RG2E Featured Author Stacy Green on “Failing Gloriously at New Year’s Resolutions”

Wavin’ atchya, RG2E Peeps!

How are y’all doin’ with your New Year’s Resolutions?

Here’s RG2E Featured Author Stacy Green to chat with you about her progress…

StacyFall1press

We all do it, even if we don’t want to admit it. Come January 1st, we make our lists of all the things we want to improve about ourselves in the next year. Sometimes the lists are simple, but if you’re like me, they’re usually loaded with lofty goals and life-changing ideas.

Here’s a few examples from January 2012 resolutions:

Work out every day, 45 minutes a day.

Write two full-length novels and a novella.

Sell 1000 copies of Into The Dark in its first month of release.

Like I said, lofty goals! The only one I really came close to hitting is the exercise goal, and that only last for a few months. I always thought I hated being on the treadmill, but this fall, I worked out at least five days a week and built up enough stamina to run for 15 minutes straight with no break. Even better–I enjoyed it! Trust me, that’s big for me. And then I let life get in the way. I have a million excuses, but I won’t bore you with them. Suffice it to say, I have to start over with my exercise…again.

Now, the writing stuff. Talking about biting off more than I could chew! Maybe some people could do it, but not me. Not in my first year as a full-time author. Too many distractions, too much to learn, and then there’s the kiddo I’m raising. Still, I did manage to write a second novel and a short story, and I did a ton of blogging.

And selling a 1000 copies my first month? Stop laughing. I know, big dreams by a naïve girl who didn’t understand that for 99% of published authors, sales are a slow burn. Unless you’re Snooki or some other vapid celebrity, you can’t put out a book and expect it to burn up the charts. You’ve got to earn the readers’ time, and this year I’m going to work hard on doing just that.

So I’m revamping my New Years Resolutions into something I actually have a shot at achieving.

Work out 3 times a week. You don’t have to run. JUST GET ON THE TREADMILL!

Write as much as you can. Books come first. More books sell books. All the marketing stuff is extra and probably a large waste of time.

Don’t worry about sales. Meet readers and get to know them.

Learn how to make ravioli from scratch.

Don’t eat your weight in chocolate (this may be a futile goal).

What do you think? Can I do it? What are your New Year’s Resolutions? Which ones have you accomplished, and which ones did you fail gloriously?

I’m gifting a copy of Into The Dark to three lucky commenters, so make sure you leave your email address!

intothedark333x500BLOGS

INTO THE DARK 

IT’S THE MOMENTS FROM OUR PAST THAT BIND US.

Branch Manager Emilie Davis is having a day like any other–until two masked men storm into WestOne Bank demanding cash.  Her hopes of a quick end to her terror are dashed when she realizes one of the men has no interest in the bank’s money. Emilie is his prize, and he’s come to claim her.

When hostage negotiator Nathan Madigan and Las Vegas SWAT enter the bank on a rescue mission, Emilie’s captor makes a shocking escape into the abyss that lies beneath the city: the Las Vegas storm drains, a refuge for the downtrodden and the desperate.

HOW WILL IT END?

Who is the man the media has dubbed the “Taker?” Why is he after Emilie, and what is the connection he’s convinced they share?

Emilie can’t run from the Taker, and she can’t escape her own past. As her life closes in on her, she has nowhere to turn but to Nathan. The lines of professionalism blur as Nathan becomes determined to save Emilie. Together they venture into the depths beneath Las Vegas and discover a shocking piece of the puzzle.

But the Taker remains one step ahead. Desperate for the threat to emerge from the shadows, Emilie makes a bold move to reclaim her life, and it may cost her everything.

What readers are saying about INTO THE DARK… 

“A chilling suspense tale that strikes fear…twisted obsessed parody of love…”

“Well written and skillfully crafted…”

“Exciting, fast-paced thriller with an intriguing plot.”

“Character development is superb…”

Into The Dark on Amazon

Coffeetime Romance

Bookstrand
All other digital formats at MuseItUp Publishing

Buy the paperback

About Stacy:

Stacy Green is fascinated by the workings of the criminal mind and explores true crime on her popular Thriller Thursday posts at her blog, Turning the Page.

