RG2E Featured Author Nancy Lee Badger talks Authors and Road Trips

Happy Weekend, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!!!

Did you know that Road Trips often inspire authors?

Here’s RG2E Featured Author Nancy Lee Badger to tell you all about it…

What do you think of when you picture your favorite romance author at work? Is she lounging on the couch in a silk negligee? Eating chocolates while dictating her next best seller? Or, is she typing away at her computer with glasses perched on the end of her nose and an empty coffee cup at her elbow?

Growing up with romance novels made me want to try my hand at writing. College, marriage, children, and life’s little foibles stalled my dream. When I finally gave it a try, I wrote long-hand on a legal pad between emergency calls at the 9-1-1 center where I worked. On third shift, twenty to thirty minutes could go by between calls, so I wrote. When I returned home each morning, I copied my work word-by-word onto my computer, then fell asleep and dreamed of more plot ideas.

When I decided to retire from New Hampshire emergency services, and write full-time I wrote in my sister’s back bedroom for six months while hubby and I shopped for a new home in North Carolina. I was surrounded by everything we owned that was not in storage, and I will admit the space was a bit cramped. My sister’s lovely Golden Retriever kept me company, and continued to share my space when we moved into our new home. I dog-sit several days a week, and she keeps our new cat happy.

So, you see, I am not alone at home. It is when I travel that things turn on its head. If I drive alone, I cannot write until I get to my destination, which makes it hard to jot notes or type a chapter. I now carry a small pocket tape recorder to make notes to work on later. When I am a passenger, I either write in my journal or open my laptop and type. A recent 2-day trip to New England found me in the back seat with my computer on a lap desk. I have a converter cord that plugs into the car (we used to call that slot the cigarette lighter!)

I have found that if I do not write SOMETHING every day, I get behind. Besides working on the third book in my Highland Games Through Time series, I promote my books on several social media sites, write articles for blogs like this one, and keep my readers up to date on my own blog. Currently, I am reporting my daily word-count to www.NaNoWriMo.org, the National November Writing Month Blog. NaNoWriMo is an annual event that urges writers to get at least 50,000 words written. It is a great learning tool that is very freeing. What do I mean by freeing? They tell their contestants to forget about spell-check, edits of any kinds, chapter breaks, etc. Just write the story, and work on all the rest next month.

So, I am writing as much as I can. I hate silence. When I write, either the radio is on or the TV is showing a program I can follow by ear. On road trips, a hotel room can be fairly austere, so you might find me in the lobby or restaurant typing away. Placing my laptop on a solid table top, or on my lap while I relax on a deep-cushioned couch is easier on my aging body than the back seat of a car! Since this is my livelihood, and my dream job, I find I can write just about anywhere at any time.

Recently, during the month or so between mid-September and late October, I traveled from North Carolina to New England, to Atlanta, To Florida, and back to Atlanta before heading home. I love to travel and do most of it by car. Since I have no plans for the next few months, I will concentrate on typing away on my computer with a dog at my feet, a cat peering over my shoulder, and a cup of coffee by my keyboard. Back to work, until the next road trip!

Book Blurb of my latest release MY BANISHED HIGHLANDER

When his clan convicts Cameron Robeson of thievery, kidnapping, and treason in 1598 Scotland, the last thing he thought his cousin would do was banish him to the future. With revenge against Laird Kirkwall Gunn fresh on his mind, and the image of a woman left behind weighing on his heart, he passes the time doing an old woman’s bidding. Surrounded by the sights and sounds of the New England Highland Games, he dreams of returning to his time, alone. His plans go awry when a comely lass wearing the Mackenzie plaid lands at his feet.

Worried about her friend lost in the past, Iona Mackenzie searches for answers among the tents and vendors at the New England Highland Games. She needs help, but who can she trust? Her father? The handsome blacksmith? Or, the Viking look-a-like. The tall, golden-haired Highlander makes her legs turn to jelly. Too bad she’s shoved romance to a back seat. Saving her friend, Haven, is her only priority, no matter how sweet the man can kiss.

When a magical amulet, an ancient book of spells, and an angry sorcerer send this unlikely couple back through time, more than one heart will be broken. When danger, intrigue, and threats surround them, feelings between Iona and Cameron grow hot and steamy. They team up with Cameron’s enemies to fight the sorcerer and search for Haven—Iona’s friend and the woman Cameron plans to steal from his cousin to make his own. Will the strong-willed Highlander and the present day witch stop fighting long enough to listen to their hearts?

