera, Italy!!), and does independent editing for published and not-yet-published writers. She loves hearing from readers. If you’d like to suggest a charity for an upcoming ebook, or to be notified when her next romance ebook is available–as well as her pictorial “Cats of Italy” project to support the Torre Argentina Roman Cat Sanctuary–write to her at: mail@janetwellington.com

Janet’s debut ebook, HOMECOMING, is available from Grantitude Press “Where Every Book Includes a Gift” at  http://www.amazon.com/HOMECOMING-ebook/dp/B00957XZFG

*********************************

Fabulous post, Janet! Thanks sooo much for sharing your book and passions with us! And thanks too for treating our RG2E Readers to Ebook Gift Copies! U rock!!! 🙂

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

20 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Janet Wellington talks Cats and Italy

  1. What passion! It is obvious you live that passion daily.
    I would love a copy of Homecoming for my Kindle.
    Thank you for the opportunity.

    • Hi, Barbara: thanks for posting–yah, I’m nuts about cats…always have been! I can’t even imagine living without one around, can you? Good luck in the drawing!

  2. This sounds great!! Id love to read it! Thank you for sharing! If your still giving out copies, may i have one for kindle please? Thank you!! Ya all have a fantastic night!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  3. I can remember reading at a young age with a cat in my lap. I have always been a cat lover. I loved Italy, as well. I did have a chance to visit a few cities there about 10 years ago.

    I would really like to have a Kindle copy of Homecoming, please!

    • Hi, redkattan: thanks for stopping by…hope seeing the cats of Rome brought back some nice memories of Italy for you!

  4. Great post! I think that is a great thing they are doing in Italy with The Cat Sanctuary in Rome. Thanks for sharing this with us. I will have to go to FreeKibbleKat site and play their trivia game again. I use to play it everyday, but it has been a while since I’ve been there. I would love to a copy of “Homecoming” for Amazon Kindle. Thanks!

    • Hi, Becky: thanks for reading, and, yes, try to get in the habit of playing FreeKibble everyday…it makes a difference…. Good luck in the drawing!

  5. So jealous that you got to attend that conference! I’ve heard great things. Too bad I couldn’t fit in your suitcase on the way there. Are you sure you didn’t sneak a cat back with you on the way back? 🙂 You’ve got me curious now–Rio de Janeiro is home to many thousands of feral cats, and I’ve heard other South American cities are too. Wonder if they have one? The cool thing is that the ones in Rome get to hang out and look picturesque among the ruins! Great cause, and love that your publisher is donating to special causes! I can’t wait to read Homecoming–already got a Kindle copy for my phone. Been too long since I’ve read a Janet Wellington book, print or otherwise! 🙂

    • Hi, dancingdeb: Thanks for all your kind words and the purchase!! Hope you enjoy it….I had such fun working out the characterization for each cat in the story. Yes, the cats at the ruins are chubby and well-cared for due to countless volunteers and non-stop gathering of funds. The organization is fighting to stay where they are, right now, and making some headway…so I’ll be pleased to be able to lend my support via 10% of royalties from sales of the upcoming ebook CATS OF ITALY. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

