RG2E Featured Author Stacey Joy Netzel on “Character Crossover in Series”

Happy Monday, RG2E Peeps!

As many of you know, I luuuvvv to do what I call cross-pollination with my characters. In other words, I take my readers’ fave characters and write them into all of my series. For example, once you’ve met and laughed with my Mom Squad blue-haired Charlie’s Angels in The Bootscootin’ Books, you’ll also enjoy their antics in my Cozy Cash Mysteries and my Stuck with a Series Books.

Here’s one of my fave authors – Stacey Joy Netzel – who’s also doing this across her bestselling series…

SJN Author photo

Series books seem to be a favorite among readers (and writers—I know I LOVE revisiting ‘old’ friends from previous books), so I got to thinking, if an author has two well-liked series, what could be more fun than having a character from one series pop up to interact with a character from the other series? Or even multiple characters.

I write the Welcome to Redemption series (WTR) with my good friend and critique partner, Donna Marie Rogers. We’re up to six books, with 7 & 8 due out any day. For sure by the end of the week! We each write our own book, connecting them through the town, previous characters, and a shared scene told from our own characters’ point of view. But due to other obligations, we won’t have a chance to add to this series for at least another year, and I’m going to miss the residents of our small close-knit Wisconsin town.

RedemptionBoxedSet_ereader (2)

AmazonBNSW

Well, I also write the Romancing Wisconsin series (RW), set in the real town of Pulaski, WI, which just happens to neighbor our fictional town of Redemption. Convenient, right? Since I WILL be writing two additional books for this series in 2013, I have decided to pull in a few of my WTR characters to interact with my RW characters. A win for me, and hopefully a win for readers.

RWV1 Cropped Boxed 3D 600 wide 300dpi

AmazonBNKoboApple

I’m sure this isn’t my unique, genius idea, so tell me if you’ve read any authors who do this from one series to another?

For those of you who haven’t read either/both series yet, just for commenting today, I’ll draw for two winners of the ebook WTR boxed set, and two winners of the ebook RW boxed set. After you’re done reading and find the crossover character, you can enter to win your choice of a signed copy of one of my print books!

“Wait, how do I win a print book??” you ask.

If you’ve read both of these series already, or once you do, there is one WTR character who’s already very briefly been mentioned in the RW series. I’ll pick a winner for a signed PRINT book from my backlist from all who email me the correct character name to StaceyJoyNetzel (at) gmail (dot) com. Contest ends Jan. 31st, 2013.

And don’t forget, books 7 & 8 in the Welcome to Redemption series will be out by Friday!

WTR-NLMG-2

holdontome_ereader

Thank you, happy reading, and good luck!

Stacey Joy Netzel

About Stacey:

Award-winning author Stacey Joy Netzel fell in love with books at a young age, so for her the graduation to writing them was natural. An avid reader and fan of movies with a happily ever after, she is thrilled to call herself a full-time writer after 20 years as a travel agent. She writes romantic suspense, contemporary romance, and the occasional paranormal romance short story. Colorado is one of her favorite settings for her books, followed closely by Wisconsin and Italy.

She lives in her native Wisconsin with her husband and three children, a couple horses and some barn cats. In her limited free time she enjoys gardening, canning, and visiting her parents in Northeastern Wisconsin (Up North) at the family cabin on the lake.

Connect with Stacey here: 

Website and Blog:  http://www.StaceyJoyNetzel.com

Facebook: Facebook.com/StaceyJoyNetzel

Twitter:  http://twitter.com/StaceyJoyNetzel

*************************************

What a treat, Stacey! Thanks Bunches, my friend!!!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

22 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Stacey Joy Netzel on “Character Crossover in Series”

  1. I’ve actually read a couple of authors that write this way… It’s a joy for us readers because we can keep up with some of our favorite characters…

    caiidynsmommie(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. I’ve read the first 3 titles in the Welcome to Redemption series and love them. I have the rest of the series and cannot wait to read them and I’m looking forward to 7 & 8. I would really like to read the Romancing Wisconsin series on my kindle. I have read a few crossover stories from other authors and I find that I really enjoy seeing how the characters lives continue.

    • Always great when the readers love it. 🙂

      You won a copy of the Welcome To Redemption Series Collection. Please email me StaceyJoyNetzel @ gmail (.) com with your email, and what ereader you’d like me to gift the set to.

      Thanks!

  3. I love reading series. I definitely have a hard time letting go of characters so it’s great to see favorites pop up in other books. I would love a chance to win either one of your series.christygibbon at juno dot com.

  4. I love series too! Great idea to bring your best-loved characters into a new one. Looking forward to reading your books – I live only about twenty miles from Pulaski in the summer months and we go to Pulaski Days every summer – great fun!

    • Very cool, L! I do take some liberties with the town (like the Christmas parade), but other things are authentic. 🙂 I got permission to use the Figaro’s Pizza name and the owner’s name, too. She was tickled to have her name in the book. I do need to start going to some of their festivals…especially Polka Days this summer, so I can feature that in a book. Hey, I see the focus of my next story! Thanks for the reminder!!!

  5. It’s definitely a great way to catch up with old characters you love to read about, and you may, get to find out something new about them in the process that you didn’t know before. The Romancing Wisconsin series looks like it’s going to be a fun read.
    P.s Absolutely loved “Lost in Italy”?
    divavixenqueen(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Thanks so much, Diva! I’m even considering having some relationship issues from a former couple show up, but then have them resolve it by the end. Keep things a bit more true to life, but still have that HEA.

      PS: working on the LII sequel, personal deadline April 15th!

  6. Good Morning,
    I love a series! It is fun to get to know the characters, and soon they become like your family. With a series you get to go back and see what they are up to, how they have grown and developed. DD Scott has done an outstanding job with cross over, Bootscootin’ series crosses over to Cozy Cash and I love every single installment!
    I have the Welcome to Redemption Set, it is the current selection for my Book club, we are having a great deal of fun with the selection – looking forward to the next books in the series.
    I am still in the Holiday mindset (I would enjoy the Holidays all year long – especially the kindness and good will!)
    so I would love to read the Romancing Wisconsin series on my Kindle.
    Happy New Year
    bkg0605@aol.com

    • Barbara–yes, DD is a master. See–I knew the ‘genius idea’ wasn’t unique to me. LOL

      So COOL to hear WTR is your book club selection. I hope you all love our town and our friends. Yes, we think of them as friends. 🙂

  7. I love reading series. I have the Welcome to Redemption set and looking forward to reading volume 7 & 8. I would love the chance to get the Romancing Wisconsin series to read. Thanks for the chance.
    beckyqward@gmail.com

  8. Thanks to all who shared their love of series and crossover characters!

    The winners of the boxed sets are: L.Leander, LaTanya, Becky, and Teresa.

    (I’ll send an email to find out where to gift them to.)

Leave a Reply

