RG2E Featured Author Christy Hayes asks “Book Clubs…What’s Your Stance?”

TGIF, RG2E Peeps!

What a wonderful week of Ereading we’ve enjoyed together!!! I can’t wait to tally up all of your fabulous comments!

In the meantime, let’s give a warm welcome to RG2E Featured Author Christy Hayes.

biopic5x7

Christy has a question for u…

Book Clubs…What’s Your Stance?

Take it away, Christy…

I belong to a book club, or, I used to. My book club fizzled out and I’m not really sure why. Our group was small, our reading tastes similar, and we all loved to read. I think we no longer meet because we couldn’t find a time when all our members could get together.

I miss being in a book club for many reasons. I loved reading books that I would never have picked up on my own. I read books about other cultures, I discovered unknown-to-me authors, and I marveled at the different things people walk away from a book appreciating.

Often, the members of my group were drawn to certain characters and plot points in the books we read. Listening to the members discuss the things they liked and didn’t like was fascinating. As an author, I miss having that research group at my fingertips.

Many authors will admit they read differently since they started writing. I find it much harder to enjoy a book and really lose myself in the story because I’m too busy dissecting the plot, looking for the hook, anticipating the climax, and thinking of ways I would have written the book differently. I know I’ve discovered a truly gifted author when I no longer look for these things and just get caught up in the story.

So what about you, RG2E? Are you in a book club? If so, what do you appreciate most about the experience? 

I’ll be giving away my romantic women’s fiction title, Angle of Incidence, today at RG2E.

Angle cover 960x1280jpeg

Here’s a short synopsis:

Gwen Perry has the picture perfect life. Her Washington D.C. based photography business is booming, her husband’s law career is lucrative, and after years of trying, they’re only months away from the birth of their first child. 

While a nasty turn of fate leaves Gwen devastated, angry, and on the verge of depression, her husband Rob walks a dangerous tight rope. He’s hiding something from Gwen that could destroy their marriage. But even the deepest secrets won’t stay buried forever. 

When Rob’s past is revealed, Gwen agrees to join her college friend at the artists’ retreat he’s leading in Colorado despite the consequences to her marriage. But Rob’s not the only one keeping secrets from the past and her trip down memory lane could burn the bridge leading her back home.

Amazon

Smashwords

Barnes & Noble

$3.99

About Christy:

Christy Hayes writes romance and romantic women’s fiction. She’s a member of Romance Writers of America and Romance Writers of America Women’s Fiction chapter. She lives outside Atlanta, Georgia, with her husband, two children, and two dogs.

Please visit her website at www.christyhayes.com for more information.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Awesome scoop, Christy, and thanks bunches for the Ebook Gift Copies too!!!

RG2E Peeps – let us know below if you’d like an Ebook Gift Copy of ANGEL OF INCIDENCE, and you just might win one!

Did y’all know that The RG2E also has its own Book Club on Goodreads?! You can join here:

http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/62304-we-read-indie-books-rg2e

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

10 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Christy Hayes asks “Book Clubs…What’s Your Stance?”

  1. I love my book club, Christy. I end up reading a lot of books I’d have never picked up or even heard about that way. And it’s fun meeting with everyone, though I have to admit to missing it more often lately since I’m trying to get my own books out!

  2. I’m in a great book club with neighborhood friends. What I like the most of our book club is the different perspectives of each of the ladies. Some of us are single; some are married. Some have grown children; some have infants. We have different religious and political beliefs. We come from different parts of the country. And we all have extremely different perspectives on the books we read. I gain fresh insight on the world by hearing my friends talk about the books we read. Also, we all like to read different types of books, so I’m often challenged by a read I normally wouldn’t pick up. (Non-fiction, anyone? Ugh! But, once and a while, it helps the brain grow, I believe!)

  3. I just discuss books I’ve read with my Mom since we tell each other what we are reading. I do follow a few book discussion groups online. They actually get me to read books that I may not read otherwise. I would love a copy of Angel of Incidence for my kindle. christygibbon at juno dot com

  4. Hello,
    I am a part of a book club.
    I enjoy the discussion and the opportunity to get another perspective.
    It amazes me that we all read the same material and come away with a different meanings.
    My book club is made up of family members and close friends.
    We cover three generations so we have varied interests
    It is great to get together, and read some great books
    (Many we may not have considered on our own.
    Unfortunately when you have such a group when you have a family issue (illness etc.)
    everything stops, and it takes a lot of effort to get things back on track.
    I would love a copy of “Angel of Incidence” for Amazon Kindle.
    Thank you for the opportunity.

    bkg0605(at)aol(dot)com

  5. I would love a copy of “Angel of Incidence” for Amazon Kindle.
    I used to belong to a book club, but haven’t found one locally since moving. I used to belong to a couple online book clubs but the last two and half years I haven’t had time to be part of them. I enjoyed being part of a book club since I ended up reading a lot of books I’d have never picked up or heard of.
    Thank you for the opportunity.
    beckyqward@gmail.com

  6. Thanks, everyone, for your comments about book clubs. I don’t feel like such a loser because mine slipped away. They are hard work to keep them going!!

Leave a Reply

