RG2E Featured Author Lauren Clark on Meeting and Greeting Readers Across the USA

Happy Weekend, RG2E Peeps!

One of the superfab fun things about being authors is getting away from our computer screens to meet and greet many of you in person at various events across the country and/or around the world!

Here’s the scoop from RG2E Featured Author Lauren Clark…

ST2

Happy New Year to All!  I wanted to take a moment and share how blessed I feel with the many new friendships I’ve made throughout this past year. It’s been an amazing experience to talk with readers from all over the world, share ideas with my fellow authors, connect with folks on sites like RG2E, and actually meet some of my new friends in person (Hello Lorelei in Orlando!).

As an author, I’ve found that one of the best ways to get out and meet new people and make friends is to participate in conferences, speaking events, or author meet-ups. During 2012, I traveled as far away as Upstate New York, and visited great cities like Gulfport, Mississippi and Eufaula, Alabama to talk about books, publishing, and the crazy, awesome business of being a writer.

Last night, I was honored to be the featured speaker for the Mobile Writers Guild in Mobile, Alabama. What a great group of talented and diverse writers representing all genres from YA to Geek Romance! It was a fun night and we had a fantastic turnout for the talk with more than twenty members in attendance. The photo below is of MWG President Carrie Cox, me, and VP Angela Quarles.

IMG_1684

I can report that no one fell asleep during my talk about publishing—both pursuing traditional publishing with an agent and also managing my own publishing company, Camellia Press. I was thrilled that so many members asked interesting questions. We chatted a lot about ebook options, pricing decisions, cover design, and my new venture into audiobooks with both Dancing Naked in Dixie and Stay Tuned. It’s been a great year for both books, as my combined sales topped 7,500.

Fellow author Joyce Sterling Scarbrough and MWG member Sam stayed after to chat about their work, along with Candice Conner (not pictured below) who hails from Geneva, Alabama (near Eufaula where Dixie is set). I guarantee that Sam was saying something to make me laugh in this photo!!

IMG_1685

Again, a big thank you to the Mobile Writers Guild for hosting me! And huge hugs to all of my friends and readers….I hope that 2013 brings good health, great memories and much happiness to you and your families.

Please leave a comment below! I’d love to hear more about your New Year’s dream or resolution. I’ll send the first five folks who comment a signed copy of Dancing Naked in Dixie with a bookmark!

Dancing Naked in Dixie

And as a special added treat and bonus thank you to everyone, both Stay Tuned and Dancing Naked in Dixie will be just 99 cents today and tomorrow only, January 5 & 6th, 2013. That’s a savings of $5.00 if you purchase both ebooks! 

xx, Lauren

About Lauren:

Lauren Clark is the author of Stay Tuned and Dancing Naked in Dixie. She writes contemporary novels set in the Deep South; stories sprinkled with sunshine, suspense, and secrets.

A former TV news anchor, Lauren adores flavored coffee, local book stores, and anywhere she can stick her toes in the sand. Her big loves are her family, paying it forward, and true-blue friends. Check out her website at www.laurenclarkbooks.com.

Dancing Naked in Dixie for Kindle

Dixie for Nook

Stay Tuned

Find more about and connect with Lauren here: 

Lauren Clark Books Website

GoodReads Lauren Clark

Twitter Lauren Clark

Facebook Lauren Clark

*****************************

Thanks sooo much for sharing your adventures with us, Lauren, and for the chance to win your book (with bookmark) and for the special prices too!!! U rock!!!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

12 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Lauren Clark on Meeting and Greeting Readers Across the USA

  1. Great post Lauren. Sounds like you had a lot of fun. I love meeting authors in person, but don’t get meet to many since it is hard for me to go to those functions because of my work schedule. I don’t really make New Year resolutions but I do set up goals for the New Year. This year I am going to try and read some more genres that I don’t normally read which isn’t many and try to read more books than I did last year. Also I want to save up some money this year to do some remodeling on my house. Thanks for sharing this with us!
    beckyqward@gmail.com

    • Fabulous Becky! I always like branching out and reading new genres! One of my new friends is writing Geek Romance and I am dying to try out her book 🙂

      Saving money is ALWAYS nice … and I’ll be emailing to get you that FREE paperback copy of Dancing Naked in Dixie 🙂 Happy New Year! Lauren

  2. Wonderful post, LC! It’s so important to attend enrichment classes (workshops & conferences) not only to enhance your craft, but also to meet fun and fabulous new people. You know that I already own and LOVE your books 🙂 XOXO

  3. Wonderful post.
    I love meeting authors, it is so much fun to hear the voice behind the words.
    My resolutions this year:
    Live each and every day to the fullest
    Appreciate my blessings
    Pay some kindness forward
    Enjoy your New Year
    Best wishes for continued success!
    Thank you for the opportunity.

  4. What lovely post! My personal resolution is to be healthier and happier and just enjoy the moments! For the world, I hope and dream that everyone
    should have food, shelter and moments to cherish and let there be less war and violence!
    ivegotmail8889(at)yahoo(dot)com

    • Those are some wonderful resolutions … I am working on an article right now about a shelter for children in Mississippi. It’s just heartbreaking~~I’d love for there to NOT be a need for this kind of service anywhere! Thanks for the lovely comment and Happy New Year! xx, Lauren

Leave a Reply

