RG2E Featured Author Laina Turner is Thankful for Her Mom’s Stories and Elvis Presley

Happy Hump Day, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!!!

Here’s a fascinating look at how RG2E Featured Author Laina Turner‘s mom and Elvis Presley inspired her Presley Thurman Mysteries.

Take it away, Laina…

Thanksgiving is a great time of year. We can all stuff our faces with too much food and not feel guilty about it. It’s also a time to give thanks. I have been watching all my friends on Facebook give their daily thanks and reflecting myself. One of the things I give thanks for is my love of reading and writing. Both my parents were avid readers and my mother, who was an English teacher, always had a dream of being a writer. She just didn’t have a lot of confidence (nor our great self pub opportunities) and until after her death I was unaware she had ever wrote anything.

After she passed away I was going through some of her things and came across a floppy disk (this was 11 years ago) labeled LaNita’s stories. On it I found several chapters of a book she had started. She read a lot of Harlequin romances and this book followed the same pattern. It was good content and I told myself then I would at some point have to find a way to incorporate some of her story into one of mine.

In my first series, The Presley Thurman mysteries, I used her main characters physical description for my main character, Presley Thurman. My mothers’ maiden name is Thurman and Presley comes from Elvis. My mothers’ favorite musician and she always claimed I was conceived after an Elvis concert. A fact I never thought much about until the other day when I went online and found out that yes indeed he had been in my parents town 9 months before I was born, but I digress.

The book I am promoting on the RG2E today is called, Athena’s Holiday. This is a holiday themed, short story, prequel to a new series I will be launching in 2013. Athena is the name of my mothers’ main character from her book. I was saving it for the right time. Now is the right time and while I hope you will enjoy the book I also ask you to thank those who inspire you to do great things. I know my mother inspired me and for that I am eternally grateful!

Thanks mom……I love you!!

RG2E Peeps, leave a comment to receive your free copy!

Athena’s Holiday – book blurb

Meet Athena Parks, thirty something law professor who on a whim invites a guy she just met, Tristan West, home with her for the holidays. As crazy as it might seem she was willing to risk him being an ax murder in order to have a buffer between her and her mom. They had that kind of relationship.

Things were going well and she couldn’t deny there was chemistry between them. Maybe this was a sign she had finally found a good guy. Until her uncle Peter recognized Tristan. Who wasn’t Tristan at all. Who was he?

On Amazon and Smashwords (99 Cents)

The Best of RG2E Holiday Wishes — Laina

Follow me at @lturnermolaski

Find me on my Facebook Fan Page Laina Turner

Visit my website www.lainaturner.com

Download my iPhone app

************************

What a fascinating and heart-warming connection between you, your mom and Elvis Presley! Luv it, Laina!

Thanks Bunches for sharing with us and for the Ebook Gift Copies too!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

9 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Laina Turner is Thankful for Her Mom’s Stories and Elvis Presley

  1. Good Morning Laina,
    I know how much you miss your mother!
    You had such a special connection and relationship.
    We are lucky to have had such great role models and inspiration in our lives.
    Best wishes to you and your family this Holiday season.
    I would love to read your story on Kindle.
    I think this would be a great start to my Holiday season.
    Best wishes for continued success, from an old friend, and co-worker.
    Barbara – bkg0605@aol.com

  2. I would love to have a copy for the Kindle. I think that is a fascinating connection between you, your mom and Elvis Presley!

  3. Thank you so much for sharing this with us! I’d love to read your book on my kindle. Thanks!
    bas1chsemail at gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

