RG2E Featured Author Laina Turner talks Mistletoe and Holiday Traditions

Happy Weekend, RG2E Peeps! We made it to another one!!!

And wow are we getting close to Santa’s Big Day!

So, let’s talk Holiday Traditions and Mistletoe with RG2E Featured Author Laina Turner…

molaski-0017

Mistletoe

I hear that word and immediately think of greenery hanging up in a doorway at Christmas time for people to kiss under. I was curious as to when and how that tradition started so went on a search to find out more about this plant and boy was I surprised. Did you know that mistletoe has been considered a pest, as it is a parasite shrub that kills trees, by attaching to a host plant and sucking out its nutrients, and destroys natural habitats? I read that and thought it made sense to have that plant as the kissing plant since love does sometime suck all the life out of us but that’s a topic for a different day. I continued my research to further find it has recently been considered a keystone ecological plant on which other species need to survive.

On a more interesting note the tradition of kissing under the mistletoe dates back to the early 1800’s and is thought to be of Scandinavian decent. Whatever its place in our ecosystem it is a nice tradition that many people can have fun with.

What is your favorite holiday tradition?

With that thought I leave you to comment and receive a copy of Mistletoe & Murder for the reader of your choice. In addition, one lucky winner will also receive a copy of the audio book from either iTunes or Audible.

Mistletoe-and-Murder-book-cover_FINAL

Book Blurb

Mistletoe & Murder

In this holiday short story, Presley goes home for Christmas expecting it to be a relaxing holiday until her old boyfriend, Brian, asks for her help finding out who has been stealing from him and it turns from theft to murder. Why would anyone want to kill Tommy and what was he hiding?

E-book available on KindleNookKoboSmashwords, and iTunes.

Now in audio on Audible and  iTunes.

Who am I?

Laina Turner is a business woman, mom, author, Professor, and a major supporter of shopping. She has an undying love for shoes and coffee, which is why she created her main character and alter-ego Presley Thurman.

With a lot of letters after her name and a ton of student loan debt, she is always working to pay the bills. While she enjoys her day job, her passion is writing, and she is hoping to sell her book and retire to a private island.

Laina is currently living in Indiana, with her family, and is always writing something, whether it’s blogs, articles, business journals and books or ideas for her next novel. She is continuously doing what she loves which is writing or drinking coffee.

Follow me

Follow me on Twitter @lturnermolaski

Subscribe to my newsletter and get a free book.

Find me on my Facebook Fan Page Laina Turner

Visit my website www.lainaturner.com

Download my iPhone app

**********************

Mistletoe is also one of the most magickal plants!!!  And it is one of my fave holiday traditions, Laina!!! 🙂

Thanks sooo much for the scoop and for the Ebook and Audio Gift Copies too!!!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

5 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Laina Turner talks Mistletoe and Holiday Traditions

  1. This sounds like an intriguing story…thanks for sharing, I’ll check it out!
    Loved the little snippet about mistletoe! Happy Holidays!
    ivegotmail8889(at)yahoo(dot)com

  2. That was interesting to learn about the Mistletoe. I never knew that it was considered as a pest. I don’t really have a favorite holiday tradition. It would be nice to have one though. I will have to think of one and start a new tradition for my family. I would love to have a copy of Mistletoe & Murder for the Kindle.
    beckyqward@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

