RG2E Featured Author Linsey Lanier on Her Hubby’s Obsession with the Mafia turning into “Writing The Mafia”

Happy Sunday, RG2E Peeps!

What’s a girl to do if her hubby’s obsessed with the Mafia? 

Here’s what RG2E Featured Author Linsey Lanier did…

LL_250 (1)

Hello RG2E readers, it’s good to visit with everyone again. Thank you to D.D. Scott for having me here today.

You know how you discover some things about your spouse after you’re married? Things that if you had known beforehand, might have made you stop and think twice before saying “I do”?

That’s the way it was for me when after two or three years of wedded semi-bliss, I discovered hubby’s obsession with the Mafia. He’s not IN the Mafia, of course. He just likes to read about it. And watch movies about it. Over and over.

Over the years, our TV time together has often been dominated by the likes of Michael Corleone, Donny Brasco and Tony Soprano.

After hours and hours of such conditioning, I slowly became fascinated with the whole Mob thing myself. So it wasn’t long before I was dying (pardon the word choice) to write some characters of that ilk myself.

You could say my muse gave me an offer I couldn’t refuse.

And thus Chicago Cop (A Mafia Murder Mystery) was born.

ChicagoCop8_350

On Amazon

B&N Nook

iTunes

Smashwords

Chicago Cop is the story of Lieutenant Maggie Delaney, head of the elite GUTS team in Chicago, and her fight against the mob. Sergeant Juan Perez, the first victim in the book, calls Maggie “one tough lady,” but Maggie’s personal life is another story. After fifteen years, her marriage to a university medical school professor is falling apart. He’s tried of the strain of being married to a cop. And Maggie finds herself attracted to the successful and ruggedly good-looking Bryce Brooks, one of the best criminal defense attorneys in the city. Someone she considers a bottom feeder.

The description of the book is below, but if you’d like to read an excerpt, I have two on my blog (link below). The first one is a glimpse at The Meat Cleaver. But be warned. He is a Mafia guy, so his language is not that of a Sunday school teacher.

I really enjoyed writing this book and exploring the minds of people in the Mob. So maybe marrying hubby wasn’t such a bad decision after all.

CHICAGO COP (A Mafia Murder Mystery) by Linsey Lanier

A police officer is shot in a crime-ridden Chicago neighborhood and the GUTS team, headed by tough-as-nails Lieutenant Maggie Delaney, is called in to investigate. When clues point to the Mob’s chief hit man, “The Meat Cleaver”—nicknamed after the vicious way he kills his victims—Maggie fears her past has come back to haunt her.

Two years ago she put away one of the most feared mob bosses in the history of the Chicago Outfit. The man who shot her father.

When pictures of The Meat Cleaver’s latest victims start showing up on her cell phone, Maggie realizes the Mob is out for revenge and her team has to find the killer before everyone she’s close to ends up dead. Now she sees the truth.

This time it’s not business…it’s personal.

As a reader, do you like reading about the Mafia in your fiction?

Today Im gifting ten copies of Chicago Cop via Smashwords.

Current Price: $2.99

About Linsey:

Linsey Lanier is the author of a dozen novels and several short stories. She writes romantic mystery-suspense books, humorous romantic fantasy, and romance—with a dash of sass.

She has lived all over the country but currently resides in Georgia with her loving husband and several dozen yard squirrels.

Connect with Linsey here:

Linsey’s website

Linsey’s blog

Linsey on Twitter

Linsey on Facebook

******************************

Cheers to both you and your hubby’s obsession, Linsey! I luuuvvv mafia books too!!!

And thanks bunches for sharing the scoop with us and for the Ebook Gift Copies! U rock!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

23 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Linsey Lanier on Her Hubby’s Obsession with the Mafia turning into “Writing The Mafia”

  1. Linsey,

    After living in New York City’s Little Italy for 48 years, where there are more organized crime figures per square inch than anyplace in the world, I think I know what I’m talking about when it concerns these things.

    First, the Mafia is a an organized crime group in Sicily. The Cammora exists in and around Naples and the ‘Ndrangheta is in Calabria.

    Yet every time I turn around I hear someone referring to the American Mafia, which in fact, does not exist. It’s the American mob, or the Italian/American organized crime, or in Chicago – The Outfit. Nothing drives me more crazy than hearing terms like “The Russian Mafia,” or the “Chinese Mafia” or the “Albanian Mafia.” (I complain about this several times in my last book “Mobster, Gangs, Crooks, and Other Creeps – Volume 4.”)

