RG2E Peeps: Meet Featured Author Terri J. Haynes, An Army Wife Who Loves Christian Fiction and Reality TV

Wavin’ atchya, RG2E Peeps!

You’re in for a treat today..with another RG2E First-Timer, Featured Author Terri J. Haynes, who’s an Army Wife, with a Masters in Theological Studies, and who also writes Christian Fiction with a dose of Reality TV.

Take it away, Terri…

4f12437057180a7e9d9a8f.L._V391787187_SX200_

My husband told me that I devour books. He’s right. I read like my life depends on it and am willing to go to some great lengths to get my hands on a good book. This is not a new condition for me. I’ve always loved books and I’ve done a few things that some would consider extreme.

Like getting myself locked in the library overnight so I could read all the books.

In my little young mind, one night was all I needed to read all the books in my local library and the dream was born. I spent days thinking of a master plan. Each night, I paid attention to which doors led where and which ones were left unlocked at closing time. On the night I decided to carry out my plan, I fixed myself an extra a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and packed a flashlight and I was good to go.

I didn’t “see no danger,” a phrase my mother used often when people did crazy stuff without considering the outcome. Besides, I was relatively safe. In inner city Baltimore, the library was the last place drug dealers, thugs and murders would be late at night. Besides, they had other things to do at night than to be worried about a crazy kid trying to get herself locked in the library.

Of course, my plan failed. The storage room door that was always left unlocked just happened to be locked that night and I had no backup plan. I was heartbroken, but in retrospect, I think it was God’s way of looking out for children and fools (that saying is not in the Bible, by the way. I know. I read the whole thing). I think my plan was a little of both, maybe more fool than child.

Now that I’m older and hopefully wiser, I still do sorta outrageous things but they are much less extreme than I did when I was a kid. Now I just stay up all night reading and go through the next day exhausted. Or with a crook in my neck. I go to the library and check out bags of books. Maybe I have over 400 books on my Kindle Fire (okay I’m over 500, but don’t judge me).

How far are you willing to go for books?

About Terri:

I’m a native Baltimorean, a homeschool mom, Army wife, writer, prolific knitter and freelance graphic artist. I love to read, so much that when I was in elementary school, I masterminded a plan to be locked in a public library armed with only a flashlight and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. As I grew, my love for writing grew as I tried my hand at poetry, articles, speeches and fiction. I’m a storyteller at heart. My passion is to draw readers in the story world I create and to bring laughter and joy to their lives.

I hold a Bachelor’s Degree in Theology, a Master’s degree in Theological Studies and a certificate in creative writing and graphic design, meeting the minimal requirements of being a geek. I’m a contributing columnist for UrbanFaith.com and Believe.com. I live in Maryland with my three wonderful children and my husband, who often beg me not to kill off their favorite characters.

You can learn more about me in this interview:

http://infinitecharacters.com/2012/10/26/an-interview-with-terri-j-haynes-author-of-love-simplified/

Today, I’m Ebook Gifting Copies of my debut Indie Epublished Book…so let us know below if you’d like a copy, and please leave your email address in your comment too.

LS_Final

Price: $1.99

Tempest Day is an expert on helping others find love through her Connection Parties matchmaking service and the methods outlined in her bestselling book, Love Simplified. She’s one step away from becoming a celebrity matchmaker, the pinnacle of her career dreams.

But when a seemingly simple interview on the nation’s most popular daytime television show takes an ugly turn, Tempest is forced to admit a secret she’s carried for years: She’s never been in love. The fallout is immediate and severe. So severe that the only way to fix the damage is to use her own methods on a reality TV show.

Tempest soon discovers that love is anything but simple. The show and its cranky but handsome associate producer, Lance Moretti, challenges all that Tempest thought she knew about relationships, even her relationship with God. What starts as a desperate attempt to repair her reputation turns into Tempest’s biggest love connection ever.

Connect with Terri here:

Visit her blog, www.inotherwords.terrijhaynes.com or her website, www.terrijhaynes.com

********************************

This sounds so good, Terri! And I just luuuvvved your library story! U Go, Girl!!!

Thanks bunches for chatting with us today and for the Ebook Gift Copies too!

The Best of RG2E Reading Wishes — D. D. Scott, RG2E Founder

rg2efamily

13 thoughts on “RG2E Peeps: Meet Featured Author Terri J. Haynes, An Army Wife Who Loves Christian Fiction and Reality TV

  1. I love your library story! I never tried to get myself locked in, but I was always the kid begging their mom to stay “just a little bit longer”. Pretty sure my younger sibs that got hauled along hated me a little for it because none of them were readers, lol.
    Your book sounds good, I’d love a copy. britngavin@ymail.com

  2. Wow, you are a busy person.
    I enjoyed your post.
    I would like to read your book, as well.
    I would like a kindle copy.
    bkg0605(at)aol(dot)com
    Thank you

  3. I was the opposite. I did not realize I had a treatable reading condition until high school. Reading with thick glasses was dificult up until then. The treatment worked and I am now a voracious reader and a romance writer. (too bad I practically failed typing class) I am a proud Army Mom.
    badgerpress @ yahoo (dot) com Kindle lover

Leave a comment