RG2E Featured Author Heather Sutherlin on How Pinterest Helps Her Create Her Story Worlds

Happy Monday, RG2E Peeps!

How many of you are Pinterest addicts, like I am and as is today’s RG2E Featured Author Heather Sutherlin?!

Here’s what Pinterest means to Heather…

IMG_4185 (2)

Happy Monday, Readers! I hope you all had a fabulous weekend. I curled up with a nice book and snuggled with my man for most of the weekend. When I’m not reading a book, I’m writing one, so either way I usually spend my weekends immersed in a fantasy land. That sometimes makes Monday mornings extra yucky. Back to the real world!

If it were up to me, I would spend all my time walking around in my imaginary worlds. Right now I’m finishing up a series where the main characters have crossed through a portal in the forest and find themselves on an adventure in another world. It’s beautiful there and my fingers can’t type fast enough as I try to describe all that my mind sees. The main character, Rory, is trapped in a dark forest where the paths disappear and the most beautiful of creatures can be the deadliest. Last week I found myself trying to describe how Rory saw a swarm of blue butterflies turn into a gown for a woodland spirit called a Harken. She was gorgeous and so mesmerizing that Rory followed her off the path without even realizing it! As you can imagine, it’s tough sometimes trying to find just the right words to describe something that only exists in your mind. That’s where I rely on Pinterest.

blue butterfly swarm

How many of my Pinterest-addicted friends are here? Raise your hand. I see you. Don’t worry I won’t tell. We’re in this together, girlfriends! For the rest of you who haven’t yet taken the plunge, or are left scratching your heads, allow me to share with you the awesomeness that is Pinterest. You can start by visiting one of my boards. I keep one for each book series I’m working on so that I can save photos that inspire me as I’m writing. When I get stuck, I pull up Pinterest and use the photos I’ve saved to help me visualize settings or characters that I’m describing. If you browse around my boards, you’ll see that I save new story ideas right next to boards on cooking and crafting or home decorating. If you want a giggle and some cupcake recipes, visit my board titled, “For My Sister.” Another fabulous thing about Pinterest is that it allows you to follow other people that have similar interests. I swap story ideas with other authors and find some incredible books to read, then I swipe recipe and home decorating ideas while I’m there. It’s a blast! All you have to do is login and then click “Follow” on my page to follow me on Pinterest and see what I’m dreaming about next.

Here’s what I’ve been up to lately:

Seen Front Cover copy

Rory has no idea what’s going on in the woods behind her house, but it’s driving her crazy. On the last day of her senior year she finds herself caught up once again in the curious happenings of the forest and walks away without any of the answers she was hoping to find. To make matters worse, she is sent to visit a sick neighbor and instead finds the hottest guy she’s ever seen. When she discovers his brother’s incredible secret she falls further into her own chaos and into a fate she never could have imagined.

Jaron is just counting the days until the summer is over and he can get back to his real life. Stuck with his little brother on a tiny farm in rural Oklahoma is not exactly his idea of fun. But when Rory shows up on his doorstep with an armload of pie, he knows his summer has just taken a sharp turn into new territory. He never expected the adventure they would discover next or the quest that would change their lives forever.

You can find SEEN on Kindle, Nook, Kobo, and iTunes ($2.99) and learn more about me on my website.

Do you often wonder what your favorite authors are daydreaming about next? Do you follow authors on Pinterest? Tell us what you want to know about the authors you adore.

And how many of you would like an Ebook Gift Copy of SEEN?! Let us know below, and you just might win one!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

16 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Heather Sutherlin on How Pinterest Helps Her Create Her Story Worlds

  1. PInterest is a great find for me. Thanks to DD for showing it to me last year. I use it for liking things that I am passionate about eg healthy eating, and mainly for promoting my ebooks by putting up the covers, commenting on other pins that can be connected to my ebooks, and recently for pinning products that I have designed on Zazzle to promote my ebooks. Sometimes I have seen an image and it’s given me an idea for another story. I would like a copy of Seen, as it sounds like my cup of tea.

  2. Piterest is something I haven’t tried yet. I’m thinking about it though. I would love a kindle copy of Seen. christygibbon at juno dot com.

    • I was years behind all of my friends who kept telling me Pinterest was “the BEST!” Now I know what all the fuss was about! If you click through the links in the post you can get an idea of how Pinterest works. I use it to sort websites and photos that inspire me, or to keep a running “To Do” list with links to DIY sites.

  3. Good morning! I wanted to mention that I’m hosting a scavenger hunt for free books this month on my website and this post is a link to the clues. To play, just follow my website link and click on the button that says Share the Love Scavenger Hunt. I’m giving away books and other swag. Thank you for visiting RG2E today. We L-O-V-E our readers!

  4. Pingback: Guest on RG2E | Heather Sutherlin

Leave a Reply

