RG2E Featured Author Lisa Bouchard on “Surviving the Mayan Apocalypse and Moving Forward with New Year’s Resolutions”

Happy Sunday, RG2E Peeps!

Okay…we’ve survived the Mayan Apocalypse…so now what?

Here’s RG2E Featured Author Lisa Bouchard to chat on that…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since we’ve all survived the Mayan Apocalypse, it’s time to get on with our lives and for me, that means New Year’s planning and resolutions.

I love planning and scheduling. My brain relaxes and I feel like everything is going to be all right since it’s all laid out right there on the color-coded, day by day spreadsheet. Yeah, day by day. Writing goals, reading goals, and some years even a plan for how to keep the house tidy.

As in battle, no plan survives engagement with the enemy, but for a while it feels great. I feel like I can handle anything and the world can just bring it on because I’m ready! Grrr!

Even when I don’t stick to the plan, I love making them. They spur me on and keep me working when I’d rather be watching tv or playing games on my laptop. They’re the good angel on my shoulder whispering, “Just a few hundred more words and you can cross that task off the list.”

Do I get everything done? Of course not. Between having four homeschooled kids and a propensity for overcommitting, I don’t. But I get more done with a plan than without and that means everything to me.

This year I’ve planned out to the day how much I want to write and on what project: which novel, how many words on a short story, when to blog, and also when I’ll be editing all these words  I’m writing. Oy! The editing…

As far as resolutions go, I make those too. But I don’t back them up with a schedule because they’re more nebulous and harder to control. I’m trying to reword my resolutions in a more positive light than I might actually feel about myself. For instance, “quit eating crap” is replaced with “have a big salad for a meal twice a week”, and “don’t be fat” is now “exercise three times a week”.  It’s a healthier way to look at my life and doesn’t make me feel like a looser. Try it – it’s good.

What does my 2013 look like? I’m insanely busy and I think I’m going to have to make some changes in my day to day life to support my schedule. I think I’m going to have to do the thing I dread most in life: limit my time on the internet. Meet my word count goals for the day and then I can hang out on Facebook for a while – all those cute cat pictures aren’t going anywhere, right?

So, how about you? Do you make plans and resolutions? In what areas? And how do you stick to them – I’d love to know.

About Lisa:

I am 9 days older than Star Trek. I thank any and all deities that I have never had to live in a world without Mr. Spock.

I probably spend way too much time watching television. I blame the internet. Seriously, my lack of will power has nothing to do with it. Now that I can wait and watch an entire season of a show at once I get sucked in and don’t come up for air until about 2 in the morning. I think this goes along with my love for long songs, multi-book series, and four hour movies.

My life seems to be a series of crazy ideas, from ‘go to college across the country where you don’t know anyone’ to ‘four kids sounds like a great idea’ to ‘writing novels for a living sounds like a great plan’. My latest crazy idea is to hike the Appalachian Trail all at once, with my long-suffering husband. He’s taking it rather well.

I live in southern New Hampshire with my husband and our four children. I am the author of the Morrison Investigations series. Please visit me at http://LisaBouchard.com.

Connect with Lisa at:

Facebook: http://facebook.com/LisaBouchard.Author

Email: mailto:Lisa@LisaBouchard.com

Twitter: @Lisa_Bouchard

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6540287.Lisa_Bouchard

LibraryThing: http://www.librarything.com/author/bouchardlisa

Shattered Door Cover

The Shattered Door paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Shattered-Door-Morrison-Investigations/dp/0988382601/ref=la_B009EG084O_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349199696&sr=1-1

The Shattered Door US Kindle ebook: www.amazon.com/Shattered-Door-Morrison-Investigations-ebook/dp/B009DJQGGQ/

The Shattered Door UK Kindle ebook: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Shattered-Door-Morrison-Investigations-ebook/dp/B009DJQGGQ/

The Shattered Door Nook ebook: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6540287.Lisa_Bouchard

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/237409

Kobo: http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/The-Shattered-Door/book-8wj8YK4rB0qyJ0SSohJLYw/page1.html?s=ewnflSK0CkGo8ELgK5DWwg&r=1

$2.99

“A polished gemstone.”

“A great start to…a fantastic series.”

“Engaging from the first paragraph.”

The Shattered Door is a fast-paced mystery set in Boston. It
features a brutal murder, a secret society dedicated to genocide of the
telepaths, and two beautiful twin private investigators who try desperately to
keep their own telepathic abilities secret.

Looking for a paranormal twist in your mysteries? The
Shattered Door is for you.

Mind Stealer. Freak. Telepath.

In the United States, telepaths are hunted by the Telepathic
Corps, a small, mobile army who can sense when telepaths use their powers. No one knows what happens to captured telepaths, but rumors of secret medical experiments and death squads fly through the telepathic underground.

When famous telepath George Wynton is found at the scene of his lover’s murder, novice private investigators Olivia and Darcy Morison are hired to find the real killer. Trained to keep their abilities secret, they have become experts at passing as normal.

As the sisters struggle to balance their time between helping Wynton and the mind-numbing jobs their boss assigns them, dangerous elements continue to swirl around them.

The Twenty, a high-powered, secret group, is working to keep Wynton behind bars while members of Boston’s telepathic underground are threatening to rise up and break him out of jail.

And the Corps has arrived in the city, rounding up telepaths with a vengeance.

Now Olivia and Darcy must find the killer, keep their secret hidden and work
with the telepathic underground all while avoiding their boss, not to mention
finding a gangsters dog.

*******************************

Who all would like an Ebook Gift Copy of THE SHATTERED DOOR? Let us know below, and you just might win one from Lisa!

And thanks bunches, Lisa, for making your first spot on RG2E superfab fun!!!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

3 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Lisa Bouchard on “Surviving the Mayan Apocalypse and Moving Forward with New Year’s Resolutions”

Leave a Reply

