RG2E Featured Author Fabio Bueno on “Book Series – How Do You Read Them?”

Happy Monday, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

We talk a bunch about Book Series…so here’s RG2E Featured Author Fabio Bueno on “Book Series – How Do You Read Them?”

I was telling a friend about a YA series I had read recently—all four titles in a row.

“Seriously?” She asked. “Don’t you get bored reading about the same characters for thousands of pages?”

She proceeded to tell me that she reads one or a couple of books from one series, then goes on to another series, and another, and so on, until she feels like returning to the next book in the first series. This way, she assured me, she doesn’t get bored. And every time she returns to the next book in a favorite series, it’s as if she’s reading something new.

I’m a methodical person. Once I love a book, I want to read all books in a series right away. If I don’t, it feels like I’m missing out. I read The Golden Compass books back-to-back-to-back, for example. But sometimes we have to wait for the next installment. When I started reading Harry Potter, only the first three books were available. Waiting for the next ones to be released wasn’t easy.

It got me thinking about book series in general. After all, my book, Wicked Sense, is the first one in the Singularity Series.

Would you consider start reading a series with any book besides the first? Some series are designed so the installments can be read stand-alone—in this case, the author recaps the main plot and character points in each book, or the books has a “Previously On…” section.

But other series must be read in order—the plot essentially doesn’t end: since the story continues in the next books, some authors chose not to explain everything that happened in that book, or decide against wrapping up the story in book one. Those books end with major cliffhangers.

What if the latter books in a series are not as good as the first ones? Will people keep reading for completeness sake?

How do you read multiple book series? Do you have to finish one series before starting another? Have you ever started reading any other book in a series besides the first? Have you ever “abandoned” a series after a few books? Do you prefer cliffhangers or “closed story” books?

(Thanks for having me over at RG2E, Deedee!)

WICKED SENSE is on sale for 99 cents for a limited time (until November 21).

About Fabio:

Fabio writes Young Adult/Urban Fantasy/Paranormal novels. He resides in the Pacific Northwest with his wife and kids. When not writing or reading, he geeks out with family and friends, solidifies his reputation as the world’s slowest runner, and acts very snobbish about movies.

Blurb for Wicked Sense:

Witches inhabit our world, organized in covens and hiding behind a shroud of secrecy–the Veil.

Skye’s London coven sends her to Seattle’s Greenwood High to find the Singularity, an unusually gifted witch who may break the Veil and trigger a dangerous new era of witch-hunting. Things get complicated when Skye meets a charming new classmate, Drake. Skye’s job becomes even trickier when she clashes with Jane, an intimidating rival witch.

Drake falls for the mysterious Skye, but odd accidents, potion mix-ups, and the occasional brush with death kind of get in the way of romance. Once he discovers Skye is a witch, he goes to war for her, even though his only weapons are a nice set of abs and a sharp sense of humor.

Fighting off wicked Jane and the other dark forces hell-bent on seizing the Singularity’s immense power, Skye and Drake will risk everything to save the covens.

Going on a date has never been harder.

Available here (99 Cents till 11/21):

  • On Amazon (readers can also download a free sample for kindle and free kindle apps)
  • On Goodreads (free sample available in .epub format for most other e-readers)

Connect with Fabio here:

Who all would like an Ebook Gift Copy of WICKED SENSE? Let us know below, and you just might win one from Fabio!!!

*************************

Wicked Sense sounds wonderful, Fabio! I’m definitely one-click-buying this one!!!

Thanks bunches for sharing with us today and for the superfab Ebook Gift Copies too!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

9 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Fabio Bueno on “Book Series – How Do You Read Them?”

  1. Great post, Fabio. I love me a good series. There’s something that appeals to the whole collector/completionist/anal-retentive-freak in my soul about the idea of “got to collect them all!” Ever since I was a kid collecting comic books I’ve loved the idea of stories that go on and on and on.

    • I totally get you, Steve! Sometimes I too enter this Pokemon-state-of-mind, and I just must have all the items in a colection (albums, books).
      And your mention of comics reminded me that I’ve been reading Spider-Man, on and off, for almost two decades now… Wow. Never-ending stories can be great. 🙂

  2. If I buy a series then I make sure I have them all before I start reading them. But I tend to read a few other books in between say book 1 and book 2 and book 3 for variety, and not get bored with just one series. But I do have to read them in quick succession so I have the series premise still fresh in my mind.

  3. Pingback: A Celebration: RG2E, Authorgraph, a Playlist, and Wicked Sense for 99 Cents - Fabio Bueno, Author

  4. Hi, Fabio! Thanks for the post! Sometimes I read series straight through… other times not, especially when the second or third or 20th book isn’t out yet! But I typically do like to begin with book one! I have abandoned series, especially when the books begin to get too boring or repetitive. I’m a firm believer that each book in a series should be able to stand alone if it must. And at the end of a story, I like a solid conclusion that’s satisfying. That doesn’t mean everything in the overarching story has to be resolved… but I like a real ending that wraps up the immediate story and gives a bit of peace!

  5. Hi, Tamara! I feel the same way. I prefer that the main plot of a particular installment must be resolved, but the overarching story of the saga could continue in the next books (again, I come back to the Harry Potter books). It gives the reader a bit of closure AND a reason to keep reading the series. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

