RG2E Featured Author Lizzie Starr on “The Time Suck of Reading”

Happy Sunday, RG2E Peeps!

Do authors take time to read like all of your superfab RG2E Peeps?

Here’s the scoop from RG2E Feautured Author Lizzie Starr…

image_lizzie

Great title for a post on a reader’s blog, isn’t it?

I’ve been thinking a lot about reading lately—because over the past year, my reading has really sucked. Instead of curling up before bed with a good book, I’ve let myself get hooked on simple games—Mahjong in a current favorite. Matching tiles does give my brain a challenge, at least that’s what I tell myself. But does it help my writing?

Not in the least.

Authors must first be readers. I’m sure when you ask any author they’ll admit to a voracious reading appetite. An author spills thousands upon thousands of words across the pages of their works in progress. Some are good words, some great, and some destined for the delete button. Sometimes I worry I’m going to run out of words.

That’s part of the reason attacking the TBR pile is so important. Reading refills my well, and refreshed, my own words sprout into new ideas, a delightful turn of phrase, or a new way of saying something old and tired. Reading encourages writing far beyond an author’s original thought of ‘I can do that’.

“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”  ― Stephen King

It’s also so important to read in different genres. Our favorite type of story will always be there, but sometimes, just sometimes, another tales, something we’d never considered, will capture our attention and keep us enthralled for the entire story. And surprise! Often we want more of the same. A new reading love is born.

So is reading a time suck? Not at all. It’s an opportunity for growth, a chance to escape into another place, even another world. Most important, reading refreshes your mind, spirit and outlook better than any drug. Even chocolate! (I can’t believe I said that!)

This year I’m challenging myself in the reading department. I’ve got TBR piles of physical books, ebooks and audio books just waiting for me. There are favorite genres, a variety of books that simply caught my eye and a big pile of non-fiction I’ve been promising myself I’d get to. I’m setting myself a steep challenge—because I know I’m going to learn and discover new authors this coming year as well.

The RG2E is a perfect place to make first contact with a new genre, or an ‘as of yet unknown to you’ author. Take advantage of this excellent reading resource.

And take my challenge to read more in 2013!

To start you off I’m gifting up to 6 ebooks to commenters. You can choose between a contemporary romantic suspense Birds Do It!, or the first book of The Double Keltic Triad, By Keltic Design. Oh, I suppose if you find another of my books you might want, I’d consider gifting those as well. Check out the tabs on my blog  starrwords for my available titles.

Birds Do It!

BirdsDoIt_B_Front 

Macaws as lovebirds?

An avian expert, Birdie Simons is called to help control a cantankerous hyacinth macaw during a young girl’s birthday party. Inexorably drawn to each other, she and single father Garr Logan share an afternoon of joy and bittersweet memories, for Garr’s wife died the same day as Birdie’s newborn child.

Something about Rachelle makes Birdie wonder if the golden-haired girl is her daughter, switched at birth. Then her child’s father returns, dogging her search for understanding and throwing her deeper into fear and confusion.

Ready to move on after his wife’s death, Garr wants the intriguing woman, but Birdie keeps the search, threats and hidden relationships to herself, driving a wedge between them.

Will discovering the truth from nine years ago bring them closer, or forever tear them apart?

Amazon

$2.99

By Keltic Design

ByKelticDesign_Front

Allyn Keely, Celtic artist and friend of Faerie, finally finds a man she can love. But she’s older than he is and faces the insurmountable task of helping him realize his destiny in the Otherworld.

Successful businessman, Jaye Zeroun prides himself on his realistic, but lonely, view of life. Until Allyn knots her way around his heart and fills his life with a fantasy he refuses to believe. Then danger threatens their love, forcing him to either accept a deadly battle or lose the very things he never included in his life, a family and a love beyond his wildest imagining.

Amazon  Barnes & Noble  Kobo  Smashwords

$2.99

About Lizzie:

Lizzie always made up games and stories to keep her company, so, a witch lived in Grampa’s weather research station and was only held at bay by waving a certain weed. An ancient road grader morphed into boat a carrying wild adventurers to islands filled with sheep that turned into lions and cannibals. Now, filled with fantasy and love, the stories of her imagination have found their way into the mundane world. And when Lizzie has to return to that mundane life, she’s *the Lunch Lady* at a private school. Author and lunch lady~~what a combination!

Lizzie adores hearing what you think about her tales of romance with a sparkling twist.

Connect with Lizzie here:

www.lizziestarr.com

http://starrwords.blogspot.com

www.twitter.com/lizziestarr

www.facebook.com/lizzie-starr

amazon author page

google+

Goodreads

**************************

I read a ton, Lizzie! Literally, pun intended, every night I curl up in my reading chair with a glass of wine or (in the Winter months) hot cocoa and brandy and read for fun from my TBR Kindle Library! 🙂 Okay…I also play a few games of Bejeweled on my Fire too! 🙂

Thanks Bunches for chatting with us today and for the Ebook Gift Copies too! And Happy Reading!!!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

10 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Lizzie Starr on “The Time Suck of Reading”

  1. Great post, Lizzie! I agree with you about RG2E being the perfect place to find new authors and/or a new genre to read. I have found plenty of new genres and authors to read from RG2E. I would love to have a copy of Birds Do It! for the Kindle. Thanks!

  2. I’ve been introduced to new authors and genres here on RG2E…
    Birds Do It sounds like a good read (for kindle please)…

    caiidynsmommie(at)gmail(dot)com

  3. I’ve met so many great, new authors here. I would love a copy of By Keltic Design to add to my large TBR pile. I promise to keep working on whittling it down. christygibbon at juno dot com

  4. I have always believed that the best How To Write books are great books. The best way to study fiction writing is fiction reading. Again, who knows if I’m right, but I enjoy the theory because it fits with my behavior.

Leave a Reply

