RG2E Featured Author Laina Turner on “Staying Sane When You’re an Author”

TGIF, RG2E Peeps!

Welcome to The RG2E and/or Welcome Back!

It’s tough enough to stay sane during the holiday season. But when you’re an Author, it’s tough all year long! LOL! 🙂

Here’s RG2E Featured Author Laina Turner to tell you about her “crazy trip”…

red.white hsbw 12.10

I was talking to a friend about ideas for this blog post and he thought I should write about how to stay sane during the holidays. I was skeptical and told him I wasn’t sure I was the person who should be writing about staying sane at any time during the year. But it got me thinking. Don’t writers have to be somewhat crazy? I mean we sit around writing away putting down what the characters are doing in our head and often what’s in our head involves hot guys or murder. I often ask my children or significant other how a certain character died or should it be via knife or gun and should I add a kidnapping? Are those the thoughts of sane people? I think not.

Whether it’s the holidays or not I know I can get a little crazy and insane feeling. Stress of kids, life, and yes the stress of being an author is enough to send anyone over the edge but yet we continue to make it through each day. While difficult it’s the fun thing about life. We get to choose our level of insanity.

Comment and share how nuts you think you are and get a free copy of book 6 in the Presley Thurman Mysteries, Tiaras & Texans.

Tiaras-and-Texans-book-cover_FINAL

On Amazon

B&N Nook

Smashwords

$2.99

Book Blurb 

Presley wins a bet and thinks she finally is going to get a chance to work with Cooper and show her she’s got the potential to be a good security detail for his company. She is miffed when she finds out her first assignment is to protect a bunch of self-absorbed beauty queens at a Texas pageant. It soon becomes a more interesting gig than she thought, much to her delight and Cooper’s dismay, when one of the beauty queens turns up dead and the fierce competition leave the door wide open to suspects.

About Laina:

Laina Turner is a businesswoman, mom, author, Professor, and a major supporter of shopping. She has an undying love for shoes and coffee, which is why she created her main character and alter ego Presley Thurman.

With a lot of letters after her name and a ton of student loan debt, she is always working to pay the bills. While she enjoys her day job, her passion is writing, and she is hoping to sell her book and retire to a private island.

Laina is currently living in Indiana, with her family, and is always writing something, whether it’s blogs, articles, business journals and books or ideas for her next novel. She is continuously doing what she loves which is writing or drinking coffee.

Connect with her at:

Follow me at @lturnermolaski

Subscribe to my newsletter and get a free book.

Find me on my Facebook Fan Page Laina Turner

Visit my website www.lainaturner.com

Download my iPhone app

********************

Fun stuff, Laina! We’re going from Miss Universe this week (Go, Miss USA!) to your fabulous pageant world! 🙂 Thanks bunches for sharin’ your kinda crazy and for the Ebook Gift Copies too!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

4 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Laina Turner on “Staying Sane When You’re an Author”

  1. Am I nuts?

    Well, as I was saying to my buddy the invisible pink-and-velveteen giant aardvark Wilbur Fitzwilbur Skymungothon III just yesterday – “Listen, I must be nuts to sit alone in my office day after day, staring at a screen all alone and talking to myself in the name of communicating with others.”

    In fact, I am waaay more than nuts.

    I am pecans. I am walnuts. I am almonds and cashews and peanuts – two of which aren’t nuts at all – and pistachio and Brazilian (sans wax) and chestnuts and hickory and pine nuts – (which also aren’t REALLY nuts) – shaken in a barrel of salt and chili peppers, broken in the pestle of experience and the mortar of creative despair – liberally coating a freshly-baked batch of maple+pimento flavored fudge.

    If any of you think you are nuttier than I am than I have but one single word to say to you – in the words of Brigadier General Anthony McAuliffe – (he of the battered bastards of Bastogne fame) – NUTS!

  2. More cautious than nutty, but every now and then turn the music up and “let loose and shake it”. But if nutty you had to be, you really can’t top a “invisible pink-and-velveteen giant aardvark”!. Would love to win a copy from Smashwords.Sounds like a real treat.

  3. I would love to have a kindle copy of Tiaras &Texans to help stop the incessant chattering that I’m doing while locked in my little room wrapped in my white jacket. At least I’m not seeing the giant aardvark yet.

  4. One more batch of cookies
    Maybe we need more wine; mixers; snacks EVERYTHING!
    Do I have enough what if gifts?
    Did I tip the paperboy / Gift for the mailcarrier / Hairdresser…
    Where did I hide the stocking stuffers?
    Progessive dinner, what was I thinking ( I wasn’t – that is the problem)
    I am all kind of Christmas CRAZY, I say Christmas crazy to cover for the everyday crazy, hoping no one will notice.
    I love your work,
    I have read the Presley Thurman series and I look forward to reading the next installment.
    I would love to have a copy of Tiaras & Texans for Kindle please.
    Best wishes for continued success and many more stories!
    Happy Holidays to you and yours.
    Enjoy

Leave a Reply

