RG2E Featured Author Nina Croft asks “Do You Buy Book One in a Series or Wait for the Entire Trilogy?”

Wavin’ atchya, RG2E Peeps!!!

Today, RG2E Featured Author Nina Croft has an interesting question:

“Do you buy Buy Book One in a Series as soon as it’s out or wait till the Entire Trilogy is available?”

Here’s Nina’s take on that…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love reading series—that wonderful feeling you get when you really enjoy a book and you know there are a whole load more to come. I love falling in love with characters and knowing I’m going to meet them again. And getting immersed in a world and knowing I’ll get to visit over and over and no doubt learn new things each time.

And sometimes, I will put off buying a book if I know it’s book one of a series and the rest are nowhere in sight yet (really annoying with traditionally published books where there can be a year between them.)

I’m especially fond of big fat fantasy trilogies but I hate getting to the end and knowing I have a long wait for the rest of the story. So I’ll try to forget I saw book one and wait until the whole trilogy is out.

But I think that also depends on the type of series, because there are all sorts. Some follow one character through a number of adventures, like Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series (one of my favorites). Others follow a group of characters through one big adventure like in The Lord of the Rings or Anne Bishop’s Black Jewel Trilogy (another of my favorites). Then there are the true romance books that feature the same world and the same connected cast of characters but each book focuses on one particular love story with a guaranteed happy ever after, for example Pamela Clare’s I-Team series (yet another of my favorites).

I like them all, depending on the mood I am in, but I’m more likely to buy the latter without worrying about the rest of the series being available. And really, with this sort of romance series, there doesn’t have to be a finite number of books.

My series, Sisters of the Moon, is this type. The books all feature the same world and the same characters but each focuses on a particular couple, the heroines all being telepathic sisters.

When I was planning the release dates of the books, I had to decide how much time to put between them. In the end, I went for one a month, October through to December.

And today, I’m egifting 5 copies of book 3 in the series, Bound to Secrets, which came out this week.

NC-BtSecrets-bk3-1800x2700

So, if you find a book by an author you love, or just really like the premise of the story, but it’s book 1 in a series, do you rush out and buy it anyway or do you wait until the whole series is out? Let me know for a chance to win an ecopy of Bound to Secrets.

Blurb                                                                          

Six years ago, an attack by a rogue werewolf plunged Doctor Connor McNair’s perfect life into nightmare. Now the mere scent of blood awakens the beast within him. He’s teetering on the brink of self-destruction when an intriguing rumor leads him to the desolation of Rannoch Moor and the one woman who might call him back from the darkness.

Part of a telepathic experiment that went dangerously wrong, Keira’s mind will destroy anyone who gets too close. Unable to control her powers, she has cut herself off from all human contact and found a measure of peace hiding on the moors with only the wild animals for company. Until Connor arrives, awakening hopes and desires buried deep inside her.

Connor is determined to save her, but some wounds are beyond the powers of a doctor to heal and time is running out, because Keira’s mind holds secrets that certain people would kill to keep hidden…

About Nina: 

Nina Croft grew up in the north of England. After training as an accountant, she spent four years working as a volunteer in Zambia, which left her with a love of the sun and a dislike of 9-5 work. She then spent a number of years mixing travel (whenever possible) with work (whenever necessary) but has now settled down to a life of writing and picking almonds on a remote farm in the mountains of southern Spain.

Nina writes all types of romance often mixed with elements of the paranormal and science fiction.

Connect with her at:

Website

Twitter

Facebook

***********************

Great question, Nina! I read each book in a series as soon as it comes out! And then I fill in the time between releases with new books from other series that are ready! I rarely read books now that aren’t part of a series. I just luuuvvv going back into the worlds I’m enjoying from each author. 🙂

Thanks sooo much for sharing with us today and for the Ebook Gift Copies too! U rock!!!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

11 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Nina Croft asks “Do You Buy Book One in a Series or Wait for the Entire Trilogy?”

  1. I’m with DD. I buy book one in a series, sometimes books 2 and 3, too if they are out, then if there are more then I will wait until that comes out to buy it. Meanwhile, I will read other books in other series and stand-alones.

  2. I’m also with DD and jadwriter. I buy the first book in a series or sometimes the book I buy might be the third or fourth in the series and then I have to get the first one. While waiting for the next one in the series, I will read stand alone’s or other books in another series.

  3. I’m like you, Nina. I usually read cozy and traditional mysteries, which are long-running series (you hope!) with the same cast of characters. Each one is a complete story, with continuing subplots that draw you along in the series. These I’ll buy as they come out.

    But I will NEVER forget reading Hyperion, by Dan Simmons, the first of a fantasy series that totally drew me into the story. I raced through the last part of that book to find out what would happen at the end of this wonderful journey. And then it just stopped. The story wasn’t resolved. The ending, as I remember it, was a cliffhanger. I think this was the first book I literally threw across the room. Not only wasn’t the plot resolved, the next book wouldn’t be out for another year. I have yet to read the rest of the series.

    After that experience, I’m very careful with fantasy series. I hesitate to buy the first book until there are at least several books available, hopefully the entire series.

    • Hi Elise,
      I think fantasy series are the worst for this as they tend to have just one continuing story throughout. I’ve had my eye on Brent Week’s Lightbringer series (I loved Night Angel) – but am waiting for book 3 before I take the plunge

  4. If I know a book is going to be a series I will normally wait until there are several of them released so that I can immerse myself in their world for a longer period of time. Then I’ll buy the later releases as they come out. I would love to win a Kindle copy of Bound To Secrets.

  5. Generally, I’d get book 1 first and if it’s really good,wait for the rest of the books to come out in order. But, if I happen to get the 2nd or 3rd before the 1st book, I’ll wait till I get the 1st book, before I read the series.
    divavixenqueen(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. Lol – it’s complicated isn’t it? I’m usually like Christie, and like to have a few out there before I buy book one, but I actually went against my own advice the other day and bought Karen Marie Monings, Iced. Now I’m so annoyed that I have to wait – probably a long time – for the next one to come out!

  7. I buy whatever book in the series sounds most interesting. If the series is good, then I read the other books in the series, but not in order.

  8. I by the first book in a series as soon as I can. If it is a good amount of time between the books I will sometimes reread the previous book before the next one releases.

Leave a Reply