After earning her degree in journalism, Stacy worked in advertising before becoming a stay-at-home mom to her miracle child. She rediscovered her love of writing and wrote several articles for Women’s Edition Magazine of Cedar Rapids, profiling local businesses, before penning her first novel. Her debut novel, INTO THE DARK, is set in Las Vegas and features a heroine on the edge of disaster, a tormented villain, and the city’s infamous storm drains that house hundreds of homeless. INTO THE DARK is available on all digital formats and paperback November 30th.

Sign up for Stacy’s newsletter for exclusive excerpts and special pricing!

Website: www.stacygreen.net

Follow Stacy online at her blog, www.stacygreenauthor.com

Twitter @StacyGreen26
Facebook Stacy Green, Author

Enter the INTO THE DARK Charity Raffle!

The homeless living in the storm drains of Las Vegas played a vital part in INTO THE DARK, and I want to give back. From November 1st until February 28th, participants will have several options to enter the raffle, including donating to HELP of Southern Nevada. The grand prize will be a $100 donation from me in the winner’s name to the homeless shelter of their choice.

********************************

I can’t wait to read INTO THE DARK, Stacy, and I just luuuvvv what you’re doing for the homeless in Southern Nevada. U rock!!!

Thanks sooo much for sharing with us today and for the Ebook Gift Copies too!!!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

20 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Stacy Green on “Failing Gloriously at New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. Here are mine. 1 Lose a few pounds. Have started to already by following Slimming World plan. 2 Writing – reach more readers by different ways. Either online or in person. 3. Develop a new series about a magical village. 4. Get published in a women’s fiction mag. and 5. Raise awareness to others about Asperger’s Syndrome/autism in adults, esp women. Have begun no 3 already.

  2. I might be one of those really strange people that don’t make resolutions. I try not to make myself feel like I have to do something. That just sets me up to fail. I would love to read Into The Dark. christygibbon at juno dot com

    • I think that’s a great way to look at it. I read somewhere that resolutions actually cause more issues with failure and depression than anything else.

      Thanks for commenting!

  3. Thanks for the post, Stacy! I can’t wait to read your novel (I’ve got it on my Kindle at last, hopefully contributing to your sales #s). I love your resolutions this year, and I can so relate to those pesky kiddos we have to raise getting in the way of writing! 😉 I can also relate to having writing goals and not meeting them. But, if the things that get in our way are important things (like kiddos), it’s okay! I think you can definitely meet your goals… but with the eating your weight in chocolate thing, who’s counting? Chocolate = caffeine = neurons firing = good writing! At least that’s how I justify my addiction!

    • Thanks, Tamara. I hop you enjoy the book! I know you’ve been really busy so I appreciate your reading. LOL on the kiddo. I try to do as much as I can with her when she is home from school, and I need to work on being more productive throughout my day.

      Ugh on the weight thing. Story of my life and always will be. I like your thinking on chocolate tho … good reasoning!

  4. Stacy, I think you can meet your goals. Every year I try to lose weight and sometimes I do and other times I don’t, I just don’t make that as one of my goals each year. I only made to for this year and that is to try and read more books around my work schedule and try to save up money to do some remodeling in my home. I also have been think about going back to school, but haven’t decided on that yet. I would love to read Into The Dark for the kindle. Thanks.
    beckyqward@gmail.com

    • Shoot. My problem is I lost a ton on the Ideal Protein diet and then put on 20. It’s very hard to keep off without eating like a bird. I need to do a better job with exercising. That is the key. But I can always think of 1000 reasons why I can’t get downstairs to do it. Isn’t that ridiculous?

      I can’t imagine going back to school, but good for you. Good luck if you decide to go that way, and thanks!

  5. I’d love to lose some weight, but my main goal is to just be healthier, which exercising helps accomplish. 3x per week is my ideal goal, too, so I don’t burn out. Good luck to both of us! As you know, I already read Into the Dark and loved it. 🙂

  6. Get on the treadmill?
    Isn’t that what they call ‘being a writer?’ 🙂
    Sheesh … ever since I decided to start editing and self-publishing my late-night hobby, I’ve been a literal hampster on a wheel!
    I think for MYSELF my goal this year will be ‘get OFF the treadmill of non-productive marketing’ and spent more time doing what I love most, writing!
    Great interview!

Leave a Reply

