RG2E Featured Author Linsey Lanier on Character Growth and Smart Mouth Heroines

Happy Monday, RG2E Peeps!

I know we’ve got a lot of you who enjoy Smart Mouth Heroines, just like I do! So, here’s RG2E Featured Author Linsey Lanier to tell you about the one she created.

Take it away, Linsey…

Hello RG2E readers! And a big thanks to D.D. Scott for having me here today. This is my first time on RG2E and I’m so excited.

My name is Linsey Lanier and I write the Miranda’s Rights Mystery Series. While I’ve always had a soft spot for romance, the first time I read a Robert B Parker novel, I was hooked on mysteries as well. I suddenly had a burning desire to create a female character as snarky as Spenser. I also wanted a mystery with a good bit of romance.

Thus Miranda Steele was born. Of course, a smart mouth isn’t always acceptable for a woman, so I gave Miranda a horrendous past to justify her attitude.

In the first book in the series, Someone Else’s Daughter, Miranda’s convinced she’s overcome her past, but she really hasn’t. I discovered she’ll need several books to do that.

One of the most challenging parts of writing a novel is dealing with the growth of your characters. With the Miranda’s Rights Mystery Series, I’ve learned it’s even more challenging with a series of books. With each book, characters have to face new obstacles and grow a little more.

So I thought I’d tell you about Miranda and Wade Parker, the sexy southern gentlemen-detective hero of the books, and their journeys.

Miranda Steele
A woman can never make herself too tough, too strong or too street smart.

Miranda Steele (who is more like a female anti-heroine in the first book) has been through the wringer. Thirteen years ago she was married to an abusive psychopath who stole her only child from her.

Miranda’s reaction to what happened to her was to make herself as tough and as strong as she could—including taking martial arts classes and working construction jobs with men—and to search for her daughter. In chapter one of Someone Else’s Daughter, Miranda has searched for her child unsuccessfully for thirteen years. When she meets ace investigator Wade Parker, she has a chip on her shoulder the size of Milwaukee.

That’s one reason she doesn’t believe him when he offers to try to find her daughter. Or when he offers her a job as a trainee at the Parker Investigative Agency. Or when he offers her his heart. She has trouble believing anyone like Parker could care for her. And yet the new job gives her a sense of purpose she’s never known before. It invigorates her, makes her feel alive.

And so does Parker.

Wade Parker
His calling was spawned by a deep, shadowy need, a dark episode from his past that  plunged him into a career both his father and grandfather disapproved of.

The hero of the series, Wade Russell Parker III, is Atlanta’s most eligible forty-four-year-old bachelor. Though born into the wealthy Parker family, he’s gone his own way to become an ace investigator and CEO of the ultra-successful Parker Agency.

Three years ago, Parker lost his wife to ovarian cancer and thought he could never love again. Until he met Miranda Steele.

One look at her trim, lean body, her shapely backside, those those lush, deep blue eyes fringed with the blackest of lashes, and a raw, primal desire ripples through him that takes him aback.

Never in his life has he known such a woman. With her stubborn tenacity, her nose for trouble, her uncanny ability to get herself into the thick of danger, she puts him through the gamut of emotions from terror to despair. And yet, he can’t stop admiring that irascible spirit, that strength of will, that need to defend the defenseless, to avenge the innocent. They are kindred spirits.

And though she makes him face not only his weaknesses, but his own dark past, the undeniable bond between them grows stronger every day.

One day she’ll be his.

As a reader, what do you think of mysteries? Do you like romance in your mysteries? Do you like a strong heroine?

Today Im gifting twenty copies of Someone Elses Daughter via Smashwords. 

Current Price: $0.99

Available on Amazon , B&N Nook and Smashwords

In a ritzy subdivision outside Atlanta, a serial killer is targeting thirteen-year-old girls, and smart-talking, pepper-eating Miranda Steele gets caught up in the investigation. Thirteen years ago, her abusive husband gave her baby up for adoption. Now Miranda has a letter written by a girl who claims she’s adopted. Is this her long lost child?

Or is she someone else’s daughter?

About Linsey:

Linsey Lanier is the author of a dozen novels and several short stories. She writes romantic mystery-suspense books, humorous romantic fantasy, and romance—with a dash of sass.

She has lived all over the country but currently resides in Georgia with her loving husband and several dozen yard squirrels.

Connect with Linsey here:

Linsey’s website

Linsey’s blog

Linsey on Twitter

Linsey on Facebook

*************************

I always luuuvvv hearin’ about fellow smart-mouthed heroines! Your Miranda sounds like my kinda gal!!!

Thanks sooo much for the fun post and for the Ebook Gift Copies too!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

23 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Linsey Lanier on Character Growth and Smart Mouth Heroines

  1. Great post! I love reading mysteries and suspense novels. I also love reading them if romance is added to the story. I would love to have a copy of Someone Else’s Daughter . Thanks for sharing this with us!
    beckyqward@gmail.com

  2. Linsey, your book sounds awesome; I love a smart-mouth dame myself. “Someone Else’s Daughter” is going to the top of my TBR pile. However, if you see fit, you can definitely send me a free copy!

    Thanks!

    Angelyn

  3. What a nice introduction to your characters, Linsey. I gotta have romance with my mystery, but Someone Else’s Daughter is already in my TBR pile. I’ll have to shove it a little closer to the top and start enjoying Miranda’s journey. You mentioned this was a series. Are there other books that follow SED?

  4. I love mystery/ suspence that have romantic aspect to the story as well! This series sounds excellent I have added them To my TBR list! I followed your blog as well as friended you! I eould love to have a copy of Someone Else’s Daughter for my nook!
    allysonbrann06(at)yahoo.com

  5. Hi Carol. Thanks for the comment. I do hope you’ll get to SED soon. And there are five books planned for the series. Three are out now. Here’s a list of them all with the planned release dates.

    Someone Else’s Daughter – Book I
    Delicious Torment – Book II
    Forever Mine – Book III
    Fire Dancer – Book IV (April, 2013)
    Thin Ice – Book V (September, 2013)

Leave a Reply

