RG2E Featured Author Dana Delamar on “The Romance of Italy”

Happy Hump Day, RG2E Peeps!

Today, we’re going to Italy…okay, vicariously…with fabulous RG2E Featured Author Dana Delamar, who’s treating us to gorgeous pictures of the setting for her first Ebook Series.

Take it away, Dana…

DanaOne_0057a_200x300 (1)

Thanks for having me on the RG2E today, DeeDee!

Why did I set my first series in Italy? Because I LOVE it! Because Italy is amazingly scenic, loaded with history, and bellissima!

I’ve been to Italy twice, and I’m dying to go back. The food, the history, the people, the countryside–it’s a feast for the senses.

Here are some photos from my trips that I think will give you a sense of why I chose to set my “Blood and Honor” series about the Calabrian Mafia there, and why in particular I chose Lake Como as the main setting. (For those familiar with Italy, yes, Calabria is in the south and Lake Como in the north, but the Calabrian Mafia has spread all over Italy, and in particular has established a major presence in the north around Milan and the adjacent communities. Naturally, my mobsters decided to live in the luxurious surroundings of Lake Como. Wouldn’t you?)

Minolta DSC

Lake Como – taken from the Villa d’Este hotel, one of the settings in Revenge (Blood and Honor #1)

Minolta DSC

Lake Como – Villa Carlotta, one of the settings in Revenge (Blood and Honor, #1)

Minolta DSC

Lake Como – Bellisima!

Minolta DSC

Sorrento, on the Amalfi Coast

M

Lake Como – trattoria, one of the settings for Retribution (Blood and Honor, #2)

M

Capri – Grand Hotel Quisisana, one of the settings in Revenge (Blood and Honor, #1)

Orvieto Doorway

Orvieto – not in either book, but can you imagine living there?

Minolta DSC

Capri – sunset at the Grand Hotel Quisisana, a setting in Revenge (Blood and Honor, #1)

Ah… now don’t you just want to hop on a plane this minute?

In case you can’t, I’m giving away five copies of the second book in my series (see below for how to win)! Here’s what Retribution (Blood and Honor, #2) is about:

retribution_frontonly_final_smaller

An Interpol agent playing a dangerous game. A Mafia princess desperate to escape. A man determined to exact retribution…

Nick Clarkston, a young Interpol agent, threatens to undo the fragile peace between the Lucchesi and Andretti families when he tries to take down the Mafia don father who abandoned him. He allies with his father’s sworn enemy, a mobster both devious and ruthless. The mobster’s alluring daughter helps Nick negotiate the murky criminal underworld, but he soon learns she’s using him. Trapped, and with nowhere to turn, Nick makes a tragic mistake that plunges him further into danger.

Delfina Andretti appears to be the typical Mafia princess–but this princess wants out. Delfina dreams of being a fashion designer, and hooking up with Nick is her ticket out of an arranged marriage. Her feelings for Nick are genuine, but he’s leery of her. Even worse, his heedless drive for justice threatens to get them both killed and to put everyone Delfina loves behind bars–unless she and Nick can forge a new future for their warring families.

Retribution received 4 stars from RT Book ReviewsHere’s what they had to say: “The suspense keeps the pages moving quickly in book two of the Blood and Honor series. There are numerous characters, but Delamar does a wonderful job of incorporating them so that readers keep abreast of the story. A fast pace, credible characters and a complex plot guarantee hours of entertainment.”

115,000 words (approximately 285 pages)

Other books in the seriesRevenge (Blood and Honor, #1) on sale now for only .99/.77p! at these retailers: Amazon USAmazon UKBarnes & NobleBarnes & Noble UKKoboAll Romance eBooks, and OmniLit

Where can you buy Retribution? Amazon (Kindle)Amazon (print)Amazon UK (Kindle)Amazon UK (print)AppleAll Romance eBooksBarnes & NobleBarnes & Noble UKDieselKoboOmniLitSmashwordsSony

Price: $4.99

Genres: Romantic suspense, mystery/thriller

About the Author

Dana Delamar is the author of the “Blood and Honor” romantic suspense series, which is set in Italy among the Calabrian Mafia. An avid traveler who loves to learn about different peoples and cultures, Dana often sets her books in exotic locales. She grew up in the Midwest and Pacific Northwest, and today makes Seattle her home. She’s an omnivorous reader with overflowing bookshelves, a passionate love of “Supernatural,” “Firefly,” “True Blood,” “Mad Men,” and a zillion other TV shows. Where she finds the time to sleep is a mystery.

I love hearing from readers! You can connect with me at:

DanaDelamar.com    Twitter     Facebook     Goodreads    Pinterest

Giveaway! 

I’m giving away 5 ebooks of Retribution to RG2e readers! To win one, comment below (be sure to include your email address in the comment) and indicate which retailer you’d like to receive your gift from.

Two lucky winners will also receive a swag pack from me that contains “Blood and Honor” romance trading cards, postcards for the ebooks, and bookmarks!

**********************

Bellissima indeed, Dana!!! Just incredible! I also adore The Amalfi Coast and set Book Two in my Cozy Cash Mysteries ( Lip Glock) there! And Lake Como is definitely on my Bucket List too…doesn’t George Clooney have a house there?

Italy and The Mafia?! Totally my kinda reads!!!

Thanks bunches for the Virtual Trip, the Ebook Gift Copies and Swag Packs too!!! U rock!!!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

14 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Dana Delamar on “The Romance of Italy”

  1. Great post, Dana! I love the pictures and they do make me want to take a trip to Italy. I would love to win a copy of Retribution for the Kindle and maybe be one of the winners for the swag pack. Thanks for the chance!
    beckyqward@gmail.com

  2. My step-daughter lives in Italy … she said it is very beautiful there. There are many romance novels set there, but the thought of a suspense novel is intriguing! I love the picture extras (what a nice way to do ‘research’ for your novel!) I’d love a copy if I win 🙂 anna_erishkigal [at] yahoo.com

  3. Great post and great pictures making me anxious to read your book. Una Tiers
    una (at) unatiers.com
    Is there a reason everyone seemed to write their email addresses in code?
    Thank you.

  4. Good Morning,
    Your photos are breathtaking! I understand how you were inspired by the setting.
    I enjoyed “Revenge” and truly look forward to RETRIBUTION. I have had it on my wish list.
    If I am a lucky winner – I would like a copy for Kindle please.
    My email address is bkg0605@aol.com
    Thank you for the opportunity.
    Best wishes for continued success.

  5. The winners are (determined by random.org sequence generator — I numbered the commenters in order of entry):

    Five copies of Retribution:
    5 – Stacy
    9 – Bn100
    8 – Barbara
    2 – Christy Gibbon
    6 – Una Tiers

    Two swag packs:
    1 Becky Ward
    4 Anna Erishkigal

    I’ll contact the winners later today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