    Sure, the American organized crime faction has ties to the Mafia in Sicily, and they even use that silly induction ceremony where the prick your finger with a pin and burn a picture of a saint in your hands. But they are not the Mafia, like it would be impossible for an tiger to be a lion. Same general species but two different animals

    BTW, Italian/America organized crime is not called, “La Cosa Nostra,” by it’s members, but only by the law enforcement. I know John Gotti was heard saying “La Cosa Nostra” on tape, but when he used that expression he meant “this things of ours,” in lower case letters. It is not a name, but an expression. These guys aren’t geniuses, so, because they are in not the real Mafia, “this thing of our” was the best they could come up with.

    Still, 99.9% of the people in America don’t know what I know, so I can’t see how it will affect the sales of your book, of which I hope are great.

    Good luck, and if you want to know any more Mafia tidbits, I’d be glad to fill you in. In my Little Italy neighborhood (which is now all Chinese), we learned about these things before we learned the alphabet.

  2. They can be very interesting to read about and sometimes, some of them may even be “likeable characters with a good side” if written in the right way, by the right author. Would love a
    copy from Smashwords.
    divavixenqueen(at)gmail(dot)com

  3. Good Morning,
    I can identify with you, my husband can not resist certain shows and movies!
    He will be going thru the TV guide and can’t help himself, he will stop everything to tune into the Godfather even if only 10 minutes of the movie remain.
    He and my sons can quote dialogue from movies.
    I now find myself sitting right along side of him and my recent favorites (TV) BOSS and MOB DOCTOR.
    We live in the Chicago area so I am intrigued by your book.
    I would love to read in on my Kindle.
    Happy New Year

  4. Joe, thanks for the detailed explanation. I did know that in Chicago, it’s “The Outfit,” and I do use that term in the novel, though I also use “Mafia.” It’s just a scarier word than “Mob,” imo, even if not technically correct. 🙂

    I do remember reading about John Gotti and “this thing of ours.” I also remember reading an excerpt in a book about Donnie Brasco that had a lot of “this thing” and “that thing.” How they ever got enough to convict these people, I don’t know.

    I think Brasco was very brave. My courage only extends to writing fiction about bad guys. 🙂

    If I ever write about this subject again, I will definitely take you up on your offer. Thanks.

    • Lindey,

      BTW, I slightly knew Donnie Brasco, real name Joe Pistone. Lefty “Guns” Ruggiero, who is played in the movie by Al Pacino, lived in the same building as I did in Knickerbocker Village in downtown Manhattan. I lived on the 6th floor at 18 Monroe, he lived on the 8th floor. I occassionaly hung out in a social club Lefty had on Madison Street, one block away from Knickerbocker.

      I saw Brasco in the club and occassionally on the elevator when he came to visit Lefty. I don’t think I ever said two words to him except “hello” and “goodbye.”

      The movie is mostly bull, the book is more acccurate. Basic incidents are incorreclty portrayed in the movie.But that’s Hollywood.

      As for Brasco being brave, I guess so. But he was just doing his job.

      But I guarantee you one thing; nobody in my neighborhood would call Brasco “brave.” Some would call him a rat, since he put half the neighborhood in jail. I would not be one of those people.

      Pistone was a good cop (FBI) who did a good job. But in my opinion, he enjoyed being a mobster too much. He was very much against being “called in,” off the streets when they FBI decided to make the arrests. He says he wanted to stay undercover to get bigger mobster fish. Another possibility is that he just liked “the life.”

      I think the truth is somewhere in between.

      Unfortunately, I also knew bad cops, who had their hands out for bribes even if the person they were “shaking down” had nothing to do with the mob.

      Read about the Knapp Commission hearings, which put an end to most, but not all, of police lawlessness. It’s portrayed accurately in “Serpico,” also with Al Pacino, and “The Price of the City” with Treat Williams.

        • Actually, I knew Lefty, and saw Joe in Lefty’s club, in a bar around the corner (116 Madison Street) and in the elevator. I don’t recall ever having any conversations with Pistone. I was a civilian and he was after the big guys. If anything, he treated me with distain; unimportant, in which he was right.

          Lefty was always friendly. He was not a dope like Pacino played him in the movie.

          Lefty was tall and handsome. Donnie Brasco was average height and did not look like Johnny Depp, who played him in the movie. Lefty looked more like Johnny Depp.

          Google “Knickerbocker Village, organized crime. Bonanno crime family.” Lots of iinformation on the net. Some of it is even true.

  5. Linsey,

    I was fascinated with the Godfather movies, and have to admit to liking suspense stories that feature mobsters. Am looking forward to starting your series! It’s on my TBR list!

Leave a Reply

