RG2E Featured Author L.C. Giroux talks Holiday Hustle and Bustle

Happy Sunday, RG2E Peeps!

How ’bout some Holiday Hustle and Bustle scoop from RG2E Featured Author L.C. Giroux?

lcgiroux_avatar_med

Whew!

Is it just me or did they rewrite the calendar so that December has only four days in it? I think they put the remaining days in August but I may be wrong. So like everyone else, December always throws me. I have to take my already packed to the gills schedule and turn it up to Eleven. It would be so much easier if I could convince the family that food is optional and clean clothes are highly over-rated but that doesn’t look like it is going to happen any time soon. Which is fine since I barely have time to talk to them anyway.

Here is how I’ve started to make my life easier. Two things really. For my immediate family I’ve decided that they get experiences instead of stuff. Now there may be some stuff involved too but it becomes easier to figure out what to get if there is an experience attached. Say you were going to give someone a spa/makeover kind of day, they would get little things that go along with the theme but basically they are getting the experience of pampering. It strikes me as a little crazy that we go nuts trying to find the perfect “thing” in December and then spend the rest of the year figuring out where to put it all.

For my extended family I am a huge fan of the same gift for everyone concept. My Mom would do this since we had a huge extended family, all the men got fudge. It sounds crazy except every year those guys loved their fudge -and wouldn’t share! Now, I love gifts you can make for both giving and getting but sometimes it is just not feasible so here is what everyone is getting this year from me. A blank notebook, chunky carpenter’s pencils and a note that says something along the lines of.

This is your life. Write boldly! You have permission to make mistakes and don’t worry about not having an eraser.

I’ve made an elastic pencil holder that slips over the cover of each book.

I am not the only creative one in my family, heck, I may not even be the most creative. But the philosophy I wrote there does allow me to be the most productive. What I am really giving to them is not just a notebook but the  acceptance to be who they really are, at least with me.

So for all of you I wish the same thing, since I believe everyone has some creativity in them but I can’t send you all notebooks to write your life story. I can give you an Ebook Gift Copy of my new Christmas short story. Leave a comment, what present giving traditions do you have?

194414863

On Amazon

B&N Nook

Smashwords

$2.99

This is the Lovers and Other Strangers 2012 Christmas story. Mel is all grown up and has met her match.
Jacob has no defenses against her or her family.
And the whole family is here.

L.C. Giroux is an Amazon Bestselling author in the US and the UK. She writes steamy contemporary romance because she doesn’t need a vampire to see the magic in the every day. Her previous career was writing laboratory protocols. Romance is much more fun. She is also a founding member of WG2E’s Beach Book Blast.

You can find out more about her at http://www.lcgiroux.com

Facebook: http://on.fb.me/Pacuzc

Twitter: http://twitter.com/LCGiroux

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/lcgiroux/

Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/QCVyTB

**********************

Luv the idea of “gifting an experience,” L.C.!

Thanks bunches for sharing your Holiday Scoop with us and for the fabulous Ebook Gift Copies too!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

11 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author L.C. Giroux talks Holiday Hustle and Bustle

  1. Hello L.C.,
    For Christmas, I’ve been handing off cheques to my children for the last 10 years (they’re in their late 20s now). This is no re-gifting that way. As for everyone else, I make chocolate – fudge, truffles, almond bark, rumballs and everyone loves it. To personalise it, I make each their favourite type of chocolate, whether it is semi-sweet, milk, white or my fav, decadently delicious dark chocolate. My mother is worst for not sharing. If I leave my siblings’ chocolate at her house, she tends to flagrantly share theirs with everyone, while hiding hers in her freezer. Sly lady! When I grow up, I want to be like my mom!
    I’m taking my one of my nieces to a chocolatier’s to learn how to make bonbons.
    My sister paid for a weekend retreat that I attended in November.
    My twin took me the AGO to see Chagall and the Russian Avante Garde.
    My son took me to see the Terracotta Soldiers – they even had a sex toys (from long, long ago) set aside. A little awkward for my son, but he got over it! ;D
    And that is how we tend to do Christmas!
    Merry Christmas to all.

  2. We always open our presents after breakfast. We used to bring them down the night before and leave them on the table, but that was before we were burgled some years ago. Now we bring them down that morning. We used to buy little presents and keep them as tree presents to open after dinner. We also used to have more little presents when we were younger that we kept as Boxing Day presents, to spread the celebration. We only have the main presents now.

  3. Great ideas, L.C! I tend to listen to the kids chatting about whatever’s caught their attention. It might be a joke book for my son. He’d love to do stand-up. The girls are usually easy, anything to do with hair and it’s a winner. One of my daughters bought me graphite pencils since I write creatively with those and beautifully bound note books. I’d love a copy of The Day Before The Night Before Christmas for Kindle. Thank you.

  4. For years we’d go out and try to get the perfect gift for the grandkids..but never seemed to do it, so now we give them a “Gift card” to the store of their choice and they get to buy just what they want…and they tell us how much they love what they bought with their “Credit Card”.. so now we’re all happy

  5. Our kids are still pretty young, so around 5:30 a.m. we’ll start hearing little voices whispering in the dark and the rustle of paper as they sneak down to open their presents before mom and dad wake up. 🙂 I’ve learned to stuff their stockings with little fiddly things and put the easy-to-open presents up front so they don’t get broken (i.e., the horrid toys with the packaging that needs the Jaws-Of-Life to open go in the way back!). Time? What is time? I haven’t had any of that since I started self-publishing!

  6. Being intuitive and really listening at family discussions dictates our gift giving; some times it’s hit or miss but for the most part everyone is quite pleased. I’d love a copy of The Day The Night Before Christmas from Smashwords. Thanks!

  7. The major present gifting tradition my family has is that we can open one gift on Christmas Eve, but only a gift someone else chooses for us.

    This book sounds much more interesting than a laboratory manual LOL. I’d love to read it on my Kindle.
    bas1chsemail at gmail dot com

  8. I bought ornaments for my children every year.Now that they are grown, they have ornaments for their own trees.My daughter is doing the same thing with her boys.

Leave a Reply

