RG2E Featured Author Nina Croft on “Mixing Up the Monsters”

Happy Hump Day, RG2E Peeps!

Nothin’ like a little Monster Mash-up for our Hump Day this week! Here’s the scoop from RG2E Featured Author Nina Croft

Last time I was here, I talked about crossing genres and even mixing them up. Today I’m going to talk about mixing things up within the genre, namely mixing up my monsters.

I write mainly paranormal romance, and I’m interested to know whether readers prefer to stick to one type of supernatural being or whether they like a bit of variety. My characters vary from vampires, werewolves to witches and fae. And most of my stories are populated by a whole mixture of supernatural beings.

Today, I’m Ebook Gifting Five Copies of Bound to Moonlight, book 2 in my Sisters of the Moon series (though it is also a stand-alone romance.) The series focuses on a pack of werewolves, but book one, Bound to Night, has a vampire hero (my personal favorite supernatural creature) whereas in book 2, the hero, Sebastian Quinn, is an alpha werewolf.

My love of the paranormal probably started with Anne Rice’s Interview with a Vampire, and since then, I’ve never been able to shake my obsession with that particular creature of the night. And I’m sure that a lot of people, like me, have a preference. Some maybe won’t pick up a book unless it has a vampire, others a werewolf, whereas some are more open and just like the paranormal aspect of the romance…

To me, it makes sense that people would have preferences, there are loads of differences between vampires and werewolves—one’s dead and the other alive, werewolves are way more hairy, and a lot more hot blooded, vamps drink blood, weres like to sink their teeth into a nice bit of….

But for me, the biggest difference between vampires and werewolves is that vampires are loners, and werewolves are pack animals, and that completely changes the way they react to different situations. Vampires are dark and they’re dangerous with a hint of evil. For me, they are the ultimate bad boys. And they hunt alone.

Werewolves on the other hand might have an aggressive streak, and love to fight, but they are not fundamentally evil (unless of course they were evil before they were changed). An alpha werewolf has to be strong, and a brilliant fighter, but his biggest motivation is protecting his pack (unlike a vampire whose biggest motivation is protecting himself).

So, for a chance to win an Ebook Gift Copy of Bound to Moonlight, just let me know—do you like a particular kind of supernatural being in your stories or do you like variety, and which would you rather snuggle up to—a vampire, a werewolf or something else entirely?

About Bound to Moonlight: 

Anya, a powerful telepath, has always believed she worked for the good guys–the organization that created her, trained her, and turned her into the ultimate weapon. Her most recent assignment: to assassinate the head of a group of mercenaries. The very man she believes is responsible for the death of her sister.

Investigating the disappearance of three pack members, Alpha werewolf, Sebastian Quinn, finds himself under the scrutiny of a deadly group, The Agency. Targeted by their assassin, he must now fight to save his own life.

Captured and held by the charismatic werewolf, Anya feels the stirrings of passion. For the first time, there is something beyond duty. Now she is faced with a choice — complete her assigned mission or risk everything she has ever known for a chance at love.

Available on Amazon .

About Nina: 

Nina Croft grew up in the north of England. After training as an accountant, she spent four years working as a volunteer in Zambia, which left her with a love of the sun and a dislike of 9-5 work. She then spent a number of years mixing travel (whenever possible) with work (whenever necessary) but has now settled down to a life of writing and picking almonds on a remote farm in the mountains of southern Spain.

Nina writes all types of romance often mixed with elements of the paranormal and science fiction.

Connect with Nina here:

Website

Twitter

Facebook

*************************

I like all kinds of paranormal creatures, Nina! In fact, I’m just getting into the entire paranormal experience…I started with witches and vampires and am now meeting all kinds of wonderful beings!!!  So, it’s definitely a Mash-Up vote for me!

Thanks sooo much for sharing with us today and for the Ebook Gift Copies too!!!  Superfab fun!!!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

15 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Nina Croft on “Mixing Up the Monsters”

  1. Interesting question. I think I prefer men and women with magical powers rather than vampires etc. Maybe something fae. I have in mind a series about a group of women who have different magical powers and they use them to help others.

    • Hi jadwriter, I’ve just written one about a witch, who was basically pretty normal apart from the witch bit – I really enjoyed writing it – the contrast between trying for a normal life and the magical stuff was really interesting for me.

  2. I like a variety of supernatural beings in my stories when I read them. Werewolves and vampires tend to be my favorite, but I enjoy reading any story that has a supernatural being in it. I would love to win a copy of Bound to Moonlight, for Kindle. Thanks.

  3. I definitely love a mash up! You got me thinking about when I started a supernatural/paranormal journey. Had to have been waaaaaaaay back with the original Dark Shadows. I remember writing a story about a gypsy werewolf named Magda. 🙂

  4. I like a variety in my reads… But I do love werewolves. big cats and bears…These three seem to be the most protective… If I had to choose one to suggle with, ooh that’s hard…
    It would be a toss up between the werewolf and a big cat…

    caiidynsmommie@gmail.com

  5. I love all kinds of paranormal romance. A werewolf would be a perfect match for me. I’m always cold so he would definitely keep me warm. However, I’m not much of a people person so maybe a vampire would make a good match, but then I’d be colder all the time. Plus I love the magic of the witches and te Fae. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to be able to do magic? I would love to read Bound To Moonlight on Kindle.

  6. I prefer a variety from sorcerers to vamps and pretty much everything inbetween. Either Sorcerers or Weres are my favorites though the right vampire can make me make exceptions, lol. I’d love a copy of Bound To Moonlight in Kindle format if chosen. Thanks.

  7. Sounds to me as if I’m in line with most commentors – I like to read and write the whole range of paranormals. I’ve written epic fantasy with a half-elven spy and a werepanther, and just finished writing an urban fantasy with a vampire, a magician, a coven of witches and a couple of elementals. Have to say one of my fav reads is Richelle Mead’s Succubus series. If it’s paranormal, it’s to my taste 🙂
    Would love to read Bound to Moonlight, it sounds right up my street.

  8. This sounds like a great book! Thanks for sharing! I like a variety of paranormal creatures. I find them fascinating! Though i adore shifters! There my favorite! Cant enough of them. lol If your still giving out copies, id love one please for kindle. Thank you!!
    shadowluvs2read@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

