RG2E Featured Author Stacey Joy Netzel on Her Favorite Reader Comment “I Wish It Were Longer…”

Happy Monday, RG2E Peeps!

For an author, nothing beats knowing our readers are really loving our books and want more.

Here’s RG2E Featured Author Stacey Joy Netzel on that very thing…

SJN Author photo

“I wish it were longer…” 

As an author, those are words I love to hear. It means the reader wanted more. They loved the book, but didn’t want it to end so they could continue to spend time with their new ‘friends.’ Not to be confused with “The story ended too soon,” which many times means the reader wasn’t satisfied with the way the story ended.

I have a shorter story that has received both these responses. The readers who wish for more usually leave a great review. The ones who say it ended too soon, well…not so much. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, and this is not to complain about the readers who expected more. I am sorry if I let them down.

The thing is for me, when I wrote the final sentence for that story, it was done. My characters were on their way to their Happily Ever After (HEA), and there was nothing left to tell. Forcing more wouldn’t have satisfied me, or any of my readers.

Then came my story Beneath Still Waters (Part One), in the Tales From The Mist anthology.

Tales_From_the_Mist_cover - final 

An old legend tells of a beautiful witch unjustly persecuted who became a ghost bent on revenge…

The danger lies in not believing.

On a sorority camping trip in the Colorado Rocky Mountain National Park, Becca scoffs at the story of the Ghost of Still Waters, despite the convictions of her fellow campers, Liz and Shane. When Liz challenges her to summon the witch’s spirit, will Becca’s disbelief seal her fate?

Amazon, Amazon UK, BN, ARe, Kobo, SW, Goodreads

I was writing to a word count limit, but the closer I got to 8,000 words, the more antsy I got, because I could feel there was no way the characters’ story would truly be finished to my satisfaction within that limit. But I really wanted to be part of the wonderful collaboration of stories, so I wrapped BSW up, and then decided to write a sequel.

Rising Above (Still Waters Part Two) took me by surprise, too. What I’d expected to be about 15,000 words morphed into 35,000 before the characters stopped ‘talking’ and I could give them the ending they’d earned. And you know what…there’s still the remote possibility that one of the characters from this series will start talking to me in the future.

If she does, there will be a Still Waters (Part Three).

In the meantime I’d love to offer five ebook copies of Tales From The Mist today. Hopefully you’ll WISH Beneath Still Waters was longer and pick up a copy of Rising Above (Still Waters Part Two).

Rising_Above_ebook_cover_1333x2000 

Imagine you’ve lived before, but don’t remember or believe it’s even possible. Therein lies the danger. For in not believing and learning from your pasts, the power shifts to the one who would see you dead. Again.

Ryan James never gave much thought to ghosts or the idea of reincarnation—until the appearance of the beautiful Ali Whitman triggers terrifying visions that feel like real life. As he pieces together their past lives, he discovers they aren’t the only players. Worse, if he can’t convince Ali to believe before their past adversary makes the next move, he’ll lose her all over again.

Amazon, BN, Apple, ARe, Kobo, SW 

And now, my question for you lovely readers: Do you more often find yourself wishing a story were longer, or thinking it ended too soon?

Let me know in the comments, along with your email address, and I’ll draw 5 winners for a download of the Tales From The Mist ebook.

Thank you for stopping by today!

Stacey Joy Netzel

Award-winning author Stacey Joy Netzel fell in love with books at a young age, so for her the graduation to writing them was natural. An avid reader and fan of movies with a happily ever after, she is thrilled to call herself a full-time writer after 20 years as a travel agent. She writes romantic suspense, contemporary romance, and the occasional paranormal romance short story. Colorado is one of her favorite settings for her books, followed closely by Wisconsin and Italy.

Follow Stacey online:

Website and Blog:  http://www.StaceyJoyNetzel.com

Facebook: Facebook.com/StaceyJoyNetzel

Twitter:  http://twitter.com/StaceyJoyNetzel

Newsletter signup: http://eepurl.com/o6jT5

***********************************

Loved this Behind the Scenes Scoop, Stacey, and can’t wait to read your new series!

Thanks Bunches for sharing with us and for the Ebook Gift Copies too! U rock!!!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

16 thoughts on “RG2E Featured Author Stacey Joy Netzel on Her Favorite Reader Comment “I Wish It Were Longer…”

  1. Yes, I wish a lot of stories were longer. I’d like a copy of Tales From The Mist for Kindle. Thanks.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  2. I love both of your Beneath Still Waters stories, Stacey! I recently had someone contact me and said she read my story out loud as she and her husband were traveling somewhere. She said he was so engrossed that when it was over he yelled – “Nooooo. Tell her she has to write more!” She said she’d never seen him that caught up in a story before. Completely made my week. 🙂

  3. I always hate when a good story ends, I think that is why I love a series!
    I have found a lot of great stories and authors from reading collaborations.
    I have not read “Tales From the Mist” I think I would enjoy it, as I love your work.
    I would like a copy for my Amazon Kindle please.
    Thank you so much.

    bkg0605(at)aol(dot)com

  4. I like long novels.Though, if it’s too wordy, might have a problem with it and be forced to put it down. Short ones,generally are too short, even if they are really, really good. Every time I read a short one, and you get to the end, it’s just getting good or you just want to find out more about the characters. I’d love to win a copy from Smashwords, it looks really good. Thank you.
    divavixenqueen(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. I loved Beneath Still Waters(part one). I haven’t gotten a copy of Rising Above yet. I’m looking forward to reading part two. There is a lot of stories that I have read that I wish were longer than they were. Some of them just didn’t seem to end right to me, like something was missing from the story.
    beckyqward@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

