RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean on Writing in Several Genres

Happy Monday, RG2E Peeps!

Many RG2E Featured Authors like the fabulous Cate Dean write in several genres. Here’s Cate to tell you more about her journey across genres…

author photo - Cate Dean (1)

Those of you who read my other posts know about my paranormal series, The Claire Wiche Chronicles. But did you know I write fantasy as well? And that I started out in YA fantasy? My first ever release as a published author was a YA novella – When Walls Can Talk.

WWCT KINDLE-NOOK[1] resized

On Amazon

Yep – I’m a genre crosser.

I write YA fantasy because I love to read it. The storylines are surprisingly complex, the characters even more so than many adult books I’ve put aside after the first few pages. But I also write the paranormal, the spooky, because I grew up loving it.

Most writers in the world of traditional publishing are pushed into a genre box – and very few break out. One I can think of is Nora Roberts, a personal favorite. She moved beyond the Harlequin romance to write stories with an otherworldly edge, then went on to create an incredibly successful futuristic crime series. She is one of the exceptions.

What I love about striking out on my own is the freedom to write in any genre I choose. Mine do happen to butt up against each other in the playground. Readers who have picked up the Chronicles have also read my fantasy, and enjoyed it as well.

So I get to write what I love to read, and share it with you all. What a great way to make a living. 🙂

Now I want to know – what are your favorite genres? Do you read in more than one – or is there a particular genre that draws you back every time you pick up a book, or your ereader?

I would love to share one of my favorite genres with you – When Walls Can Talk is free on Amazon through December 11. And for those of you with a Nook, or epub reader – just leave your email in the comments and I will send a copy your way.

Thanks for hanging out with me again – I love hearing from you all!

Until next time, Happy Holidays to you and yours – and read on.

Cheers,

~Cate

About Cate:

Cate Dean has been writing since she could hold a pen in her hand and put more than two words together on paper. She grew up losing herself in the wilds of fantasy worlds, and has had some of her own adventures while tromping through the UK, and a few other parts of the world. A lover of all things supernatural, she infuses that love into her stories, giving them a unique edge. When she’s not writing, she loves cooking, scaring herself silly in the local cemeteries, and reading pretty much anything she can get her hands on.

You can find her hanging out at her website: http://catedeanwrites.com

And at her Facebook page: http://facebook.com/catedeanwrites.com

Come and exchange tweets at: https://www.twitter.com/catedeanwrites.com

Or find her at Goodreads:http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5694181.Cate_Dean

**************************

I’m with you, Cate, in that I’m venturing into new genres as an author because I luuuvvv to read in that genre! Cheers to that and to you, my friend!!!

Thanks sooo very much for sharing with us today and for the fabulous FREE Ebook Copy of WHEN WALLS CAN TALK!!!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

9 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Cate Dean on Writing in Several Genres

  1. Great post, Cate. I read all of the genres or anything that I find interesting to read. I’ve been reading mainly right now paranormals, romantic suspense, and mysteries. Thanks for sharing your Ya fantasy with us.

  2. Hi Cate, I started off writing SF then put one I’d planned into a Fantasy setting for a competition and found I could write that too 🙂
    I never thought I’d be able to write anything in a contemporary setting, then along came Urban Fantasy so I wrote one of those.
    I also love to read murder mysteries, though I don’t think I’d try writing one. But who knows….
    Just downloaded When Walls Can Talk, thanks 🙂

  3. Hi Cate. A very Merry Christmas to you and your family. My favorite genre is fantasy/mystery/paranormal. Nora Roberts’ Three Sister’s Trilogy, Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy and the Key Trilogy are some of my favorites. I also like Annette Blair’s Vintage Mystery Series and Madelyn Alt’s Bewitching Mysteries…and my list doesn’t stop there. Am I too late to be able to get your free book? I would love to add it to either my Nook or Kindle and as soon as I ready, I’ll write a review!

Leave a Reply

