RG2E Reader Polls: Are You Using Amazon’s Kindle Owners’ Lending Library?

Happy Weekend, RG2E Peeps!

We’ve got a few questions for ya today about Amazon’s Kindle Owners’ Lending Library…

question mark

Not sure what that is?

Here’s the scoop…

Some of the Indie Epublished books you see on Amazon have this message under the pricing section:

For Kindle Device Owners

With your Amazon Prime membership, you can borrow this book for free from your Kindle device.

With Prime, Kindle owners can choose from over 270,000 titles to borrow for free – including all seven Harry Potter books and more than 100 current and former New York Times best sellers. Borrow a book as frequently as once per month, with no due dates. Learn more about Kindle Owners’ Lending Library.

Basically then, if you’re an Amazon Prime Member (costs around $79 per year), you can “borrow” 1 Ebook per month for FREE. At the end of the month, you either have to “return” the book or you can buy it.

Here are a few questions regarding the Kindle Owners’ Lending Library:

Tell us your thoughts about this Amazon Feature and be entered to win a $10 Amazon Gift Card!

***Note: This is an important series of questions for authors too. Why? Authors are paid a fee each time one of their books is borrowed in this program. They are only allowed to participate in the program though, if their books are exclusive to Amazon. That’s why, for example, I chose not to participate in it as an author…because I don’t want all of you superfab Nook, Sony, Kobo, Apple and other readers to not be able to read my books.

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

9 thoughts on “RG2E Reader Polls: Are You Using Amazon’s Kindle Owners’ Lending Library?

  1. I think getting a sample to read should be enough for you come to a decision on weather or not you wanna buy the book… if you’ve read the book for free you basically accomplished your goal od reading this book. There is really no need to buy it now…

    caiidynsmommie(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. I like being able to borrow a book free. I normally get a book that is the beginning of a series. That way I can get introduced to the series and decide whether I want to invest in the rest or not. Sometimes a sample is just not enough. It is a real bonus when there are more books in the series eligible to borrow. The author still gets money from me borrowing the book so it feels like a win-win. christygibbon at juno dot com

  3. I don’t use the Amazon’s Kindle Owners’ Lending Library. I like the idea of borrowing a book for free especially if it is a new author to me or the first book of a new series. This way I then can decide if I want to read more of the series or something else by that author.

  4. Hello,
    No I do not participate in Amazon Prime.
    I can purchase many books for $79.
    I would rather purchase the books and read at my pace.
    I read on average 5 – 6 books a month!
    Not only do I now own these books:
    *The author is paid
    *I can read and re-read these books (yes I am one of those that will re-read a book)
    *I can lend the book to a friend or family member.
    I love my Amazon Kindle and the ability to one click purchase, immediate download without USB transfer.
    I do however believe books should be available everywhere, and to everyone.
    There should not be an exclusive by one retailer.
    I hope this comment was not too long and helps in your research.
    bkg0605(at)aol(dot)com

  5. I’ve used the library a few times, but I forget about it most of the time. I don’t usually buy the books I’ve borrowed, but if they’re really good, I’ll buy more from the author, if they have other books out.
    Dana@danadelamar.com

  6. I haven’t used the library before, but I agree with Barbara in a way but I really ca’t say that I know enough about to truly say! Even though I do have a kindle now, my first e- reader was a nook and I would be disappointed if I was looking forward to a book only to find out it was only offered at Amazon! Truth be told that is why I asked for a Kindle for Christmas!
    allysonbrann06@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