Series: Book #2 of the Highland Games Through Time

Genre: Scottish Time Travel Romance

Length: 82,000 word Novel

Amazon Buy link    http://amzn.to/PAYBbX

Barnes & Noble:     http://bit.ly/OREYO7

AllRomanceEBooks:  http://bit.ly/Qgdymm

Smashwords:          http://bit.ly/OIbim4

KOBO:                   http://bit.ly/QbuM3F 

ALSO AVAILABLE IN PRINT!  http://amzn.to/Su5a1G 

More About Nancy:

Nancy Lee Badger loves chocolate-chip shortbread, wool plaids wrapped around the trim waist of a Scottish Highlander, the clang of dirks and broadswords, and the sound of bagpipes in the air. After growing up in Huntington, New York, and raising two handsome sons in New Hampshire, Nancy moved to North Carolina where she writes full-time. Nancy is a member of Romance Writers of America, Heart of Carolina Romance Writers, Fantasy-Futuristic & Paranormal Romance Writers, and the Celtic Heart Romance Writers. Nancy and her family volunteer each fall at the New Hampshire Highland Games. She also writes as Nancy Lennea, and is a proud Army Mom.

Connect with Nancy here:

Website   http://www.nancyleebadger.com

Blog:        http://www.nancyleebadger.blogspot.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/nancy.l.badger

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4101274.Nancy_Lee_Badger

Twitter:   https://twitter.com/NLBadger

As my birthday gift to readers, I will award a FREE ebook of My Banished Highlander to THREE lucky people! Simply leave a comment with your format choice.

 

***************************************

Terrific Road Trip Scoop, Nancy! I too get some wonderfully wacky ideas on road trips, especially when I’m in Music City (Nashville, TN)! When I’m on a trip, my muses are goin’ Nascar-speed!!! 🙂

Thanks for sharing with us today and for the Ebook Gift Copies too!!!

The Best of RG2E Ereading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

22 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Nancy Lee Badger talks Authors and Road Trips

  1. Happy Birthday!
    I hope your day is filled with fun, family, friends and lots of birthday surprises.
    I would like a copy of My Banished Highlander for Kindle please.
    Thank you for the opportunity.

  2. Good article, Nancy. I loved the picture you painted in my mind of your dog and cat being your quiet sentinels as you write your stories. My Banished Highlander is a really good tale of adventure, love and suspense.

  3. We have a great deal in common, Nancy. I write in long hand–on dictation pads and then transfer it to the computer before it gets too big. I do some editing in the transfer. I have to have some white noise in the background when I write as well–usually the news or Discovery channel. Of course, I also live in North Carolina and love it here. I have a Golden Retriever and a rescue kitty who stick by me wherever I go. They are great company.
    You have a good thing going in your car. I can’t concentrate on writing in a car–the scenery is too distracting.
    I loved your blog–so wonderfully personal.
    I wish you every success with My Banished Highlander. It looks like a terrific story.
    All the best to your corner of the universe…

  4. i have kindle and i do love to read i trying to read up to 3 week but it getting up to 3 day i like t cover of books i collect swag and then i love the way book great reviewed i do them on fb twtter and u tube and then on amazon good read bn

  5. Very good post! I find it interesting how some us can use road trips to come up interesting tales. I would love to win a copy of My Banished Highlander for Kindle. Hope you have a wonderful Birthday, Nancy!
    beckyqward@gmail.com

  6. Happy Birthday, Nancy! Your diligence to your writing is fantastic…what an inspiration you are!
    Thanks for the chance to win a copy of your book and happy and safe holidays!
    ivegotmail8889(at)yahoo(dot)com
    PDF or Smashwords

  7. Great article. I am always looking for these for my daughter. Happy Birthday to Nancy. Thanks for the chance tow in a copy. PDF is fine with me.
    debby236 at hotmail dot com

  8. If you write all the time, does your family feel deprived? Happy Birthday! I hope that your day is as special as you are. Great blog.

    • No, my children are grown and out of the house. My hubby works for a nearby home improvement store to pay our medical insurance. When he’s home, we do things together. Otherwise, Blaze the cat and Hilary the Golden Retriever keep me company. MOST of my travel is with someone else. Really.

  9. Thanks, Nancy Lee Badger, your great advice on writing – even while traveling – is valuable for aspiring writers. I want to share this with my students taking English, for some are interested in writing about their own experiences. If I am lucky enough to win, I’d like the book in PDF, as I plan on buying the printer copy on my own. Thanks for the contest!

  10. Interesting how different we all are as writers: I prefer to write in silence – I do my best work after dark in an empty house. If there’s noise I’m too easily distracted. Plus, I set this pattern at Uni, when the only time I had to write was after completing assignments – in the wee small hours. If there are other people around, I have to play music – instrumental, or I’ll find myself singing along to the lyrics, so not writing.
    So my Highland retreat is perfect – in the middle of a farm miles from anywhere…. Off there tomorrow 🙂
    And I’d love to have a copy of My Banished Highlander to add to no. 1 for my kindle

Leave a Reply

