RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean on “How a Character Can Change Everything”

Happy Black Friday, Peeps!

Here’s a superfab fun post to read while you’re waiting in checkout lines today… πŸ™‚

RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean on “How a Character Can Change Everything.”

Take it away, Cate…

If you were here for my last post, I talked about how adding two contest winners as characters changed the tone of the story. Dramatically.

In Carry On Wayward Son, Book 3 of The Claire Wiche Chronicles, it was a character I created that changed the story. But not only the story – this character changed the entire direction the series will take from this point.

Available for $3.99 at:

How did this happen? In one blinding flash of what I call my oh moment. As in β€œOh – how did I not see that coming?”

Like the other two books, I wrote this one at a fast pace, not reading it through completely until it came back from my first beta. But this time, I surprised myself. I knew the story – I made it up, after all. But this one character, a character who was supposed to disappear after the story ended, this character became – important.

So important, it affects the lives of every other character in the book, and changes Claire’s life.

It wasn’t planned, but I am stunned and thrilled it happened. Because that character sets them all on a path that I haven’t explored yet, similar to where I was headed with the series, but not the same. It is exciting, and more than a bit scary, but I am looking forward to finding out what happens on that new path.

I hope you all come along with me.

Thanks for hanging out today – and to say thank you, I will be giving away 10 copies of A Gathering of Angels and Carry On Wayward Son. Want to win? Just leave a comment on how something in your life took you by surprise.

I look forward to hearing about your experiences.

Until next time – read on.

cheers,

~Cate

About Cate:

Cate Dean has been writing since she could hold a pen in her hand and put more than two words together on paper. She grew up losing herself in the wilds of fantasy worlds, and has had some of her own adventures while tromping through the UK, and a few other parts of the world. A lover of all things supernatural, she infuses that love into her stories, giving them a unique edge. When she’s not writing, she loves cooking, scaring herself silly in the local cemeteries, and reading pretty much anything she can get her hands on.

You can find her hanging out at her website: http://catedeanwrites.com

And at her Facebook page: http://facebook.com/catedeanwrites

Come and exchange tweets at: https://www.twitter.com/catedeanwrites

Or find her at Goodreads:http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5694181.Cate_Dean

************************************

Fascinating scoop, Cate! As you know, I’m a huge fan of this series and can’t wait to see what happens next!

Thanks bunches for being with us today and for the Ebook Gift Copies too!!!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

19 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean on “How a Character Can Change Everything”

  1. Hi Cate,

    I would say that one of the things that took me by surprise was when I won a book from a new author and contacted her to tell her how much I loved the story. We have formed a wonderful friendship that started with that one email that that has grown so much that each of us knows when we are needed by the other person.

  2. I know what you mean. I had this idea of adding an enemy to third YA ebook, and it has changed things about how I want to continue with the series. He gives an added energy and spark to what will happen to my angels on Earth. Looking forward to writing the rest of the series next year.

  3. It’s really interesting to hear that the author can be surprised by things that happen in their own book. I will enjoy seeing if I can figure out what character it was. I would love a Kindle copy.

  4. Great post!

    Coming out of my editing cave and can absolutely relate to this. I’ve a bad guy in my vampyre series. At least he ‘appears’ to be a bad guy. But readers have really clicked with him. It’s interesting because I didn’t want him to have too much of the story, but he’s rocking along in all the sequels and my betas adore him. Who’d have thought it?

    • Isn’t it something when a character just breaks out like that? I just go with it, and this time the character took me in a surprising direction, but a better one. Thanks for sharing – hope your edits are going well. πŸ™‚
      ~Cate

  5. Can’t wait to read this one Cate! The other two have been wonderful.

    I was working as an investigator for the state and to say I was burned out is a huge understatement. I had to go downtown to court one day – one I’d never been to before – and it resulted in me being offered a job as an investigator for the family courts. Talk about being in the right place at the right time! A completely welcome surprise. πŸ™‚

  6. When I had my son, I had lots of complications to a point that they didn’t think I was going to make it! The people that reached out, prayed, cooked, visited was completely amazing!Some People I didn’t even know:) Thank god my little boy was born perfectly heathly before I went through all those complications, he just turned 3 and I am much better! But I was and still am completely amazed has to how much people care and what good-hearted people there are! They were all wonderful! Your book sounds great, I would love a copy for my nook please! Happy Holidays Everyone, I hope y’all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!
    allysonbrann06@yahoo.com

    • What an experience, allyson. I am honored you shared it with us, and I am thrilled to know both you and your son are doing well. A copy of each book will be coming your way. πŸ™‚
      ~Cate

  7. My change was finding out I had breast cancer, but thanks to prayers and the good doctors at UT Southwestern Medical group, I came through all the surgery, chemotherapy and radiation and am now healthy and I hope cancer free. My determination to carry on my work and activities stood me in good stead although I had to take lots of naps. Thank goodness, I only work part time so I could do that. Now I am determined to work on my goals of getting my novels and cookbook published. I am also running for president of the DFW Writer’s Workshop, my local writer’s organization.
    Carolyn Williamson

    • *Hugs* That takes so much courage, Carolyn! My mom went through breast cancer, and it was an exhausting recovery for her. But she is happy and healthy now. I look forward to seeing those novels – and especially the cookbook. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!
      ~Cate

  8. My husband was visiting a friend who was working on a car. The car exploded and my husband died 3 weeks later. I certainly did not expect to raise my children on their own. At the time, they were toddlers. It was over 25 years ago. Due to an underlying medical condition, he couldn’t get insurance. The land where the incident occurred was owned by some unsavory business people, and rather than try to sue, I decided that I didn’t want to spend my life looking over my shoulder. But this path has led me to the person I am. I love where I am in my life, part of the writing community. I love the people my children have become and if this had not occurred, I would not have the experiences that have made me who I am today..
    And thank you for asking us, Cate.

    • Your story brought tears to my eyes. But to have the life you love come out of such tragedy takes so much courage, and deep down believing in yourself. Thank you so much for sharing. *hugs* I would love to give you copies of my books – just give me your email and Kindle or Nook, and I wil send them your way. πŸ™‚
      ~Cate

Leave a Reply

